Chevron Left
Back to Industrial Organization: Strategy and Competition in Business

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Industrial Organization: Strategy and Competition in Business by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.9
stars
48 ratings
19 reviews

About the Course

Industrial Organization is the area of economics that studies the markets as institutions, the state of competition and strategic interaction among firms, the industrial policy and the business decisions firms make within the market framework. The course looks at the markets from three different perspectives: the economic theory, the applied business perspective and the institutional and legal perspective. The focus of the course is split equally between the economic theory and business perspective but there is a significant legal component incorporated in various topics. The course includes economic modeling, game theory, numerous real life examples and several case studies. We explore interesting topics of market organization such as negotiations, antitrust, networks, platforms, electronic markets, intellectual property, business strategies, predation, entry deterrence and many others. The basic objective of the course is to enable the student to understand the structure of markets and the nature of strategic competition. Knowledge in this course will be valuable for the students in acquiring managing and governance skills, enriching their understanding of the institutional framework of business, and improve their analytical ability in negotiations. Prerequisites: The course requires understanding of basic economic modeling, knowledge of intermediate microeconomics (especially production/cost theory), knowledge of basic concepts and methodologies of game theory, intermediate econometrics and basic calculus. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

DS
Apr 20, 2020

excellent thank you. How to add further value? Perhaps a few more models. particularly towards the end.

AJ
May 29, 2020

It was very good course Got so much knowledge Thanks for organizers .

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Industrial Organization: Strategy and Competition in Business

By Jin M

Mar 5, 2020

Excellent lecture with well-designed coverage of topics.

Instructor is capable of delivering the intuition from the classical models or papers.

One of the best online courses in the domain of applied economics.

By 柯安丽

Nov 21, 2018

Super nice Prof Kosmas! You saved my Industrial Organization!

I want to visit you some day, in Greece, or in Moscow, can I?

By Акобян А А

Apr 5, 2020

Thank You for course , it was interesting to listen!

By Vladimir P

Jun 28, 2019

Kostas you're great

By Justino N

Nov 2, 2018

Excellent course

By Salil N

Jun 5, 2020

It a very exhaustive course taking up a lot of time. But in return what you get is a look at novel Industrial Strategies, some of which we see in everyday life but never realize how crucial they are for the company. I didn't have a background in Microeconomics before starting this course, so there were some concepts that I didn't understand from the videos; and I had to study them first elsewhere. But, I guess if I had a background I would surely have not faced any difficulties as Kosmas Marinakis, the Course Instructor has covered every thing quite well.

By Linor K A

Nov 20, 2020

I have one word to describe this course - WOW. The course is excellent for everyone who is interested in IO topics. The professor is exceptional, very engaging, funny, interesting, provides real world examples, organised, able to explain very complex ideas in a simple way. The level of the course is intermediate and I like it this way. You need to be familiar with basic courses in economics before taking this one. I personally learned a lot from this course. Thank you so much.

By Prompiriya P

Sep 2, 2020

Amazing course! Professor Kosmas keeps the course entertaining despite the very complex mathematical models occurring throughout the course. I like the use of case study in certain modules (they relaxed me from the intensity of mathematical model in normal lectures)

By Martin J L

Aug 14, 2020

Amazing course. It is one of the best areas in economics, it is very well explained and it is a very enjoyable course. Out of 20+ courses I have taken online (here, in Udem y, local universities, etc), this is the best one.

Thank you so much!

By Juan J C A

Jun 24, 2020

Sólida teoría, ejemplos muy interesantes y reales. Evaluaciones exigentes y un docente que motiva y lleva el curso de manera amigable

By Dominic s

Apr 21, 2020

excellent thank you. How to add further value? Perhaps a few more models. particularly towards the end.

By MIGUEL P D A J

Sep 19, 2020

Excellent course, led by a great teacher. Thank you very much for your teachings.

By Abhijeet J

May 30, 2020

It was very good course Got so much knowledge Thanks for organizers .

By Juan C P G

Nov 25, 2020

Excellent course. Good teacher, good topics, good lectures.

By Estephania R R

Sep 29, 2020

Great course!

By Rubén D L M

Oct 25, 2020

Very good

By Afshin C

Aug 3, 2018

This course is a good introductory one to the Industrial Organization but It could be more useful having teaching assistants to help students with different topics.

By Bronwen N

Sep 14, 2019

Great subject matter and great lecturer but the maths bits came out of nowhere and made no sense

By Abdulaziz A

Aug 1, 2020

very theoretical