Chevron Left
Back to Genes and the Human Condition (From Behavior to Biotechnology)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Genes and the Human Condition (From Behavior to Biotechnology) by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
571 ratings
142 reviews

About the Course

To acquire an understanding of the fundamental concepts of genomics and biotechnology, and their implications for human biology, evolution, medicine, social policy and individual life path choices in the 21st century....

Top reviews

BB

Aug 26, 2016

Broad spectrum over view useful to beginners as well as advanced learners. would have loved to be able to download slides along with Transcripts for later revision , Thank you UMCP and the Faculty !

PS

Dec 26, 2015

I'm old - DNA was discovered in my last year of undergraduate studies. I am learning a great deal about what makes humans alike and different, what drives our behaviors. The course is informative

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 142 Reviews for Genes and the Human Condition (From Behavior to Biotechnology)

By Lisa K

Nov 14, 2015

Fantastic Course!

By Abrienna M

May 17, 2020

Learned so much!

By Unays S

Apr 15, 2020

Wonderful job

By Hao C

Jan 24, 2017

Grand course.

By Claire C

Nov 17, 2015

fascinating!

By Xavier Y

Jan 25, 2017

Very good

By Jorge A Z L

Nov 05, 2015

wow great

By Saibal K S

Aug 17, 2016

Fairly dense material (for novices in the field like me), but mostly fascinating stuff!

Dr. St Leger makes it very interesting with his animated teaching style, crisp and clear diction, and helpful illustrations.

Sadly, the supplementary reading materials mentioned in the lectures never showed up on the site. Students would definitely benefit from followup reading suggested by Dr. St Leger.

Overall, a solid effort from the U Maryland team, for which many thanks!

By Hemant P

May 06, 2016

An AMAZING course for beginners. As a highschooler not pursuing biology in school this was still pretty easy to understand and enjoy (the reason I started it). Highly recommended for people wanting a light introductory course to genetics and a bit of evolution and those who can't take out too much time for doing an intense course.

By Roger A P G

Aug 24, 2019

Hi, I'm Roger Pineda, I'd like to thank the coordinators of the course for the information provided. I feel that it was a huge help in terms of acquiring and / or reinforcing knowledge. The lectures were well directed to what should be learned in terms of genetics.

By Jamaal s

Aug 22, 2018

This course was very informative , teaching the foundations of the field and its evolution throughout the years. The applications of the subject were explored and the pacing of the course was great for those new to the subject

By Gregg G

Feb 29, 2016

This course is an excellent introduction to a fascinating subject. The content is challenging but presented in a way that relative beginners are able to absorb the concepts. The instructors are engaging and interesting.

By Muhammad A

Aug 24, 2019

The course is very interesting and useful.

There are two problems: 1) Some of the provided links are not working (should be updated).

2) The numbers, percentages and most of the data are old, like the course.

By Henri

Jun 27, 2019

Interesting and didactic

Not a five stars because of the biased presentation of the GMO debate (I'm in favour of GMO but I'd have liked to have a fairer and clearer picture of the arguments against)

By Alice Z

Sep 01, 2018

Quality of the video is not very good and the course is beginning to feel dated ("by 2016 it is predicted that...). Otherwise, this is a wide-ranging and highly enjoyable course. Thank you!

By Vanessa I P M

Apr 10, 2020

Lo único que no me ha gustado es que aveces las transcripciones no están completas y son necesarias cuando el ingles no es tu lengua materna y las necesitas para aclaraciones.

By Abdiel D E

Oct 20, 2015

Me encantó el curso, sólo que fue un tanto difícil entender el inglés del doctor. Me hubiera ayudado algun escrito para reforzar o estudiar en el camino. Muchas gracias.

By Anja Š

Jan 26, 2016

Not perfect because in the video, multiple times the lecturer mentioned external information or links that didn't exist. No additional information was provided

By Rutuja A P

May 21, 2018

This course was very informative.The concepts are quite easy to understand.I surely recommend students who want to learn all the basics of biotechnology.

By Manoli B

Jun 03, 2020

IT WAS SUCH A PLEASURE TO GET KNOWLEDGE FORM YOUR SIDE IN SUCH A WAY IT WAS SO HELPFUL AND THE COURSE WAS MUCH INFORMATIVE AND GAINED A LOT

By Joseph N T

Oct 01, 2017

Excellent combination, from behavioral genomics to synthetic biotechnology

By Brendan T

Dec 15, 2016

Great course, as a beginner i could follow along and learn.

By Alaikya T

Nov 02, 2018

Interesting but should be more informative

By Natalia R

Jun 18, 2017

Very interesting and fun to follow.

By nourhan m m

Aug 07, 2016

i liked it