Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning by Rice University

4.7
stars
1,611 ratings
388 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

SG

Jul 07, 2020

This course will give in-depth knowledge of project management. Peer-graded assignments will help us a lot to think in other ways how others will proceed and learn from their assignments too.

SR

Aug 21, 2017

Great course. Would recommend it for engineers who have collected relevant engineering experience and look for whats next in their career. Looking forward to attend the other modules as well.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 391 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

By Walter M

Jul 02, 2020

The course is very practical, a lot of case studies and insightful examples from weekly discussions by lecturers

By David W

Oct 15, 2018

Very clear and engaging. Easily applicable straight away to work life. Will be using it on my project next week.

By Joshua R

Apr 15, 2020

Excellent delivery of the material and appropriate assignments, quizzes and exams in the context of the course.

By Eduardo G

Jun 22, 2020

Initiation and planning of projects has been developed in a clear, simple way. Excellent material and teachers

By Saw K H

Jun 19, 2020

Engineering Project Management : Initiating and Planning is a great course, i learned a lot from this course.

By U S

May 26, 2020

I was able to learn the basics required for project management.. The course is helpful in building my career.

By Ahmad u R

Sep 30, 2019

It was a very good experience to follow this course on Engg. Project Management. I really enjoyed the course.

By SIVARAMKUMAR .

Jun 12, 2020

Super and very nice experience .I have learn something this course. Thank you so much for this opportunity.

By Margarita B

Aug 27, 2018

it was quite interesting. what i liked the most - we had home-works to work on. so it's not just listening.

By Sangam A

May 25, 2020

It provides me with a wonderful experience of how the engineering projects are managed in the field.

By Seshu Y

Jul 06, 2020

Very good & informative course to understand the basics of project initiation & planning functions.

By Avipriyo C

Jun 28, 2020

This course is fine. the sound quality can be made better. Also, reading materials can be attached.

By Khelly S S R

Jun 16, 2020

Short and sweet. Concise lessons that are very informative! Hands-on exercises are awesome as well!

By Antonio G N

Feb 24, 2018

This course is really helping me to improve the management in the projects in which I am involved

By ULISES M V

May 07, 2020

The course have all that you need to learn, I really recommend to start in Project Management.

By PORIYA M J B

Jul 20, 2020

This course give me very good knowledge about Project planning, Stakeholder Registers and all

By Fernando M

Dec 25, 2019

I was extremely impressed with he scope of knowledge that's covered in each of these courses.

By Elizabeth R

Jun 09, 2019

buen curso para aprender y reforzar los conceptos básicos de Gerenciamiento de proyectos

By Neelakanteswaraswamy B

Jul 22, 2020

excellent course for beginners,Easy to follow build up of course material for learning

By Mohamed M

Apr 20, 2020

is very good course i like well to have a course from people who have a big experience

By Haseeb U S

Jul 14, 2020

Very well delivered, covering all the essentials required fort he project management.

By SHARIQ A K

May 26, 2020

A very informative course along with the graded assignments that are very beneficial.

By Samer A

May 25, 2020

Very Useful, Thanks for the organizer and highly appreciate the efforts of the tutors

By Alejandro A

May 10, 2020

Great!! a lot of information!! but interesting!! assessments has a serious difficulty

By RJ B

May 18, 2020

This is a good course for an individual who wants to learn about project management.