Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
8,011 ratings
2,353 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

KG

Dec 26, 2016

This is a very useful course even if you are very good in English . This course helps in understanding the type of sentences, proper usage of commas and perfect ways of writing attractive paragraphs.

AA

Jul 07, 2019

A very useful course, specially designed for those who either forgot the grammar or did not study English grammar properly in the journey of learning English. It is a path way to good writing skills.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,307 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Gunawan A

Mar 06, 2018

An excellent writing course for nan native english speaker.

By Dariia

Mar 17, 2016

Great and useful course!

By Nevenko B

May 01, 2017

Really helpful course. I recommend!

By Eszter S

Nov 06, 2015

Very useful course, well-made study material.

By IVAN L

Jan 22, 2016

This course has given me the confidence to use commas and semi-colons, the most difficult punctuations to master.

By Fytsyk O

Jan 11, 2016

Really helpful, thank you.

By Gnanasambandapillai V

Nov 01, 2015

This course provides basic and necessary grammar for academic essay writings. Tutor is fantastic, and exercises are interactive and interesting.

By Cristiana-Maria M

Dec 29, 2015

Excellent course! I highly recommend it!

By Ilaria B

Feb 22, 2016

Useful information and very well explained.

By Andrea L S

Sep 26, 2015

This course helped clarify the uses of commas and semi-colons and the structure of parallel structures in sentences.

By Rafael A C

Feb 07, 2016

Excellent and simple explanations about the major factors in Grammar and Punctuation. I am honored to finish this course, and I have to congratulate all people involved in this project.

By Mathx

Feb 27, 2016

I enrolled for the course to refresh some basics and this was perfect.

By Krisztina H

Oct 08, 2015

Very useful, but you need to have a good base English grammar knowledge. Logically-built, well-organized course. liked it!

By Monzur M P

Sep 17, 2016

I couldn't afford to pay for the course, but I really learnt a lot about grammar and punctuation.

By Cristiane S M

Mar 17, 2016

This is is one of the best grammar and punctuation courses I have ever taken!

By Antonio M

Oct 12, 2015

the course is easy to follow and the explanations are very good as well.

By Maria U

Feb 11, 2016

Great course to review some basic English grammar. Lectures are very easy to understand.

By Priscila R

Jan 21, 2016

I really like the course! It´s good to study new things and review another ones!

By Weng

Nov 05, 2015

The instructor explains grammatical concepts clearly with a very simple way.

By Ankita M

Jun 15, 2016

I really like the way students are involved in activities through the assignments. They students are also introduced among themselves and get to review each others work which boosts confidence and also inflicts more interest

By THIAGO B S

Nov 10, 2016

Excellent course

By Boopal

Dec 18, 2015

Really good course!

By PengchengHao

Feb 18, 2016

It helps me a lot with my grammar and writing style.

By Iryna S

Feb 09, 2016

Great and helpful!

By Samuel F F

Mar 01, 2016

Great course! I've learned a lot of new stuff!