Chevron Left
Back to Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics by Universiteit Leiden

4.7
stars
1,755 ratings
521 reviews

About the Course

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top reviews

DC
Sep 23, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

DP
Jan 2, 2017

Excellent! Really enjoyed and learnt a lot. I did not expect such a great content and professionalism in a free course. I am definitely purchasing for the title.\n\nThanks to all the team! Great job!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 513 Reviews for Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

By Benjamin K

Mar 3, 2017

Covers a wide range of topics and goes quite in-depth given time constraints. The professor is clearly passionate about the subject.

By Arielle A

Mar 30, 2020

Very educational and challenging course. I was pleased to see the explanation and use of Sign language brought up during the course.

By Gianluca B

Jun 19, 2020

Muy buen curso, me gustaron las variedades de idiomas para comparar. muchas gracias a Coursera y la universidad por lo oportunidad!

By Navarro S M

Mar 14, 2020

It was fantastic, challenging and brought me refreshing theoretical inputs to add to my knowledge on the area. Thank you very much.

By Marcela C

Aug 18, 2019

Fantastic. I didn’t know anything about linguistics and now I know basic concepts and have many extra books to read and learn more.

By Bertille M

Feb 11, 2017

Excellent MOOC! Prof. van Oostendorp has done a wonderful job, asking students and colleagues to intervene. Extremely interesting!

By Gotamist

Nov 1, 2018

Prof. van Oostendorp is an excellent and motivational teacher. I feel like a got a real introduction to the field of linguistics!

By Guaraciara A d S S

May 8, 2018

It is a very interesting course. The method is so easy and deep ate same time and it makes us think about our human condiction.

By Santiago H

Apr 1, 2020

If someone out there is wondering what a language is and how a language works, this course is what you have been looking for.

By Sarka B

Dec 3, 2016

Perfectly prepared course with a capable linguist and his skilled students. We can acquire a nice overview about linguistics.

By maria k

Mar 2, 2020

This course made me to think more deeply about languages and human. Not only it gave me knowledge in linguistics, but also m

By Huda T

Jul 9, 2019

it is a fabulous course. I spent interesting time with it. it is more than linguistics. it make you thinking as a linguist.

By Abhiraj G

Jul 29, 2019

Very interesting course, that is challenging but not impossible. The perfect way for young budding linguists to start.

By Alessio T

Sep 26, 2016

Entertaining and interesting. Good introduction to the subject with plenty of links and references for further study.

By Haider A

Jun 24, 2020

I studied the subject because of my interest in the topic and found the course very informative. Very good course!

By Matthew J

Mar 27, 2020

Structure of the course was wonderful, and the professor and aides were great. Really enjoyed the course, thanks!

By Oliver H

Jun 30, 2019

Very interesting and easy to follow, though the quizzes are very hard, and the fact that it was free was amazing!

By Mario A L G

Jun 24, 2016

It is a very good Introduction for those of Us that know nothing of Linguistics. I was very happy to take it.

By Shaun M P

May 25, 2016

great enthusiasm and thought provoking, I look forward to more linguistics courses from Universiteit Leiden!

By Kian T

Jun 16, 2020

that was amazing! i really enjoyed this course and i love linguistics more than before. thank you. good job

By Lukasz D

Jan 22, 2018

It was a pure pleasure to study linguistics in Leiden University. I recommend the course to all and sundry.

By Ron A

Feb 8, 2020

Fantastic course! very good explanations, mind-opening. discovering new fields, ideas, and methodologies.

By Diana F

Feb 24, 2020

An interesting course with a good learning environment. I miss already the teacher, and Martin and Inge!

By Akhilesh S

Aug 9, 2018

This is a wonderful and fun course. A must for anyone interested to know about the study of linguistics.

By bokyeong k

Aug 17, 2017

Week 3 test was quite complicated, so I spent a lot of time, but it was worthy. Thanks for nice videos.