Chevron Left
Back to Information Security: Context and Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Information Security: Context and Introduction by University of London

4.6
stars
1,330 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will explore information security through some introductory material and gain an appreciation of the scope and context around the subject. This includes a brief introduction to cryptography, security management and network and computer security that allows you to begin the journey into the study of information security and develop your appreciation of some key information security concepts. The course concludes with a discussion around a simple model of the information security industry and explores skills, knowledge and roles so that you can determine and analyse potential career opportunities in this developing profession and consider how you may need to develop personally to attain your career goals. After completing the course you will have gained an awareness of key information security principles regarding information, confidentiality, integrity and availability. You will be able to explain some of the key aspects of information risk and security management, in addition, summarise some of the key aspects in computer and network security, including some appreciation of threats, attacks, exploits and vulnerabilities. You will also gain an awareness of some of the skills, knowledge and roles/careers opportunities within the information security industry....

Top reviews

PA

Jul 09, 2020

Through Coursera, I can now become a cyber physical security expert. With their online course, I have had basic knowledge in information security. I encourage others to join their online program.

JN

May 28, 2018

This has been very informative. I am in the IT industry and this has served as a good reminder and has helped me understand some rationales behind some of the things I do on a daily basis.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 336 Reviews for Information Security: Context and Introduction

By Rangga R F

Jun 14, 2020

this is a good training to do i got a lot of new information from this lesson come on guys take this lesson it is very usefull if you're interseting in information security

By Mirza O B

May 13, 2020

Thank you to all the instructors, this course has been amazing form someone like me who has switched to Information security from a Service Desk/End User support role.

By Ju-Hyun K

Jun 10, 2017

This course was a great introduction to information security. It was not so difficult but so easy to learn. it made me understand fundamental languages of this field.

By renuka k

Aug 21, 2020

I Have learnt information security from this course.Professor explained each and every concept neatly and very easy understanding manner. Thank you Professor

By Ana M P

Jul 21, 2019

Es un buen curso para conocer los lineamientos inicales de seguridad de la información, y conocer sobre las diferentes areas de conocimiento en seguridad.

By william K B

Jul 03, 2020

The content is very brilliantly and expertly displayed and taught. It is easy to understand the material being taught to you. All in all, lovely course

By Macarena H

Feb 19, 2020

Excellent way of getting a first grasp of what Information Security is and how to become part of the industry. I absolutely loved it and recommend it.

By Chua W

Apr 06, 2018

Provides a basic knowledge of Information Security in general, and also understand each role (such as Digital Forensics, Penetration Testing, etc...)

By Ra V

Oct 24, 2017

A great introduction to the feild of Information Security. I took it on a whim and waled away with a much better understanding of the process of IS.

By John M

May 03, 2020

Excellent course to provide a basic understanding of information security and cyber security. I hope to follow up with more indepth courses.

By Nesreen A

Sep 04, 2020

It was a great course and I benefited from it both personally and practically, and refreshing my memory with a lot of valuable information

By Cleilson L M

Jan 26, 2020

An excellent course!

I want to thank the instructors for their learning and good content.

I learned a lot from this course.

Thanks!

By Flavius A

May 14, 2020

As a novice in this field, it gave me a good grouding, some practical knowledge, and some ideas of what to do next. Plus it was fun!

By Juan C C M

Jun 07, 2020

Very good course for those who want to enter the world of information security, good teachers with vast experience on the subject.

By Arturo P S

Jun 30, 2017

Excelent Course, the information given is totally useful so you can research on your own and understand the topics very quickly.

By Kiran

May 21, 2020

This course introduced me to basic concepts of information security and role of information security in today's digital era.

By Vijay K V

Jul 26, 2020

The contents of the course is very good and designed in the manner that the learner can understand them. Great instructors.

By akshay g

Apr 07, 2020

i got adequate knowledge from this course. thank you Coursera and University of London for delivering this course for free.

By miguel f

Oct 03, 2017

This is a well thought out course and the instructors are excellent. Thank you for putting together this valuable course.

By Navneet W

Aug 29, 2020

This is one of the best course on Coursera for beginners. It covers mainly all the major aspect of Information security.

By Constantin M

Aug 23, 2017

Great Course! I consider that is must be taken by anyone, regardless of the career filed. Thanks authors for this course

By Naym G

Aug 07, 2017

The above-mentioned course provides excellent general information of the most common problems in information world .

By Christian F

Nov 15, 2017

At the moment one of the best course that I've followed about the basics of Information security. Thank you so much

By Yaminah J A

Apr 08, 2020

This course is great for anyone with an interest in Information Security. I learnt a lot and enjoyed the content.

By Syed A M W

Jun 14, 2019

I am finding this course extremely elaborated and well explained.

The professor's way of teaching is outstanding.