Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
4,300 ratings
1,331 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG
Sep 29, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

ML
Jul 21, 2019

Really great course! It was more challenging towards the end of it, but I enjoyed it and recommend it. I hope that my completing the course marked the start of my future as a game designer and maker.

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 1,304 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Jose D G

Oct 21, 2015

Love the projects and classes!, but i was expecting more interaction with the teacher due that we found some bugs in the content , we were able to solved using the forum, but i was expecting that the teacher step up

By Surya N

Dec 26, 2018

The course is well-paced, and the projects are really interesting. Making each project is hands-on, and I think it gives you an intuitive feel for developing a basic game and using Unity proficiently.

By Jules J

Aug 10, 2017

A very nice introduction to Game Development. A great job that ensures the learner to get started immediately and thereby being able to integrate the knowledge directly. I loved the practical projects!

By Korupolu S

Jun 6, 2020

I have a no idea about game design and development this course helped me with the basics and how to use the unity editor wisely , i learned how to make cool things , this course was helpful for me

By Shahzada S H

Nov 13, 2017

It is one of the best course I have ever seen. I love it as in this course basics are taught and there isn't much concern on coding. Great course for basic Game Dev Knowledge and basic experience

By Alberto A d S J

Apr 25, 2017

Learning online was better then expected. Sometimes there was some hard tasks without all the hints, but searching for answers is a good way of learning. There forum isn´t very helpful though

By MASHETTI P K

Aug 18, 2020

its really an awesome experience ..but need to be more precise on the use of upcoming versions .need to go deep in using c# in unity ...overall its really worth for the time spending.

By Megan A

Jul 31, 2020

I've learned a lot through this course about Unity! The only down side is that the video's are HEAVILY outdated, so things that worked in the past doesn't apply to the newer versions.

By F. V

Aug 13, 2020

Really great course. I would much rather have more coding, but I suppose it's equally important to know how the Unity engine works properly before getting into too much coding.

By Mitchell B

Jul 2, 2020

This was hard fun. Exciting for the skills you get to learn, difficult because the material is a little outdated so you're gonna have to work to figure out the work arounds.

By Siddharth A

Feb 9, 2016

Excellent course to get started with. Concise and fun lessons with really fun assignments. I do wish the quizzes were slightly more challenging/longer.

Would recommend, 8/10!

By Ahsan M

Jun 28, 2016

Well this course is absolutely amazing, all the 3 projects were hard fun but week 4 was quite tough for me. Overall it's the best course to start learning Game Development.

By Daniel M

Sep 27, 2020

Muy buen curso! Está muy bien para empezar a entender cómo funciona Unity 3D. Le añadiría un poco más de clases de C# y alguito más de diseño, pero en general muy bueno :)

By Shaadnan B S

Aug 21, 2020

Very helpful for those who want to learn about game development. The concepts are explained quite easily. Also the trainer is very good at making things understand easily.

By Mohamed E M

Nov 3, 2019

The Course is Really beneficial i learned a lot, my only feedback that some of the parts are outdated due to the updates within the engine other than that its really great

By Akshay R

Jul 31, 2020

Every week was easy to follow except for the last one. Even with basic knowledge of OOP the it was a tough. So a person who is not programmer has no chance understanding.

By Aleena C B

May 16, 2020

It is a good start. Makes you acquainted with the Unity Engine. For those who want to learn game programming, this isn't for you, but it is a good course. Well explained.

By Robert M

Sep 5, 2016

Great intro to game development. I wish it had covered a bit more about coding in Unity as well as importing assets from other software, but overall very informative.

By JOAN D Z G

Oct 28, 2020

Me gustó mucho. La verdad sí introduce ciertos conocimientos y habilidades que te permiten explorar Unity, motivando el desarrollo de habilidades para crear juegos.

By John K

Jan 31, 2016

It was a great course.The topics were well understood and the techniques used to make the games are providing a good basis for further game dev learning (in unity)

By Eric L

Jul 11, 2020

An excellent intro to Unity. Doesn't waste time and has you put projects on the screen fast. Not much programming in this first course but that's not a bad thing.

By Elizabeth J L

May 6, 2020

4/5 Rating. Would've been better if programming was focused on this course as well, however I learned a lot. A good course for learning the fundamentals of Unity

By Carlos I M B

Jul 24, 2019

My only concern is that the coding part was good, but if the student doesn't have any coding experience would be pretty hard to understand some of the content.

By Tae H

Dec 1, 2015

The class started with great instruction and was easy to follow. Coming into week 4, the class sped up really quick and became a lot more difficult to manage.

By Parth S

Feb 16, 2016

Course was very informative and helpful. I learnt a lot about unity and its tools and concepts. But there was very less scripting (coding) in the course.