Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
16,983 ratings
5,191 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 5,136 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Vaibhav K

May 15, 2017

This is a amazing course, especially, who are struggling in academic essay writing like me.

After I completed this course, I increased interest and confidence in academic writing.

Finally, I felt relief because I realized this course help me a lot.

Thank you coursera.

By Jacob C

Oct 28, 2015

I found this course practical and straightforward. After I took the pretest, I found that the contents were targeted towards me. I would recommend this course to anyone who would like to know some rules and structure to improve the professionalism of their writing.

By SUJOY K S

Jun 9, 2020

Such a beautiful and Knowledgeable course I have been completed now. This course brings me a lot of knowledge about Punctuation, Use of comma, Parallel structure and adverbial clause etc. So anyone can learn a vast knowledge about this topic by taking this course.

By Emmanuel J V P

Dec 18, 2015

I loved the way the exercises work, especially the interaction with other students.

And also, the topics they manage are really helpful, and the way they explain them, with keywords, are really useful in practice.

Love it, will make the next specialization course =D

By Mohamed S

Feb 23, 2017

I have benefited a lot during this course .For example , I've learned many grammar and punctuation rules which help me to promote and develop my writing skills.Therefore , I recommend strongly taking this course for who want to be professional in writing English.

By Supitchaya P

Nov 16, 2020

I enrolled this course in the reason of repeating old skills of writing. It helped me a lot to collect lacks of knowledge of grammar which I really forgot it. Thank’s a lot to other students who commented my assignments and instructors who developed this course.

By Sunny S

Jul 29, 2016

In this course, you can learn basic elements of writing. Basic as it is, the knowledge is very important because we always make mistakes in these trivial things. Therefore, I think it is very necessary to take the first course in order to avoid future mistakes.

By Michael S

Sep 27, 2015

I was never strong with English, but now I am finding that the importance of this subject is forcing me to take the time to become stronger at it. This particular course is well put together, and is helping me advance and practice my English technical skills.

By meya l

Jun 7, 2020

It is quite a productive and efficient course. I have never seen a lecture focusing on punctuation like this before, and I am impressed with the way to reconsider punctuations, conjunctions, and sentence varieties; thus, I became confident to revise an essay.

By Ann K C

Apr 1, 2020

Grammar and Punctuation online course from Coursera helped me a lot; and the fact that you can immediately upload, update your CV or even print it the certificate.

I have become more productive at home and for sure will be able to apply my learnings at work.

By Vasanth R

Dec 6, 2015

This course's content and delivery are excellent. This gave proper understanding of grammar and punctuation usage. Many a times, I used to believe, I properly use punctuation, but this course set the scores right.

Thanks a lot for such an extraordinary course.

By Muslim M A

Oct 7, 2019

I have had the opportunity to enrolled in some English-speaking Courses, but this has been the master of them all. The lessons are so simplified, making it accessible for a even, a lay man. Thanks to the developer of the course, I'm learning in a great deal.

By LAVERNE B

Jul 28, 2020

I was in school so long ago it seems like I've forgotten what conjunctions, tenses and clause are I now feel after taking this course I have a better grasp when writing. I actually am feeling proud of myself. Thank you for giving me confidence in this area.

By Bruna C

Nov 6, 2015

Very easy to follow. Videos are short but at the same time they deliver the perfect amount of information you need in order to proceed with no further problems. I loved how we review other students projects, the helps everyone to learn and succeed in class.

By Nathan B

Feb 5, 2018

Excellent introductory course making grammar easy to understand. It has the same problem with the peer review assignments all courses have. There is no recourse when someone reviews your work incorrectly or unfairly. Still, I highly recommend this course.

By Abeywardena, H

Sep 2, 2020

This was a very valuable course for me to sharpen my English fluency. The entire course consisted of many learning resources which were very helpful for the learning process and for additional knowledge. Thank you very much UCA for this wonderful course.

By Kyrylo S

Apr 2, 2019

As alwaya, coursera provides us with the best courses. Before I had taken this course, I did't know how to properly use comas in English. I always wanted it, but I lacked neither passion nor time. Finally, I accomlished this goal. Thanks for the course!!

By sai k

Nov 1, 2015

Simple: Thank you for your effort. Compound : From now, I will observe when ever i read books, paper, or blog, and i will daily practice writing. Complex : Because the Instructor made the content structure vey well, made me easy to follow and understand.

By Nusrat J

Nov 13, 2020

This course was short, and to the point. I loved taking this course and learned lots of punctuation & grammar rules while writing different sentences. I didn't know about a lot of things and forgot many, but this course helped me correct in those areas.

By Qosimova S E q

Aug 23, 2020

I recommend studying in this course. The grammar topics we are struggling with in English are very easy and quick to explain. I am happy to have studied in this course. I think I can easily apply the knowledge I have gained from this course in practice.

By Maya S

May 30, 2019

It was definitely a refresher course. Well explained and to the point, and it certainly cleared up the small doubts I have any time I'm writing. I would recommend this to anyone, whether English is their first language or not, just to revise the basics.

By Eng. S K

May 3, 2017

It's an excellent chance to be a one who is learned this course with a simple explanations, also I learned and revised most of the topics that I learned before but I don't remember them clearly.

I'm interested to continue with the coming courses.

thanks.

By Marina K

Dec 22, 2017

Thank you for organizing such an interesting and important course. Here are being shared significant materials and tests for revision grammar tenses, usage of correct punctuation in four types of sentences and creation of sentence variety. Good luck!

By Muhammad I

Nov 10, 2015

I simply loved the methodology of this course. Being my first self-paced course with lots of quizzes and assignments and participation, I thoroughly enjoyed the challenges it posed to learn new skills. I have recommended lots of friends to join this.