Chevron Left
Back to Introduction into General Theory of Relativity

Introduction into General Theory of Relativity, National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.6
91 ratings
31 reviews

About this Course

General Theory of Relativity or the theory of relativistic gravitation is the one which describes black holes, gravitational waves and expanding Universe. The goal of the course is to introduce you into this theory. The introduction is based on the consideration of many practical generic examples in various scopes of the General Relativity. After the completion of the course you will be able to solve basic standard problems of this theory. We assume that you are familiar with the Special Theory of Relativity and Classical Electrodynamics. However, as an aid we have recorded several complementary materials which are supposed to help you understand some of the aspects of the Special Theory of Relativity and Classical Electrodynamics and some of the calculational tools that are used in our course. Also as a complementary material we provide the written form of the lectures at the website: https://math.hse.ru/generalrelativity2015...

Top reviews

By PP

Sep 24, 2017

Best Course for Physics Enthusiasts. It is a must for those who are interested in theoretical or mathematical physics. I really enjoyed the course though it was tough.

By VU

Feb 02, 2017

Excellent course, and quite intensive mathematically. One will be well placed for a graduate level course on General relativity upon completing this.

Filter by:

29 Reviews

By Denisson Pereira Santos

Jan 20, 2019

ótimo curso

By Jamal Kowayess

Jan 18, 2019

The course is great if and only if you have the background that the professor is assuming. And am not talking about the mathematical and physics background, but am talking about the notation he did not explain and the way you learned special relativity which can differ. Also there is no written course content which makes it very hard to follow since explanation like this should be accompanied by some solid detailed text.

By Алексей Владимирович Ненашев

Dec 06, 2018

A hard, thorough and serious course with a lot of mathematics and physical insights. Thank you, Professor Emil Akhmedov!

By Paulo Renato Rodrigues

Sep 05, 2018

Wonderful course! Excellent materials were presented to give us the best knowledge concerning the general theory of relativity. Emil Akhmedov is a dedicated instructor and passionated professor who tried and succeeded to transmit the core concepts and the hard mathematics of the most beautiful theory of the world!

By João Buschinelli

May 25, 2018

Very helpful. I recommend for those who already have some familiarity with GR, or with tensors and differential geometry.

By Russell T. Frizzell

Apr 08, 2018

Great rapid fire coverage of general relativity. I would need a lot more time and discussion and workable exercises to get a better intuitive grasp of the material.

By Bruno D

Mar 03, 2018

Exigeant, un peu touffus, mais on apprend beaucoup.

By Francisco Manuel Arrabal Campos

Feb 07, 2018

If you seek to understand it, here you will find it

By Shashank Sharma

Nov 05, 2017

This is a Russian course taught in Russian style so amateur physicists, beware, this is pretty serious stuff. It will help if the student has some prior knowledge of relativity and differential geometry, although not a prerequisite. Few more courses of this caliber and you are well on your way to become a theoretical physicist! If you are willing to put in some effort, you will benefit immensely from it. I am looking forward to more courses like this from HSE, particularly on quantum mechanics. A very steep learning curve is guaranteed.

By Omkar Ramachandran

Oct 22, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! I'm a senior undergrad who's already taken a graduate GR class and wanted to get a more formal - and rigorous - treatment of the subject. Needless to say, this course does incredibly well on that front.