Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
2,354 ratings
687 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 671 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Stevimir E

Oct 20, 2017

The course is incorrectly structured. It progresses too quickly into hard projects instead of teaching the fundamentals of Python programming. No wonder why people are cheating and/or looking for quick solutions online, even at the very beginning of the course.

By Recep Y

Oct 07, 2017

You cant submit assıgnments quizes and projects. So it is not free.

By Chris C

May 08, 2016

Only able to audit the class, no longer able to take quizzes and tests. I recommend the Python classes from Michigan over these if you are looking to avoid paying for old material.

By Vaibhav G

Jun 26, 2016

not upto the mark.

Not meant for intelligent students

By Harry H

Nov 09, 2016

joe warren ur better than this

By robert t

Mar 25, 2016

huge waste of time, they will give you very little information and what is expected for you to be able to do with that information is astronomical, you will never learn any of the details of how computing works, how functions work, the mechanism behind these computations, or anything. To give you an example, you will first watch a horribly made video on boolean logic, alter going to youtube to get a better explanation of 'And', 'or' , and 'not', you'll see an example done with If, else, and elif, then be asked to do homework problems using and, or, not. This huge gap between the information given, and the information you are expected to know to solve the problems they give you is too large, I found differential equations easier than this

By Mikey L

Dec 10, 2018

Such a good course, I decided to take the second one.

By Anna-Kristina P

Dec 13, 2018

A great introduction to using python and with really interesting mini projects that make you want to complete the course.

By Daniel R

Dec 12, 2018

Very good course, I wish that they had used Django or some other python framework for GUI interaction though.

By Nrusimha V K G

Dec 14, 2018

excellent beginner course for anyone interested in learning python.

By Волынский А Н

Nov 28, 2018

Great lectors!

By Liangmu Z

Nov 29, 2018

Great and entertaining course. The professors have excellent teaching skills.

By Jermaine R

Nov 30, 2018

Excellent material, and way of teaching.

By shanmukh m

Dec 18, 2018

AWESOME

By Angelo A d M F

Dec 20, 2018

It's a very good introduction to Python through simple games. The course is well planned and organized and it explores some key concepts of Python programming.

By Ying C H

Dec 27, 2018

A really good course for a beginner!

By Luis T

Jan 15, 2019

This course is great, not so complex but it needs dedication. The Rice Teacher's Staff help us students with useful tips and methodology for developing the codes. I enjoyed the interactive games that you could develop by yourself, this is an approach that I value the most. Thanks for this opportunity.

By Scott P

Dec 31, 2018

This is a great introduction to Python and event driven programming!

By Ricardo L

Jan 03, 2019

Awesome course. A good way to remember some basic aspects of Python, and to learn new things by developing fun games. I totally recommend it.

By faizan

Jan 04, 2019

excellent i completed this in 5 days

By Xiao L Z

Jan 16, 2019

I think it's an excellent course. It's interesting and I've got a lot fun from it. Thanks to Prof. Joe Warren, Scott Rixner and Jhon Greiner!

By Carmit B

Jan 18, 2019

Great course! I highly recommend this series to anyone who wants to get started with programming. The instruction is great and clear! This course is interesting and motivating because it focuses on learning by problem solving.

By Joerg F

Feb 16, 2019

Awesome course! Thank you!

By Rohit T G

Feb 17, 2019

Intersting course. Please also help in getting job.

By Max B

Feb 15, 2019

Great course, would highly recommend it to everyone curious about Python. Fun easy-going lectures and highly relevant projects. Also, years before DataCamp and the like started using interactive teaching with consoles, these guys built CodeSkulptor which is flexible and easy to use (also available for Python 3). Using CodeSkulptor along with the lectures and practice exercises guarantee you will get the most out of this course! Two thumbs up!