Chevron Left
Back to Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js by New York University

4.5
stars
148 ratings
50 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to use D3.js to create powerful visualizations for web. Learning D3.js will enable you to create many different types of visualization and to visualize many different data types. It will give you the freedom to create something as simple as a bar chart as well your own new revolutionary technique. In this course we will cover the basics of creating visualizations with D3 as well as how to deal with tabular data, geography and networks. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Create bar and line charts - Create choropleth and symbol maps - Create node-link diagrams and tree maps - Implement zooming and brushing - Link two or more views through interaction The course mixes theoretical and practical lectures. We will show you step by step how to use the library to build actual visualizations and what theoretical concepts lie behind them. Throughout the course you will learn skills that will lead you to building a whole application by the end of the lectures (a fully working visualization system to visualize airlines routes). This course is the third one of the “Specialization in Information Visualization". The course expects you to have some basic knowledge of programming as well as some basic visualization skills....

Top reviews

FZ
Sep 17, 2019

Nice introduction to d3. It would be nice to give audits access to the code used in the lectures although it is not hard to reproduce the code by yourself.

R
Dec 12, 2020

It's a really good course for people who would like to learn Information Visualization or d3.js. It covers all the basics needed to go ahead.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 50 Reviews for Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js

By Ignacio Z

Jul 27, 2020

Excelente!!! Uno de los mejores que he tomado!!!

By Jorge S R

Jul 4, 2020

Excellent course. Very interesting and useful.

By Bbblink.Q

Mar 2, 2020

I learned some basic d3.js programming skills!

By julien p

Nov 17, 2020

Cours de qualité : intéressant et complet.

By Whitney H

Nov 14, 2019

Very dynamic and helpful.

By Ebenezer K

Sep 23, 2018

Very Informative

By parag s

Dec 25, 2019

Amazing course

By Chen Z

Feb 19, 2020

Very helpful!

By Dmitry B

Oct 30, 2018

very useful

By Nicolas C

Apr 29, 2020

Great!

By Matt G

Feb 1, 2019

A good introduction to D3.js and many of the associated ideas. Lecturing is clear and at a good pace and the examples were useful as well.

Unfortunately, the example code for the last week was not made available when I completed the course. I might have given a higher rating if it were note for this!

By Tyler W

Jun 4, 2020

The videos were good. I liked the auto grader vs peer reviews, but wish it gave more hints about where it was hung-up. I got stuck on the call drawRoutes and the enter and exit. I finally figured it out from looking in the discussions. The videos didn't provide enough help on that part.

By Israel E H

Nov 21, 2018

Good course, I'm in love with the Airlines Routes Project. Maybe teorical content should be more related with the practice. D3.js is a very huge library, so I think could be a good idea to take the concepts necesary to develop the specific projects. For the rest, very nice course!!

By joost v

Dec 29, 2020

I liked the content as it was very challenging. Still, the many typos throughout the document bothered me. Also, it would be nice to have the code all in one place. Now I had to download the code one by one.

By Witchapong D

May 13, 2019

Good course. Recommend to promote more understanding in the conceptual level/big picture of the D3.js API along with understanding the syntax.

By lewis g

Apr 18, 2020

Great incremental code assignments. A lot of spelling and grammatical errors, sometimes making code comments and quiz questions confusing.

By Khushbu K P

Mar 2, 2020

Really easy to understand and follow video lectures and instructions in the assignment. Helpful course structure for beginners in d3.js

By Many M

Apr 13, 2020

Very good course with an instructor who explains the concepts in detail, with a lot of coding practices.

By Muhammed J

Mar 14, 2019

Great course. Include more advanced examples of d3

By Haejin H

Dec 1, 2018

One of the best hands-on course on D3.js :)

By Saransh G

Sep 9, 2019

Could have been tougher

By Joe B

Feb 27, 2020

After spending ages online trying to understand d3.js, I came across this course. The d3 library is quite difficult to understand and the available documentation is very dense. This course does an excellent job of providing an overview of how d3.js works. I particularly liked that the programming assignments that guided the student through successive steps in quite a complex data visualisation. However, there are also some limitations to the usefulness of the course. First, I was missing access to the course materials. I like to annotate the lecture slides and refer back to them, e.g. when working through the assignments. Going through the videos is much more cumbersome. Second, the instructor's English is sometimes difficult to follow. It doesn't help that the subtitles are frequently completely wrong. Despite these small limitations, I would recommend the course to anyone interested in getting a thorough introduction to d3.

By Santiago S

Jun 11, 2019

This course is the third one of the Information Visualization Specialization, where I've seen a brief explanation of d3.js and its core functionality. It's a lot to cover and I think a great effort is made by the instructor to make those concepts easy to understand to anyone with no prior experience in programming.

I find it a little boring for someone who has some experience working with d3.js. The final assignment is about developing an interactive visualization, that's what I liked the most from this course.

I would reccomend to anyone looking to understand d3 and its basic building blocks.

By Angela A

Jan 29, 2021

The course is interesting but I found some lessons difficult to understand. The code assignment is very nice, but it's difficult to get feedback when you are stuck.

By Craig A B

Feb 26, 2019

This course should have more hands on practice interspersed with the lectures. Watching one lecture after another after another isn't a great way to learn.