Chevron Left
Back to Introduction into General Theory of Relativity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction into General Theory of Relativity by HSE University

4.4
stars
159 ratings
52 reviews

About the Course

General Theory of Relativity or the theory of relativistic gravitation is the one which describes black holes, gravitational waves and expanding Universe. The goal of the course is to introduce you into this theory. The introduction is based on the consideration of many practical generic examples in various scopes of the General Relativity. After the completion of the course you will be able to solve basic standard problems of this theory. We assume that you are familiar with the Special Theory of Relativity and Classical Electrodynamics. However, as an aid we have recorded several complementary materials which are supposed to help you understand some of the aspects of the Special Theory of Relativity and Classical Electrodynamics and some of the calculational tools that are used in our course. Also as a complementary material we provide the written form of the lectures at the website: https://math.hse.ru/generalrelativity2015 Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

PP
Sep 23, 2017

Best Course for Physics Enthusiasts. It is a must for those who are interested in theoretical or mathematical physics. I really enjoyed the course though it was tough.

VU
Feb 1, 2017

Excellent course, and quite intensive mathematically. One will be well placed for a graduate level course on General relativity upon completing this.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 50 Reviews for Introduction into General Theory of Relativity

By Vishal U

Feb 2, 2017

Excellent course, and quite intensive mathematically. One will be well placed for a graduate level course on General relativity upon completing this.

By Jose M P P

May 23, 2017

It is a very useful course to people who likes General Relativity and wants to learn in a very easy way. Thank you for all Professor Emil Akhmedov.

By Алексей В Н

Dec 6, 2018

A hard, thorough and serious course with a lot of mathematics and physical insights. Thank you, Professor Emil Akhmedov!

By Bruno D

Mar 3, 2018

Exigeant, un peu touffus, mais on apprend beaucoup.

By Francisco M A C

Feb 7, 2018

If you seek to understand it, here you will find it

By PRANAVA P J

Jun 9, 2020

It was really a wonderful course.

By Umesh K

Oct 13, 2016

best mathematical course so far.

By Deleted A

Jan 26, 2017

Excellent course for beginners.

By Winston A W

Mar 30, 2021

Excellent, thank you.

By subhash k

Jun 19, 2017

Brilliant course...

By amir h r

Apr 24, 2020

it is adorable

By José A C

Feb 3, 2020

Really hard

By Denisson P S

Jan 19, 2019

ótimo curso

By César L B d S

Oct 24, 2016

Very good!

By rounds c

May 15, 2019

Goooood!

By Graciela H F

Jul 18, 2017

awesome

By Wesley S

Sep 22, 2016

awesome

By Sahil A

Oct 1, 2019

The course is mathematically very rigorous and compact. I liked it very much. But in some parts of the lectures I felt, it would have better if it had some physical motivation , that is how the derived results are connected to the physical world. Overall this a great course.

By Kaustav C

Aug 7, 2020

I liked this course because of the rigour that it has. All concepts were thoroughly discussed even though I feel that a better basis on grounds of differential geometry if included would have made the course perfect.

By Russell T F

Apr 8, 2018

Great rapid fire coverage of general relativity. I would need a lot more time and discussion and workable exercises to get a better intuitive grasp of the material.

By Souradeep R C

Aug 25, 2019

Wonderful lectures where the concepts were examined and theorems were derived from first principle.

By Francisco J D C

Jul 4, 2020

The review of assignments by peers is really frustrating. Quizes are much better. There are lots of teenagers without any idea about calculus and algebra. Some of them do not take care about the review for peers carefully because they haven't distinctions about valid little differences in the rubric published. Some of them upload any draft document or very incomplete homework to then gain access to the solution and then to resend their homework, this is cheating!. Despite my homeworks are well developed the grade assigned is frustrating when they review whithout any care, it is generating each day that I think not continuing in this course. I take several General Relativity courses and Cosmology in the University so I know that I spoke. The course it is ok, but the grading is really bad using such method.

By Emanuel K

Jul 16, 2017

Seeing the instructor behind the writing is too distracting to even get started!!!!!

By esbin c C

Aug 6, 2020

Parece interesante pero no esta traducido a mi lenguaje

By Reza R

Sep 11, 2020

alot of mistakes.