Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started With Application Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started With Application Development by Google Cloud

4.5
stars
2,108 ratings

About the Course

"In this course, application developers learn how to design and develop cloud-native applications that seamlessly integrate managed services from Google Cloud. Through a combination of presentations, demos, and hands-on labs, participants learn how to apply best practices for application development and use the appropriate Google Cloud storage services for object storage, relational data, caching, and analytics. Completing one version of each lab is required. Each lab is available in Node.js. In most cases, the same labs are also provided in Python or Java. You may complete each lab in whichever language you prefer. This is the first course of the Developing Applications with Google Cloud series. After completing this course, enroll in the Securing and Integrating Components of your Application course."...

Top reviews

AV

Sep 1, 2020

It is an Amazing Course to learn and grow in life .

Thank you Coursera and Google Cloud & Team for giving me this opportunity to learn and make my self better in the filed of Technology .

DB

Jun 1, 2019

t was a good free course. I only realised the second time round the labs are ungraded. So I plan on doing them outside Coursera on Qwiklabs itself so I can earn credits for my lab work.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 264 Reviews for Getting Started With Application Development

By KUNG C P

Apr 5, 2020

Good Training Meterial

By zbigniew l

Dec 30, 2019

angular 2 is simpler

By John C

Jan 7, 2020

Could use updating.

By Bartosz S

Nov 12, 2019

It's a bit dry

By Subhankar B

Apr 27, 2020

Good Course

By Kartik S

Aug 12, 2018

Nice Course

By Kamil D

Nov 2, 2019

I like it!

By Julien S

Feb 25, 2019

Ok courses

By Himanshu S

Feb 18, 2020

good

stuff

By FAYIZ P

Mar 19, 2020

good

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Nov 22, 2019

good

By Vignesh

Aug 29, 2019

Good

By Nguyễn K T

Oct 3, 2018

good

By Darryl S

Aug 10, 2019

It wasn't bad -- I was just hoping for more of a lab-centric course. Throwing out facts left and right is okay but it doesn't help cement the ideas in the student like labs do.

Remember those books we used to read as a kid where at the bottom of every page you had to make a decision on what to do next and then go to the corresponding page? Sometimes we make the right choice and othertimes we don't? It would be great to have a lab like that -- where we're asked to design a system and at each step of the process we have to consider our options, make a choice, and then implement it in a lab -- right or wrong. Every now and then an outside event would happen that, given what we've implemented to date, might kick us to an earlier step to reconsider our options after explaining why our choices led to failure and forcing us to redo our labs. THAT would be great course and the learning, enjoyableness, and reinforcement that would come with it would be worth the price of admission :-)

By Jorge R C R

Feb 19, 2020

The content is good, but the presentation could improve. I found the audio to be poor quality in some videos. The instructors speak too fast and in a monotonous voice, just reading and not actually presenting new exciting ideas to you. Other courses from Google cloud, like core infrastructure and machine learning were much more enjoyable and fun. This course was a bit tedious and hard to digest. I'd rather just read the transcript myself.

By David W

Oct 1, 2019

The exercises completing tasks inside the google cloud console with the cloud text editor were the most helpful aspect of the course. Many of the videos were speed-reading through a set of slides without much connecting one slide to the next. You can use the google cloud github repo to try out the exercises in your own GCP account without needing to take the entire course.

By Will S

Mar 23, 2020

Both Java and Python in the Labs of the last module seem to be broken. I tried the Java and Python several times, and while I could verify the data uploaded correctly to the bucket, neither display the image when taking the test. Also the progress meter in the Python seem to be totally broken as it showed -/100 both times that I completed all of the steps in the lab

By Stanislav R

Mar 15, 2020

I don't want to repeat every lab in three languages. It's better to have ability to choose one of three langs and submit only one lab. Also, labs were not very stable... Progress check didn't recognise my progress two times so I had to restart labs from scratch. And also I was loosing connection to Cloud Shell >5 times, while my internet connection was very stable.

By Aboma K

Mar 9, 2020

The content was good if you already knew all the stuff and wanted a refresher. Otherwise it was a little hard to follow as it doesn't flow between sections very well. Facts were just read out to us rather than things being explained how/why they are the way they are.

By Sushil P

Jan 12, 2019

This course was below my expectations. All of the material was rushed up. How to make an application secure? One liner statement - do this. There should be a good example associate with the statement. It all felt very theoritical and boring.

By Juan P

Jan 9, 2020

It is an good course but barely touches on how to develop applications with containers, micro services and kubernetes which are becoming more and more important. Also, it would be great if there were more labs in the class .

By Michael F

Feb 22, 2021

The labs are somewhat repetitive, I don't understand why there is basically the same task in three languages, you could allow one to choose or at least change the assignments.

By Detlef H

Oct 29, 2020

Gave an overview but did not train you how to develope an microservice.

In my point ov view this is not an training, it's more an intoduction what possebiliti exists

By Joseph K

Apr 30, 2019

The volume of the people taking me through the course was low even though I had all the volume on 100% with headphones. This is different compared to other courses.

By Felipe R

Jul 12, 2019

The content is good, but some exercises happens before the content is presented.

Authors must review chronological order of the questions.