Chevron Left
Back to Understanding International Relations Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding International Relations Theory by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.7
104 ratings
27 reviews

About the Course

The course aims to introduce the key assumptions of the international relations theory as a part of social science and as an analytic tool, focusing on the problems of war and peace, foreign policy decision-making, etc. The course combines historic approach and analysis of the modern political problems. The historic part shows the evolution of the international relations theory from being a part of political philosophy to its emergence as a special branch of political science, which is essential to understand the key ideas of the IR science. The lectures also include broad outline of the modern concepts and debates in the context of the contemporary political problems, such as rise of China and other emerging powers, threat of terrorism, US-Russia confrontation, etc. The lectures of the two outstanding Russian scholars and political analysts – Timofey Bordachev and Dmitry Suslov - cover such fields as the problems of international security and conflict resolution, international economic relations, foreign policy decision-making, global governance, the role of power in the IR. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

JW

Mar 25, 2019

A brilliant analysis of the evolution of International Relations. Would highly recommend the course for anyone interested in getting a strong base in the subject.

JS

Nov 20, 2018

An amazing course. Very well presented, thought through and great overview of the topic. I will most definitely recommend this to anyone interested in the area.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 27 Reviews for Understanding International Relations Theory

By Thomas H L T

Feb 26, 2019

Excellent course!! Professor Dmitry Suslov explains perfectly well. He became my inspiration to following career in the International Relations.

By CARLOS A W P

Jun 29, 2018

Amazingly clear, fun and nice course.The course instructor does a super job in transmitting the main ideas of International Relations Theory.I highly recommend this course to everyone interested in the IR ideas to understand our current World.

By jayashankar w

Mar 25, 2019

A brilliant analysis of the evolution of International Relations. Would highly recommend the course for anyone interested in getting a strong base in the subject.

By Jonathan S

Nov 20, 2018

An amazing course. Very well presented, thought through and great overview of the topic. I will most definitely recommend this to anyone interested in the area.

By David G B

Mar 05, 2019

The course need some revision on the tests - some of them have the right answers marked before the start - and on the subtitles. Other than that, it's great.

By Henry M

Apr 05, 2019

Very interesting, organized and straight to the point.

By Rubana M

Feb 07, 2019

great information

By Amit K

Jul 11, 2018

Awesome. Its a systematic and simple course mainly focusing on basics of International Relations. Very educative and to the point. I am sure it will act as spring board for further learning in the same field.

By Bhanu S

Apr 17, 2018

A very to the point course. The concepts are explained along the chronology of events from World History, this is very helpful to be able to understand the "Why" of ideas. On the second day, already half way to the 5th week. Thank you very much Professors for making this course.

By Ronald A M M

Jun 05, 2018

Magnificent!

By Luis G

Apr 19, 2018

Great course to understand the philosophy of international relations!

By Emil

Oct 15, 2018

Descriptive and objective course.

By laureen a

Sep 26, 2018

helpful

By Hadassah N

Oct 29, 2018

Very informative and helpful in creating an understanding of this subject

By Oscar G M

Nov 05, 2018

It is a great course about international relations! I like how themes are seen!

By Kevin M M

Apr 21, 2019

A great course and well worth the effort that you put into it!

By Md P A K

May 31, 2019

I have learnt a lot of things in this course related to the subject. The teacher and the class were very helpful.

By jose e

Jul 16, 2019

Hi, it has been really useful, first week and it already has create some personal interest in develop an international relations bachelor degree

By Zia u i

May 07, 2019

i is my first experience to do online course but i find it really amazing.

By Никитенков В А

Sep 15, 2019

The best course on International Relations

By Tasnim E

Mar 01, 2019

Great!

By Marcelo C d S

Sep 13, 2018

Too many peer-review papers - I am stuck in one, never getting more than one person reviewing it.

By Juliette R

Nov 01, 2018

Very interesting and didactic. But a little bit monotonous.

By Ramnath R

Oct 31, 2018

Could improve the subtitles and emphasise more on examples from contemporary era

By Jonathan G

Mar 16, 2018

although this course was very interesting and did mention current events, it failed to mention how most world leaders or the politics in general is run by the corporate world or the rich. You very rarely see anyone starting from humble beginnings or working-class to lead a country. Politics is plutocratic by far.