Chevron Left
Back to Exploring ​and ​Preparing ​your ​Data with BigQuery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Exploring ​and ​Preparing ​your ​Data with BigQuery by Google Cloud

4.7
stars
2,132 ratings
350 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the Coursera specialization, From Data to Insights with Google Cloud Platform brought to you by the Google Cloud team. I’m Evan Jones (a data enthusiast) and I’m going to be your guide. This first course in this specialization is Exploring and Preparing your Data with BigQuery. Here we will see what the common challenges faced by data analysts are and how to solve them with the big data tools on Google Cloud Platform. You’ll pick up some SQL along the way and become very familiar with using BigQuery and Cloud Dataprep to analyze and transform your datasets. This course should take about one week to complete, 5-7 total hours of work. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to query and draw insight from millions of records in our BigQuery public datasets. You’ll learn how to assess the quality of your datasets and develop an automated data cleansing pipeline that will output to BigQuery. Lastly, you’ll get to practice writing and troubleshooting SQL on a real Google Analytics e-commerce dataset to drive marketing insights. >>> By enrolling in this specialization you agree to the Qwiklabs Terms of Service as set out in the FAQ and located at: https://qwiklabs.com/terms_of_service <<<...

Top reviews

RS
Jan 15, 2019

I love how this course was well structured. The labs helped excellently in getting hands-on experience with the tools. I highly recommend this one for starting out any analyzing with BigQuery

AR
Apr 5, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed learning about BigQuery and using the Google Data Prep blew my mind! I am planning to use it for my day to day work and also take up more courses about Data prep

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 351 Reviews for Exploring ​and ​Preparing ​your ​Data with BigQuery

By qun

Jun 2, 2018

very good

By ARAVINDARAJ S

Sep 30, 2020

Awesome!

By Héctor N C S

Apr 12, 2018

excelent

By Haniya A

Sep 19, 2020

superb!

By melanie b

Jan 15, 2020

Perfect

By Shashwat G

Sep 22, 2020

Thanks

By Nils J

Sep 21, 2020

super!

By Chetan R D

Apr 27, 2020

Great!

By ÁNGEL_JESÚS P P

May 26, 2018

Great!

By Mohanaraj J

Dec 24, 2019

Great

By Fatin A B M A

Oct 26, 2020

good

By Ashwini M T

May 24, 2020

Good

By kwanyoung s

Mar 12, 2020

good

By Arisandi

Mar 11, 2020

good

By Liwa A S

Jan 22, 2020

Nice

By Atichat P

Sep 8, 2019

Good

By CARLOS N C

Nov 25, 2020

.

By Íñigo L

Mar 26, 2020

I find this course a very useful introduction to data analysis in the cloud. Videos allow quick incursions on well delimited topics. Labs, even if time constrained, allow well structured practices on GCP tools. However, I find some pedagogic faults in evaluation. I'll give two examples. In the SQL syntax errors lab there were questions about not covered topics (e.g. legacy SQL formats) or multiple answer questions, which correcta answers were some been covered and some not. That's confusing an frustrating. Same for quizes: there are some that seem trivial (little and easy questions) and others that are frustrating (e.g. Quiz 5, in which I'm pretty sure none of the 3 provided answers for question 2 is right, and in which none of the 3 answers provided (which I checked in as many attempts) is deemed correct by you.) This is a very good introduction, indeed: I believe it merits a litlle more careful consideration of evaluation items and issues. Thank you!

By Dan B

Nov 1, 2020

It was a little slow to start with, with the structure not being very clear from the offset, especially when it came to the first lab, it was not clear that the point was to get you used to the UI, it initially appeared that the you were expected to understand the SQL queries in the lab aswell, a simple "don't worry about these queries for now you will learn this later, I just want you to see what the interface looks like". Apart from this very specific point, it was generally a great course and the instructor was great!

By David M

Apr 22, 2020

This was a very basic course early on, seemingly geared toward beginning SQL users. Only in Modules 4 & 5 did the direction change toward operation of GCP specifically, regarding billing (and related query performance) and the Cloud Dataprep module.

A little of the lab work was made more difficult by the fact that GCP interfaces have changed since the instructions were written, particularly for finding column details in Cloud Dataprep in the Module 5 lab.

By Innbal M

Nov 26, 2018

The course was great in terms of the information and the way it was given. The downsides were too much emphasis on SQL syntax, problems I had connecting with the right qwiklabs projects and the fact that the UI for both bigquery and dataprep had changed since the course was created. Thanks!

By Chariton C

Aug 30, 2018

Easy and nice introduction to BigQuery and revision of SQL basics. A few times I felt lost in the labs but overall no problem. Depending on your level of familiarity, those with SQL experience will find the exercises trivial, while those without difficult (but straightforward to solve).

By Konstantin F

Sep 11, 2018

Generally it is a good course with high quality of materials. As for me it would be useful to add description of key technical and SQL syntax differences between BigQuery and main RDBS. For example, using indexes in classical DB and how BigQuery deals with it to keep high performance.

By Alex O

Oct 3, 2019

A few questions in the labs and the quizzes could be answered differently depending on your SQL level. Yet, you HAVE to answer them exactly as they want you to answer. The videos need to be updated so to reflect the current UI of BigQuery and not how it was a few years ago.

By Sahil K S

May 5, 2020

Contents are really noteworthy..!! One must look for the lab and spend some time exploring various features of BigQuery using Google Cloud. The best thing I liked in this course is they are providing free(trial) qwiklabs account for every lab.