Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,207 ratings
234 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 228 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Alexandra K M

Mar 06, 2019

I't was good

By Teri L

Jul 21, 2018

A really nice set of lessons to teach you about what brought about graphic design in the first place. Peer-reviewed assignments and quizzes make sure you're understanding every part (especially the most essential). Really enjoyed it!

By Cameron S

Apr 12, 2017

Nice and informative

By Hannah M C

Aug 21, 2017

It's a lovely course and the lecturers are great, but it focus mostly on American design or the impact of other designers in the USA. I would love to learn more about non-USA design.

By Kelly J

Dec 05, 2016

Useful intro to the history of graphic design. The quizzes could have been more challenging though or involved doing more independent research on some of the graphic design periods discussed.

By Olena

Jun 29, 2017

The course is informative and develops analysis skills.

By MARISOL P V

Oct 04, 2017

Great!

By Egle

Sep 01, 2016

Really interesting and useful. Although some more information about the more post-modern approaches would be also great.

By Indah P

May 18, 2017

I learned many things from this lecture! Not just the information about the history itself, but also how those graphic designer in late era came out with ideas. Their thinking, their purpose, their effect and inspiration to the new designer. Great!

By Camila L

Jan 11, 2017

I would like to have more materials. See more work, read/listen about more design movements.

By Nicole S

May 24, 2018

Good course, wish had more time to get a big picture perspective.

By Jai C

Aug 02, 2017

It was a wonderful course. I have designed things but never took a formal design education. I think knowing the history of a particular field helps. It gives you a picture of how things evolved to be what they are today. I would not have known where to start even if I wanted to learn history of graphic design. This course has given me a good start. Now I can go deeper in that study. Thank you

By Abayomi B

Apr 08, 2017

This course is very informative and inspiring.

By Aishwarya V

Dec 08, 2016

Great content. There is a lot to learn from this course. Excellent lectures.

By Sushen W

Sep 05, 2017

It was great learning all about the foundation of Graphic Design,how it originated,where it started,about Bauhaus,about all the famous graphic designers of the 19th century,about the subcultures etc. It was a course that made me take a step back and learn about history.:)

By Maneesh P

Jun 04, 2017

It was interesting learning about the history of graphic design the only reason I didn't give the course 5 stars is the course didn't really have many opportunities for students to work on their own graphic design. Courses 1 through 3 were all about creation this felt more like a survey course studying the history of the field, while interesting I am more fascinated with the art of making.

By Karen

Sep 21, 2016

Good start for learning History of GD.

By Christine

Jun 22, 2016

Excellent presentation, engaging content, interesting and relevant assignments and quizes.

By Liangchi C

Nov 20, 2017

Through this course, I have learned many great examples of graphic design and how people convey ideas through image over the last centuries. I would like to develop my own style after seeing others' works.

By Ibrahim N

Jul 18, 2016

Too example based course but indeed very interesting for exploring the ages of graphic design hitory

By Peter R

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent.

By Kolya K

Mar 30, 2018

Great Course, got lot of knowledge. A little short and required to continuing studying on your own.

By Tigran G

Nov 12, 2017

All was very good, but if after every video put a little quiz it will be better to understand and remember the material

By Hector E

Aug 30, 2016

Although this course is rich in content, it lacks a lot of perspective around The History of Graphic Design, since it only talks from the american point of view.

By Vijayasundaram M

Mar 01, 2017

The course was well structured; and provided opportunity to seek and learn more on the topics dicussed