Chevron Left
Back to Information Visualization: Applied Perception

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Information Visualization: Applied Perception by New York University

4.8
stars
67 ratings
20 reviews

About the Course

This module aims at introducing fundamental concepts of visual perception applied to information visualization. These concepts help the student ideate and evaluate visualization designs in terms of how well they leverage the capabilities of the human perceptual machinery....

Top reviews

RB

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent course for someone who is getting into data visualisation or business intelligence tools. Very well curated for the best of learning experience. Thanks a lot to Enrico Bertini and others!

DG

May 20, 2020

I never thought, there would be so much to learn about color research & the way we perceive it. Excellent course, thanks to the team!

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Information Visualization: Applied Perception

By Ryan J R

Nov 19, 2018

Overall, a very informative course with some in-depth technical insight into certain aspects of information visualization. I like the pace, and feel that the jargon is explained well enough even for beginners. I especially liked the modules on color spaces as these are areas I have had a problem understanding previously.

I find that the experience differs depending on where I view the course, with the desktop version being the best option. There are inconsistent formatting issues in the app versions when viewed on a phone (Android, LG V30+) and on a tablet (iPad Pro). Sometimes quiz questions will be embedded in the video but there is no prompt to answer them, they just flash on the screen for a bit. Sometimes quizzes at the end of modules appear seconds before the end of the dialogue. Sometimes audio levels go down between lessons.

Thanks, and more power to you all!

By Santiago S

Jun 11, 2019

In this course I've learnt about visual channels and its properties: accuracy, discriminability, salience, separability, among others. Then it goes to explain very well how the color is perceived and its effects on visualization. Color spaces are covered in full as well.

By the end of this course you'll have to complete an assignment about the mentioned topics, where you are required to design your very own color scale. It's quite a challenge, and one of the most comprehensive assignments I've seen in my experience attending MOOC's.

I would totally recomend to anyone looking to expand those mentioned concepts.

By Eren J G

May 23, 2020

This is a really great addition to the first course offered by this specialization. As a follow up of it, I learned in this course why the best practices we've seen in the first one are considered best practices. As Professor Bertini mentions more than a couple of times, the topic at hand can of course be studied more in depth. However, this course is a great overview of what makes a good visualization a good one under the hood. The last two weeks on color are very mind opening - especially if you've never deeply thought about what color is, like me!

By ALIBHAI F C

Jun 16, 2019

The information visualisation cource. I look on coursera give me the Useful information about the courses I will grow in my career in new direction thank you thank you for the more help for for me and my information visualisation I am very thankful coursera to join me in coursera. Thank you coursera.

By Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Ruban B

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent course for someone who is getting into data visualisation or business intelligence tools. Very well curated for the best of learning experience. Thanks a lot to Enrico Bertini and others!

By Anand P

Apr 12, 2020

R

e

a

d

s

l

i

k

e

t

h

e

d

i

s

t

i

l

a

t

i

o

n

o

f

t

h

e

most important facts from gestalt principles of design, color theory and visual perception that is relevant to information visualization. It's a thorough introduction

By María A T H

Oct 18, 2018

I liked the approach of this course through human perception in Information Visualization and how they illustrate the subjects with everyday examples.

By David G

May 20, 2020

I never thought, there would be so much to learn about color research & the way we perceive it. Excellent course, thanks to the team!

By 陈浩

Jan 06, 2020

love this project. suggestion: final project could be more challenging, to design a more complex vis with real dataset.

By Trud F A

Nov 13, 2018

Great course with essential material! The content is presented in a very thorough and engaging way by Bertini.

By JAMES R P B

Sep 14, 2019

Good learning materials for beginners that are willing to learn about visualization

By Ian W

Sep 06, 2018

All the courses in this specialization are great ! Go and learn them all !

By Vikram G

Apr 24, 2020

This course was little tough as there was a lot tiny concepts in play.

By Jacques J

Aug 02, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. One of the better courses I have done.

By Saulet Y

Jan 07, 2019

Excellent and amazing course! You won't regret of taking it

By Mathieu L

Apr 03, 2019

A very complete and instructive course.

By Vishnu P P S

Jul 12, 2019

This is a great continuation to the specialization, it seems to drag along longer though and maintaining interest is a little bit difficult sometimes. The PEER reviews are also a pain to complete.

By Yenny D

Apr 28, 2020

Muy bueno el curso pero falta ofrecer otros idiomas, como el Español!!!