Chevron Left
Back to Rethinking International Tax Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Rethinking International Tax Law by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
822 ratings
214 reviews

About the Course

In recent years, the international tax planning strategies of multinationals have become a source of – often heated – debate. This course provides learners with the tools to become fully informed participants in the debate by explaining the foundations and practice of international tax law as well as addressing current developments and the ethical aspects of tax planning....

Top reviews

PB

Jun 09, 2016

This is a FIVE STAR course for completeness and structure. Plenty of material available. I really would welcome to be informed by the Leiden University in case of further course on tax subjects.

DK

Jun 09, 2017

This is a great, in depth introduction to international tax law. A perfect starter course if you have a very basic understanding of tax law to begin with and are interested in building on that.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 207 Reviews for Rethinking International Tax Law

By Victor L P

Aug 27, 2019

The course is very good, however, an update is urgently needed (BEPS, ATAD I & II, DAC6 etc.).

By JEFFREY C

May 16, 2018

Great course, even for an experienced tax practitioner like myself, I still learnt a lot. You can really feel the depth of experience and knowledge from the instructors as they teach. The reading materials are also well selected and relevant. An update of the course now that BEPS has been implemented and given the fast changing landscape of international tax could be considered.

By Okan s

Apr 07, 2020

Thank you Coursera to give me the chance to receive the degree from international taxation form the best University in its field Leden University. The program was very indense and give the basics of international taxation and TP concepts. I wish the program leaders update the program with the latest news in the field.

By Marcos M B

Aug 01, 2019

Excelente curso, super recomendable. Sinceramente he recibido los mismos conocimiento que cursando un postgrado en derecho internacional tributario en universidades de mi país.

By Robert A

Jan 16, 2016

Challenging course offered balance of study and testing: 3 essays, 6 short tests and one final exam. The quality of interviews, study sources and presentation by professionals was second-to-none by Coursera standards. This course is demanding. If you take the course you need to have a background in tax or be prepared to study over 10 hours per week. If you follow the guidelines and substantial source documents and presentations you should be able to pass the course. More importantly, focusing on the issues, ways and means that global enterprises have benefited from weak tax treaties and domestic laws is an eye-opener. Every politician elected to public office should take this course. Very done! Leiden's Centre for International Tax Law is clearly a world leader in tax law study and assessment.

By Ekaterina S

Mar 02, 2020

Great course providing a deeper understanding into the issues of international tax planning and current issues surrounding corporate taxation. The course may be too difficult for beginners, as it includes A LOT of complicated reading and 3 papers to be written. I found that the peer grading system of the papers was not effective at all. Based on my experience of reading others' papers, many people didn't follow the clear guidelines of what's supposed to be written, and the grading itself was inefficient. Overall, I have learned a lot from this course and I recommend it to anyone interested in the corporate tax.

By Aditya M P

May 30, 2020

It is the best course on International Taxation and Transfer Pricing online, I have searched all the platforms but nothing better than this course is available. Though it was prepared in 2015, it is still relevant today on topics like OECD BEPS Action Plan, OCED Guidelines on Transfer Pricing and much more.

By Donovon K

Jun 09, 2017

This is a great, in depth introduction to international tax law. A perfect starter course if you have a very basic understanding of tax law to begin with and are interested in building on that.

By Rajat A

May 21, 2018

One of the most toughest course on Coursera and it was a great challenge completing it. I hope the Course is updated with new lectures and it will be a pleasure watching the videos again.

By Chie T

Jul 02, 2019

I work as an international tax accountant, but there are more new things to learn, which is very helpful for my work. I wish they offer courses for each weeks' topic.

By Juri S

Oct 25, 2017

I would like to congratulate the organizers and the high level lecturers as well as the tax specialists for bringing this course online. This course gives a unique opportunity to take an insight to the core elements of the international tax law. Videos are of optimal length enabling good concentration and parallel working as scripts are available for easier revision. Course materials are offering a good starting point for further research.

The advance track could give a basis for a new edition of this course on the taxation of the digital economy, as most of the economic players are/become digital. Another idea would be to send course graduates regular updates on related research and/or events.Thank you in advance.

