Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
1,848 ratings
382 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD
Nov 26, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
Dec 4, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 375 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Juliette S

Nov 7, 2016

Great class! learned a lot about the history of design and how the techniques are still being used today

By Oluwaseun O O

Oct 23, 2016

i hatehistory as a subject but i love this course. some great ideas from the past still being used today

By Kyle L

Aug 9, 2016

Really great and thorough content. A wonderful introduction to the dense and exciting history of design.

By Ellie R

Sep 24, 2018

Very interesting and insightful trip throughout the history of graphic design with thorough analysis.

By Tawana D W

Mar 19, 2018

This course is fast paced and very informative. I really like how well organized each lesson appears.

By P Z C

Jun 3, 2017

I learned so miuch. Best course of all last 4 in the Graphic Design so far. Let me test the last one.

By Nirav N

Oct 21, 2020

This course teaches me basics and foundation of Graphics design and how it gets improved with time.

By Aditi A

Nov 24, 2020

Loved this course. I learnt so much about graphic design and different styles from different eras.

By Anna S

Sep 8, 2019

Amazing course, which helped me to understand the philosophy of graphic design and be open minded.

By Amy B K

Oct 6, 2019

Insightful overview of history and development of design concepts. A must have foundation course.

By Veronika H

May 11, 2020

Really nice experience to remeber all things and designer from this timelapse courses. Thank you

By Itziar

Dec 25, 2019

Very good course to have a little background about design! Thank you so much. Great instructors

By Dave L

Aug 31, 2016

Pretty good for such a short course - interesting ideas and exposure to new concepts. Thanks!

By Stephen M H

Oct 4, 2020

A very thorough explanation of various movements and the key individuals involved with them

By AC

Oct 6, 2016

Liked the course. I would love to learn even more about the History of Graphic Design now))

By Eugen M

Aug 20, 2016

An excellent course for those who know more.

Very well presented, quite easy to understand.

By Brenda R

Jun 7, 2018

I thought it would be boring, but they made it very fun and interesting! Enjoyed it a lot!

By Aryan I

Jun 8, 2020

This was one of the most inspiration and informational courses on graphic design history

By MARCIO R P

Jul 15, 2020

The course is excellent. Very varied and dynamic. The teaching platform is sensational.

By Yudi Y S

Jun 2, 2020

This course improve my knowledge about history of Graphic Design. This course is great!

By Valentina S

Dec 5, 2019

That was very informative and inspiring. I wish all the courses could be like this one.

By Michael L

Apr 21, 2020

Well presented ideas that provide a foundation of understanding visual communication

By Soh W K

Oct 26, 2018

Insightful understanding of Bauhaus and it's philosophy and Teachers and Artworks.

By Yash K

Jul 26, 2020

It was so inspiring and got to learn so much about the history of graphic design!

By Renee T

Feb 11, 2018

I've learned so many new design ideas. The history behind it all is fascinating.