Chevron Left
Back to Geopolitics of Europe

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Geopolitics of Europe by Sciences Po

4.4
stars
423 ratings
90 reviews

About the Course

"Geopolitics of Europe" offers a dynamic program on both tensions and issues within the European Union, as well as its interactions with the rest of the world. Through maps, iconography, videos, computer graphics and role playing, the Mooc renders the main geopolitical issues appropriate to Europe while focusing on its representations around the world. Definitely multi-disciplinary, this Mooc offers the learners a real tool box built up through a combination of History, Geopolitics, Economics, Political science, Geography and Law. Format : The pedagogical program is both progressive and modular. It is composed of seven thematic blocks. Each block has a different scale and view point. Even though the main issue exploration in each block is thought as free navigation, each block remains marked out by specific steps : a mapping situation scenario, the study of a documentary corpus, a focus on the national perceptions, as well as an emphasis on the news. Please notice that some very limited content will only be available in French. The knowledge acquired in the first four blocks can then be assessed through a quiz and put into practice through the final serious game : a European scenario, a mission, and decisions to make...! Block number seven offers new analysis that will enable you to understand the latest events of the year 2016....

Top reviews

YD
Dec 6, 2016

This was one of the most interesting coursers so far, especially the Game part. I'd definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn how to understand political behavior.

FP
Jul 23, 2020

This is an awesome course. And the presentation was good and informative. The course help us to learn more about EU. Thank you so much providing such a wonderful course.

Filter by:

76 - 89 of 89 Reviews for Geopolitics of Europe

By Joya K

Sep 12, 2019

Overall I found this course very interesting, yet now in 2019 this course is somewhat outdated given the geopolitical challenges that Europe is facing today.

By Aleksei E

May 17, 2020

The material of the course is already way too old and barely relevant anymore. I liked the games suggested for play after every quiz though.

By TC

Jul 24, 2020

Informational and the games a fun

By Mónica G C

Apr 20, 2020

Interesting course, but not updated at all to the current crisis the EU is going through. It should be update and include topics from nowadays debates and challenges in the EU. All materials date from before 2016 and some of them are not even available any more, that should be revised aswell. Non-French speakers, be careful, most of the materials are in French, some are translated but with very poor quality. All in all it would be a more enriching course if it was updated and not already 4 years old.

By Thomas B

Apr 25, 2020

Unenrolling. The information is clear and well laid out but basic (a wikipedia search would be as productive and more neutral). Unfortunately the views expressed in the videos are presented as factual, without rebuttal or discussion. Very one-dimensional and prescriptive approach. Has a weird air of propaganda about it, as opposed to academic debate.

By Verdelle K

Jul 24, 2020

The translations are par, the quizzes are weird and don't actually quiz you on whats taught or provided.

By Roman C

May 14, 2020

Outdated information. Course materials and articles dating back to 2014. Information not relevant.

By Filippo G

Sep 29, 2019

overall the course gives a fairly good view of

By Marcelo C d S

Apr 21, 2018

Quite introductory, lacks bibliography.

By Arman M

Sep 4, 2019

Interesting, but too simple

By Valentin M

May 3, 2020

This course is in French with translation for some, but by far not all, important parts to English. This makes it the course of very limited use. Translation here means that one can read the script of the video or audio, making it a much dire tasks. I do not recommend this course to anyone below a B2 level in French.

I received my graduate degree from Sciences Po and I love the quality of education I received. But without overcoming the innate French disabilitiy to realize that most people out there don't speak French and that there's no use in making a course where SOME elements are translated, this institution will never become truly international.

Because it of very limited use for English speakers, this course unfortunately only deserves one star.

By Emma H

Jul 29, 2019

Incomplete translations and not up-to-date material. Also, the quizzes only asked stupid questions about useless knowledge, rather than concept questions about the units. Very dumb to try to study for the quizzes and be quizzed on the most pointless things.

By Yuri I

Jun 24, 2020

Too much of the content is french while it is advertised as an english course.

By Milda K

May 16, 2020

Old materials, not very well structured and quite boring.