By MAXIME T N

Jun 02, 2020

Being a tax expert working in an African country where most of the companies are subsidiaries of European and American multinationals, knowing the challenges of my field on an international scale was more than important. This course fully introduced me to it and not only gave me an effective overview, but also a solid basis for a possible specialization in one of the branches of international taxation, such as transfer pricing.

Maxime TUTONDA

By Eric L J

Jun 04, 2020

International tax rules have changed so much during the last 5 to 7 years that an update is absolutely necessary for practitioners.

Videos alternate with a lot of reading (OECD publications, extracts from university manuals), some quizz and essays.

This MOOC is very well-designed and instructive!

An equivalent MOOC focusing on indirect taxes (VAT, GST, sales tax, etc.) would be complementary.

By Lindsay Y

Apr 22, 2020

I like this course very much! As a lawyer in international commercial law, international tax planning is an important part in assessing and solving cross-border legal issues. This course helps me build my knowledge in the tax domain, especially the tax planning mindset of MNEs and concerns from tax authotities. I like the interviews in the last session. They also bring me a lot of passion!

By Apoorv T

Apr 12, 2020

Its a wonderful for someone wanting to understand the fundamentals of International Tax Law. The real-life examples used in this course add to its practicality and utility. However, some more recent examples and reading material could be added for it to become even more relevant for those doing this course now.

Keep up the good work!

By Alida B

Mar 02, 2020

I have expanded my knowledge in this area and I am very much grateful for Coursera online learning platform, educators that participated in creation of the course and fellow peers that were kind enough to always review my assignments. I will sure be back on Coursera to study further more. It was truly an experience I will appreciate.

By Vivian A

Nov 03, 2016

International taxation principles initially seemed too complicated for me to understand. This has to a greater extent been demystified and I have the confidence that I can deliver great results for assigned tasks. It is for this reason that I have decided to take on international taxation as a career path

By Shenglin M

Jul 25, 2020

It gives me a very good understanding of what taxation is about. The lecturer and the guest speaker is fantastic and they also give you a good idea on why they choose tax so that I can reflect upon myself to see whether this is the right path to go. My goal of taking this course has been fully fulfilled,

By sagar t

Nov 27, 2016

Its an amazing course to provide an insight to international taxation, one of my favorite subjects to study. The only suggestion would be to make the video lecture a slight longer and in depth about topics. Otherwise its an amazing course. Hopefully one day i'll b able to study in the university itself.

By Abdelrahman K A

Jul 01, 2020

This course is brilliant. Its content is very rich and broad, and gives glimpse about historical concerns and the current mechanisms as an update. It is incredibly add value to Tax professionals and great intro inside International Tax law. Many thanks for those who made this course comes to life!

By Slobodan T

Sep 28, 2016

The course gives you a fantastic platform for learning and upgrading your knowledge in the area of international tax law. I fount it extremely useful and inspiring for digging deeper in the area of international tax law. Thanks Leiden and the University team for making the effort!

By Juande M

Mar 23, 2016

Very nice and up to date course, thumbs up for the Leiden University, the International Tax Centre and specially Professors Douma and Van Raad for making such a wonderful and accurate work. Would recommend it to anyone getting into International Taxation as a newcomer or an expert

By Luis G

Apr 25, 2020

It´s been an amazing learning, excellent professors, very good quality of the videos, interesting study cases and a lot of articles and information about this subject. A big thanks for all of the Rethinking International Tax Law Team, specially to Prof Sjoerd Douma. All the best!

By Liliyana Z

Aug 16, 2019

Really good course. The only problem is that probably there were not enough participants at the time I was doing it, so i had to wait quite a considerable time before being assessed. Otherwise as it come to information and content it was well organised and i lived it.

By Walter C

Jun 29, 2017

The Course is outstanding. The Team put a lot of effort in the making of this course. The Speakers are the leading experts in the Field of international Taxation and Transfer Pricing. At the same time the course is motivating as well as very instructive. Ov