Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,258 ratings
242 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 235 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Ulrich W

Dec 22, 2016

Very nice overview how trends and tastes changed over time, finalizing in a project targeting a particular sub-culture. I learned something.

By Rebecca C K

Aug 29, 2016

Very informative and full of fun facts

By Oluwaseun O O

Oct 23, 2016

i hatehistory as a subject but i love this course. some great ideas from the past still being used today

By hari

Nov 07, 2016

Great course!! very insightful!

By Sanda L

Jul 15, 2016

A more theoretical Cours that I really enjoyed and made me search for different artists. I started researching more and discovered how valuable this can be. Thank you for all the resources.

By Денис

Jan 21, 2017

Interesting course. I reccomend it for people who want to knew some valuable information about history of design. It start from XIX century and move to XX century, but not to the end. It would be great if you will made a new course with new era of design with internet and modern devices.

By Rosa P M V

Aug 26, 2017

Excellent course. I could understand a general idea from where graphic design comes from. Now I know where to look for references and inspiration.

By 魏清君

Nov 11, 2016

Great Course!

By Andre M O

Aug 28, 2016

the first module root grows the tree (history) GD

By Ivan O

Dec 15, 2016

Interesting and fun to watch. Not so practical as other courses in the Specialisation but definitely good to know.

By Alejandra R

Mar 20, 2017

Really well constructed course on some premises, tendencies and movements relevant for the History of Graphic Design. For someone who hasn't had formal design education and is seeking for some knowledge in this area, this is the perfect approach.

By Nicoleta P

Jan 28, 2017

Very informative and helpful.

By Fabian M

Dec 14, 2016

Fun and very interesting. It has lifted the veil from a lot of things that were all around me in society and yet were transparent to me prior to this course.

By Pablo B D

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

By Sol R

Jul 09, 2017

Excelente curso! muy completo e interesante!

By Deleted A

Jul 14, 2017

really love this class!

By Joshua L

Feb 24, 2017

It was definitely an eye-opening course for someone who only knew how graphic design works and none of the history behind it.

By Leticia C R

Jul 17, 2016

Good information given. Thanks.

By Maike G

Oct 06, 2016

Really informative and interestingly conveyed. Thank you.

By Aadit S

Mar 15, 2017

amazing course great teachers !

By Ana M D

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

By Viorel-Daniel S

Oct 10, 2017

It was fun learning about the history of design. Assignments are easy and do not require much effort, though.

By drewmunro

Mar 19, 2017

An excellent intro to the subject.

By Xue D Y

Jul 02, 2016

满分满分满分

By Iole M

Feb 03, 2017

A concise course with very meaningful visual contents. English spoken in a very understandable way, even for a non-native speaker.