Chevron Left
Back to Achieving Advanced Insights with BigQuery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Achieving Advanced Insights with BigQuery by Google Cloud

4.7
stars
948 ratings
111 reviews

About the Course

The third course in this specialization is Achieving Advanced Insights with BigQuery. Here we will build on your growing knowledge of SQL as we dive into advanced functions and how to break apart a complex query into manageable steps. We will cover the internal architecture of BigQuery (column-based sharded storage) and advanced SQL topics like nested and repeated fields through the use of Arrays and Structs. Lastly we will dive into optimizing your queries for performance and how you can secure your data through authorized views. >>> By enrolling in this specialization you agree to the Qwiklabs Terms of Service as set out in the FAQ and located at: https://qwiklabs.com/terms_of_service <<<...

Top reviews

KF
Sep 17, 2018

Useful practical course, especially about performance optimization. Window functions have many options, it would be nice to add window size description with practical examples or links to them.

JC
Jul 12, 2020

I really appreciated all of the labs that went along with this course. They were detailed and thorough and led us through some advanced concepts in a digestible, understandable fashion.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 111 Reviews for Achieving Advanced Insights with BigQuery

By Muhammad A R B Z

Nov 14, 2020

The third course in this specialization is Achieving Advanced Insights with BigQuery. Here I build on my growing knowledge of SQL as I dive into advanced functions and how to break apart a complex query into manageable steps. They also covered the internal architecture of BigQuery (column-based sharded storage) and advanced SQL topics like nested and repeated fields through the use of Arrays and Structs. Lastly I dive into optimizing your queries for performance and how you can secure your data through authorized views.

By Antony J

Aug 31, 2020

The SQL gets pretty advanced in this stage of the specialization and there's a sneak preview of integrating BiqQuery with Jupyter notebooks and Pandas in the GCP. I'm starting to feel confident that I'll be able to make use of the GCP for my own work. Can't wait for the final course in the specialization which is on Machine Learning!

By Michael H

Feb 9, 2020

The instructor for this and the previous 2 courses is BY FAR the BEST instructor from Google so far. he took the time to pause while speaking to allow the student to absorb the concept (too many other instructors are just reading and not teaching).

By GAUTAM P

Jun 11, 2020

Course is actually very helpful on understand BigQuery.I learned

Advanced Insights with cloud data lab,Visualization with Google Data Studio,Schema Design and Nested Data Structure and Advanced Functions and clause.

Thank you for teaching.

By Harold M

Feb 17, 2018

Excellent course on BigQuery, Dataprep, DataStudio and Dataset Secure Access topics. Hoped to have more on Datalab and Bigquery, and also more difficult labs, but it's ok.

Overall this was a great course with great material.

Thanks!

By Konstantin F

Sep 18, 2018

Useful practical course, especially about performance optimization. Window functions have many options, it would be nice to add window size description with practical examples or links to them.

By Jazmin C

Jul 13, 2020

I really appreciated all of the labs that went along with this course. They were detailed and thorough and led us through some advanced concepts in a digestible, understandable fashion.

By Jorge C

Sep 24, 2020

It's a very hands on material and the part I like the best is that everything that you learn is something that you can use on your daily basis if you work as a data analyst or similar.

By Lawrence M

Aug 11, 2018

Excellent course; I only wish there were a much longer and more robust lab on optimizing query performance, after all the tips we learned in the corresponding lessons.

By Timothy W

Dec 1, 2017

Lots of in-depth material covered in this course, including nesting of data structures. Also provides high-level introductions to Google Data Studio and Cloud DataLab.

By Michael T

Jan 8, 2019

I learned lots about the structs and arrays and how it could be used to improve performance by creating parent child relationships instead of doing expensive joins

By Alex T

Aug 18, 2019

Cloud Datalab, BigQuery and Data studio are pretty impressive as they could all be use to help with marketing datasets and analytics. Now forward we go!

By Aniket G

Sep 25, 2019

Learnt so much from the course especially how bigquery works, how data sharding is done and assigned to workers and how they work on that parallel.

By Claude D

Jun 27, 2020

This course summed up everything that I learned from the previous two courses. It was very helpful to understand the architecture behind BigQuery.

By Ridhima S

Mar 25, 2019

Absolutely important topics such as handling nested fields, query optimization techniques and advanced functions are covered. Excellent content!

By Kristina F

Jan 21, 2018

Very informative and valuable learning. Enjoyed both the Google specific content as well as the general data analyst content.

By Lorenço G A

Jun 3, 2018

Excellent course, material and labs. Congrats for Google professionals and Coursera staff. Keep rockking, cheers!

By Amine F

Nov 2, 2020

It was my favorite course. This course is very useful to learn how to join tables and to create a lot of tables.

By Evgeniya E

Sep 29, 2020

Very useful cpurse, thank you. Best insights: Data types (Struct, Array), BigQuery architecture and advantages.

By Rian P

Mar 7, 2018

Thanks for the course, the lab practices are very useful, would be great if there are any project assignments

By Ioana B

Feb 21, 2021

You have a brief introduction to advanced SQL and BigQuery, very well explained, clear and organized course.

By Vineet N

Mar 7, 2021

I is a very good course combining AI and Big Query to understand data insights using Google cloud studio.

By Synthia

Mar 22, 2020

This course by Google is just awesome and I keep telling people at work, "No one teaches like Google!"

By Muhammad U H

Apr 11, 2020

Very amazing content. Though assignments need to be more challenging. They were very simple.

By christopher c

Feb 12, 2018

Very helpful to know advanced SQL querying even if I don't really have to do it myself.