Chevron Left
Back to Geopolitics of Europe

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Geopolitics of Europe by Sciences Po

4.4
238 ratings
47 reviews

About the Course

"Geopolitics of Europe" offers a dynamic program on both tensions and issues within the European Union, as well as its interactions with the rest of the world. Through maps, iconography, videos, computer graphics and role playing, the Mooc renders the main geopolitical issues appropriate to Europe while focusing on its representations around the world. Definitely multi-disciplinary, this Mooc offers the learners a real tool box built up through a combination of History, Geopolitics, Economics, Political science, Geography and Law. Format : The pedagogical program is both progressive and modular. It is composed of seven thematic blocks. Each block has a different scale and view point. Even though the main issue exploration in each block is thought as free navigation, each block remains marked out by specific steps : a mapping situation scenario, the study of a documentary corpus, a focus on the national perceptions, as well as an emphasis on the news. Please notice that some very limited content will only be available in French. The knowledge acquired in the first four blocks can then be assessed through a quiz and put into practice through the final serious game : a European scenario, a mission, and decisions to make...! Block number seven offers new analysis that will enable you to understand the latest events of the year 2016....

Top reviews

YD

Dec 07, 2016

This was one of the most interesting coursers so far, especially the Game part. I'd definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn how to understand political behavior.

CP

Sep 25, 2017

An alternative approach to understanding the place of Europe in the world from a French perspective. Particularly enjoyable.

Filter by:

26 - 45 of 45 Reviews for Geopolitics of Europe

By Tomáš Z

Jun 14, 2017

Nice course

By Soraya C C

Jul 12, 2017

It has been an interesting course compelling some of the current challenges of the EU and providing a context about the perception that several countries have of the EU (member and non-member states).

By Daniel L

Dec 11, 2017

Would be more useful if some of the descriptions were translated into English, and the content was updated to reflect the situation in 2017-18

By Sergio A P C

Jul 24, 2019

Muy buen curso, todo el contenido está bien explicado. Sin embargo, haría una actualización de contenido y revisaría algunos enlaces que marcan error.

By Gvantsa K

Aug 04, 2019

Structure of the course was very good, especially the part of interviews.

By Tseng M

Jun 03, 2019

good, but exam is too detail.

By Cedric C

Jul 10, 2019

Very good course, but it could definitely benefit from being updated.

By Raoul A

Oct 24, 2019

Très bien conçu mais mérite d'être actualisé.

By Lucía S B

May 29, 2017

The course is ok, but needs some improvement. I felt the course was somehow a bit disorganised. The content also seems sometimes quite basic if you already know something about the European Union.

By Sigurd T

Jun 03, 2018

Good course, if you speak French. I enrolled in this course because it was marked as English. While it is possible to follow the course in English, most of the translations are of a poor quality. It seems as if an original French transcript was simply funnelled through Google Translate. This is lazy and reflect poorly on Sciences Po.

By Marta J

Jul 10, 2017

This course is a good idea if you want to "refresh" or get a basic idea of geopolitics of Europe. Everybody interested in EU policies should take the course.

However, please take into consideration hat some of the materials and all the lectures are in French (you can use english subtitles to follow it).

By Johnathan A

Jul 10, 2017

There really isn't that much to absorb if you already read current journals and papers. For history of geopolitics maybe there is some usefulness, but even then it is scant.

By Luca J S

Sep 11, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It was really enlightening for me, as I don't live in Europe but have always had an interest in European affairs. This course was really well structured and informative. My only problem was that I don't speak French. And as a result I couldn't understand many of the websites that were linked to in the course and although the captions translate for everyone speaking, they don't translate writing. So I couldn't actually tell what the question was and could only try and guess from the answers. I also checked the transcript and I couldn't read the questions there either. Other than that though really good course, thank you Coursera.

By Maria L

Aug 06, 2019

Os textos e depoimentos e vídeos estão um pouco ultrapassados reportando-se à realidade de há 4/5 anos. Muitos dos vídeos e textos não se encontram disponíveis.

By Joya K

Sep 12, 2019

Overall I found this course very interesting, yet now in 2019 this course is somewhat outdated given the geopolitical challenges that Europe is facing today.

By Marcelo C d S

Apr 21, 2018

Quite introductory, lacks bibliography.

By Arman M

Sep 04, 2019

Interesting, but too simple

By Filippo G

Sep 29, 2019

overall the course gives a fairly good view of

By Emma H

Jul 30, 2019

Incomplete translations and not up-to-date material. Also, the quizzes only asked stupid questions about useless knowledge, rather than concept questions about the units. Very dumb to try to study for the quizzes and be quizzed on the most pointless things.

By Petrus J M C

Aug 15, 2019

Many footages, readings are in French,

Missing links,