Chevron Left
Back to Information Security: Context and Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Information Security: Context and Introduction by University of London

4.6
stars
1,393 ratings
354 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will explore information security through some introductory material and gain an appreciation of the scope and context around the subject. This includes a brief introduction to cryptography, security management and network and computer security that allows you to begin the journey into the study of information security and develop your appreciation of some key information security concepts. The course concludes with a discussion around a simple model of the information security industry and explores skills, knowledge and roles so that you can determine and analyse potential career opportunities in this developing profession and consider how you may need to develop personally to attain your career goals. After completing the course you will have gained an awareness of key information security principles regarding information, confidentiality, integrity and availability. You will be able to explain some of the key aspects of information risk and security management, in addition, summarise some of the key aspects in computer and network security, including some appreciation of threats, attacks, exploits and vulnerabilities. You will also gain an awareness of some of the skills, knowledge and roles/careers opportunities within the information security industry....

Top reviews

PA

Jul 09, 2020

Through Coursera, I can now become a cyber physical security expert. With their online course, I have had basic knowledge in information security. I encourage others to join their online program.

JN

May 28, 2018

This has been very informative. I am in the IT industry and this has served as a good reminder and has helped me understand some rationales behind some of the things I do on a daily basis.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 352 Reviews for Information Security: Context and Introduction

By SANDEEP L

Apr 24, 2020

Knowledge

By Spock O

Jun 10, 2019

Excelente

By Somaya I A

Jul 13, 2020

Perfect

By Joseph O

Nov 15, 2017

awesome

By Кирилл Б

May 07, 2020

Pushka

By PURVA N P

Aug 23, 2020

great

By Jorge A G C

Jun 20, 2020

Great

By MD S H

Apr 25, 2020

Great

By Julio C M

Aug 05, 2017

Great

By WASHIM A

Aug 03, 2020

good

By Swapnil K

Jul 24, 2020

good

By Vikas K

Jun 16, 2020

Good

By MD. A A M

Jun 05, 2020

Good

By Kantipudi b v p

May 18, 2020

Good

By Md. M R K

Apr 15, 2020

Nice

By Ravi K R

Jan 20, 2020

V

By Dominic O S

Sep 12, 2019

A great introduction to Information Security. It covers all that is necessary to jump into the field. Concise and to the point. The last week that covers employment and different organizations/structures was particularly useful. Absolutely loved the quiz format and readings suggested. Actually considering looking into applying for the University of London. Thank you!

( 4 stars because one of the speakers was at times really difficult to understand-transcript was necessary).

By Aswin G

Apr 15, 2020

In generall I found this course comprehensive, covering a wide variety of aspects of information security. It gives a good starting point for further specialisation in one or more of the topics that were part of this course. Some content could be improved though. As some video's were a bit hard to follow because of pronunciation, and some video's contained long lists of concepts that were difficult to memorise.

By Kishan D

Sep 27, 2019

Course is very good and content is useful for the beginners. In this course they have discussed almost all the things broadly and they have also given reference of other useful websites. I suggest that Coursera may also add some practical use of cryptography or firewall or network security in this course. Overall this is awesome. This course cleared confusion in many terminologies.

By Priya J

Jun 12, 2020

Very happy after completing this course. The course content and instructors are excellent. I have already studied this subject while pursuing Bachelors and masters degree, but studying this course helped me gain a new perspective towards this field, I also came to know about the current trends in the field. Kudos to the team at University of London.

By Gloria R

Jan 13, 2018

The lesson provide a lot of practical and useful information and enhance my knowledge of cyber security. Only one thing that is I wish to get the feedback of all the quizzes, because I want to know what mistakes I had made during this learning process. at Least find out which questions I had answered wrong and learn from that.

By Juraj N

Sep 23, 2017

A very good course that provides solid introduction into the field of information security. Quizes could be designed a bit better as sometimes they ask rather unimportant questions. Perhaps a more background reading material could be provided. Some lectures have basically none and only transcript is available.

By Des H

Aug 15, 2019

Excellent course, and I found Professor Martin to be excellent in his delivery and explanation. I do feel the exercises could do with a bit more explanation. The materials do not actually match the open ended questions. Overall an excellent course, delivering a great introduction to security.

By Thomas E A

Feb 16, 2020

This course have been very educative and informative, it is a very good course for newbies in the Information security domain.

it has been a wonderful experience and an eye opener to a lot of security issues both within and outside my work environment and country.

By Damjan Z

Nov 03, 2019

An excellent choice to get started with IS. It explains some basics that build up your language and awareness. Even if you are in the IT business for a while and you are dealing with this on a daily basis it is nice to get such overview on IT security.