Chevron Left
Back to Principles of Game Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Principles of Game Design by Michigan State University

4.4
stars
1,402 ratings
372 reviews

About the Course

You have a great idea for a game. Turning that idea into a reality isn't just about knowing the tools. In this course you will practice moving from game concept through design documentation, prototyping and testing. Numerous elements go into the overall process of game design. These range from topics such as idea generation, story, character, and game world development, game mechanics and level design, and user experience design. You will explore the process for designing meaningful experiences for your players. At the end of the course learners will have produced a game's high concept document, one page blueprint, a physical prototype, pitch and supporting design documentation to move from an idea in your head to a fleshed out design, ready for implementation....

Top reviews

JR
Mar 26, 2016

Great course!\n\nThought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

MC
Apr 2, 2017

This course helps your game go from concept to reality. It pushed me to get a digital prototype made and ready to demo. Great depth of information related to game design and the gaming industry.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 358 Reviews for Principles of Game Design

By Diego S

Nov 28, 2020

Such an incredible course. The teacher is very good and removes all my doubts. I strongly recommend.

By Kristina H

Jun 27, 2016

The lessons were very informative. And the instructor made everything easy to understand and follow.

By Amol N K

Feb 26, 2018

Amazing course! Well thought out lessons and great Instructor/Teacher. It let me start out better!

By Hernán D E

May 12, 2016

Great course. A very good balance between practice and theory. This a very well documented course.

By mairaj A

Nov 29, 2020

This course is awesome, and help me to understand importance of document in game design process.

By Chelly B

Nov 20, 2017

Very informative beginning class for those interested in stepping into the world of game design.

By Robert C

Jul 5, 2017

Very good for idea building and turning those ideas into the start of something that could work!

By jorge f s

May 12, 2017

Very good!! I learned a lot about game design and how to be professional. Thank you very much!

By Sonja N S

Jul 30, 2016

Fabulous introduction into a world of Game Design and documents writing. Highly recommended!

By Nicholas V C

Oct 4, 2020

Amazing experience. Professor Casey O'Donnell teach us important concepts of Game Design.

By Ryan T

Oct 31, 2016

Well worth the time spent becoming more knowledgeable about what goes into making a game.

By Hugo U

Dec 29, 2015

Es un curso excelente, he aprendido mucho. ¡¡¡Muchas gracias profesor Casey O'Donnell!!!

By Andre N

May 14, 2017

Excellent course. I particularly enjoyed the additional reference materials provided.

By Tetiana L

Oct 8, 2017

Really liked the course. It was very useful and interesting! Thanks to the lecturer!

By Maria A G

Jul 8, 2016

Really good course! Gives you the basic foundations you need for the specialization.

By Joao S

Nov 6, 2019

Good course which has provided a good awareness how the gaming implementation work.

By Rami H A

Apr 12, 2018

Excellent course and trainer , very attractive but some some resources is outdated

By Eduardo D Z F

Jul 11, 2016

AMAZING COURSE!

For an introductory course on game design this course is amazing!

By Eugene B

Jan 21, 2018

This course give me a lot. From imaginary to where to start question answer.

By Mete O

Jan 13, 2016

It is very well structured, easy to watch&listen course. Highly recommended!

By Bharadwaj R

May 9, 2016

Very interactive and good practical knowledge about game design development

By Christian D A R

Mar 17, 2016

Great ideas and things to learn here, makes you think about a lot of stuff.

By Angelo B

Feb 20, 2016

Very good course. A unique experience for who's interested in these topics.

By will s

Mar 22, 2018

Very Interesting overview of game design principles for beginner..........

By Ankush R C

Aug 31, 2020

Nice course a little lengthy and the last project was a bit tough for me.