Chevron Left
Back to Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics by Universiteit Leiden

4.7
stars
1,830 ratings
549 reviews

About the Course

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top reviews

DC
Sep 23, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS
Mar 21, 2019

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 541 Reviews for Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

By aditik

Aug 15, 2020

Really well structure and organized course! The lectures were engaging and included really interesting interviews, discussions and activities!

By Arianne L

Aug 30, 2020

Very informative and covers a lot of good topics. I would certainly recommend this course to other people that are interested in linguistics.

By Pablo

Jul 26, 2016

I very much liked the professor, he has a contagious energy and is entertaining to hear and watch. Overall an excellent course, learned a lot

By Wee K N

Jan 29, 2020

The videos are clear and informative. The recommended reading materials are interesting and relevant. The informants' video are interesting.

By Hanna P

Aug 8, 2016

without any doubt the best course among those I have studied or tried out on and beyond coursera. a huge thanks to the whole team behind it!

By Damaris S

Aug 9, 2020

I learned so much about Linguistics that I had previously not learned. I loved the structure of the course and the flexibility it offered.

By Fernanda M P

Jan 27, 2018

The course was excellent. I could review some of the main concepts of Linguistic through very well designed lessons and fruitful material.

By Kasmin F

Mar 3, 2017

Immensely enlightening. I'd recommend this course to anyone who loves languages and wants to explore the fascinating world of linguistics

By Hernán S

Nov 1, 2016

This course was excellent! because this made me an overview of linguistic science, their internal fields, and their main topics of study.

By Aleksandra P

Jun 10, 2019

This is a very well-organized and engaging course:) I do have a solid background in linguistics and I still found it really interesting.

By Chantao P

May 9, 2016

so instructive, so attractive.

I'm very interested in Language and Society, I expect to acquire more knowledge on human language. Thanks!

By Irene A

Feb 23, 2017

A great course for those who are interested in the subject and want to take a general first look into linguistics. I really enjoyed it.

By Fadi G

Aug 24, 2020

The Discussions and resources were very informative and the quizzes at all levels were challenging but at the end rewarding thank you

By Benjamin K

Mar 3, 2017

Covers a wide range of topics and goes quite in-depth given time constraints. The professor is clearly passionate about the subject.

By Arielle A

Mar 30, 2020

Very educational and challenging course. I was pleased to see the explanation and use of Sign language brought up during the course.

By Gianluca B

Jun 19, 2020

Muy buen curso, me gustaron las variedades de idiomas para comparar. muchas gracias a Coursera y la universidad por lo oportunidad!

By Navarro S M

Mar 14, 2020

It was fantastic, challenging and brought me refreshing theoretical inputs to add to my knowledge on the area. Thank you very much.

By Marcela C

Aug 18, 2019

Fantastic. I didn’t know anything about linguistics and now I know basic concepts and have many extra books to read and learn more.

By Bertille M

Feb 11, 2017

Excellent MOOC! Prof. van Oostendorp has done a wonderful job, asking students and colleagues to intervene. Extremely interesting!

By Gotamist

Nov 1, 2018

Prof. van Oostendorp is an excellent and motivational teacher. I feel like a got a real introduction to the field of linguistics!

By Guaraciara A d S S

May 8, 2018

It is a very interesting course. The method is so easy and deep ate same time and it makes us think about our human condiction.

By Santiago H

Apr 1, 2020

If someone out there is wondering what a language is and how a language works, this course is what you have been looking for.

By Sarka B

Dec 3, 2016

Perfectly prepared course with a capable linguist and his skilled students. We can acquire a nice overview about linguistics.

By maria k

Mar 2, 2020

This course made me to think more deeply about languages and human. Not only it gave me knowledge in linguistics, but also m

By Huda T

Jul 9, 2019

it is a fabulous course. I spent interesting time with it. it is more than linguistics. it make you thinking as a linguist.