Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Deep Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Deep Learning by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.6
stars
1,478 ratings
340 reviews

About the Course

The goal of this course is to give learners basic understanding of modern neural networks and their applications in computer vision and natural language understanding. The course starts with a recap of linear models and discussion of stochastic optimization methods that are crucial for training deep neural networks. Learners will study all popular building blocks of neural networks including fully connected layers, convolutional and recurrent layers. Learners will use these building blocks to define complex modern architectures in TensorFlow and Keras frameworks. In the course project learner will implement deep neural network for the task of image captioning which solves the problem of giving a text description for an input image. The prerequisites for this course are: 1) Basic knowledge of Python. 2) Basic linear algebra and probability. Please note that this is an advanced course and we assume basic knowledge of machine learning. You should understand: 1) Linear regression: mean squared error, analytical solution. 2) Logistic regression: model, cross-entropy loss, class probability estimation. 3) Gradient descent for linear models. Derivatives of MSE and cross-entropy loss functions. 4) The problem of overfitting. 5) Regularization for linear models. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

DK

Sep 20, 2019

one of the excellent courses in deep learning. As stated its advanced and enjoyed a lot in solving the assignments. looking forward for more such courses especially in Natural language processing

AM

May 29, 2020

The hardest, yet most satisfying course I've ever taken in deep learning, by the end of the course I was doing stuff that was borderline sci-fi and that was just "introduction" to deep learning

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 341 Reviews for Introduction to Deep Learning

By Rafael J F S

Apr 21, 2018

Interesting content but some videos do not explain the topics well enough and some extra study is needed.

By Waylon W

Oct 28, 2018

This class is great! A few professors are hard to understand but it's still OK. The homework is helpful.

By Tuan L H

Jun 01, 2020

This course is very good, but there are some topics which are very difficult to completely understand

By imran k

Feb 05, 2020

The course was awesome, I have learned lots of new things, clear some doubts, I have enjoyed a lot.

By Giovani M

Apr 18, 2020

c'est terrible que la version du Keras est désactualizé, mais le cours est tellement bien!

By Parikshith S

Jun 02, 2020

Amazing content.But notebooks need to be updated.

Actually requires good python knowledge

By Abhishek S

Jan 10, 2018

Some concepts should have been explained in more detail using more (or better) examples.

By Mark P

Oct 09, 2018

Yep - pretty good course that covers all the basics, and has some nice tips and tricks.

By Vladimir S

Jan 04, 2018

Хороший курс, но есть над чем поработать :)

Спасибо авторам и удачи слушателям!

By ELA S C

Jul 04, 2020

This course was very Challenging and got many insights to learn.

By Massimo T

May 17, 2020

Good teaching, the exercise preparation could be more accurate.

By Mauro D S

Jul 28, 2018

Good intro to deep learning (RNN's well explained! Good job.)

By Seongeun S

Jul 28, 2018

Great course to get a first view of deep learning !

By SABYASACHI B

May 25, 2019

some lectures can be given at a slower pace

By Eric V

May 26, 2018

Great course with challenging assignments.

By Ting Y

Apr 13, 2018

Comprehensive intro of deep learning

By Siddharth P

Jan 25, 2020

Tensorflow 2 would have been great

By hhwaiting

Aug 24, 2018

课程有一定难度,需要有比较好的先验知识,但课程作业设置非常锻炼人

By Tadas Š

Oct 15, 2019

Quite good - not too basic.

By Abhishek S

May 18, 2020

Challenging and helpful !

By Chi E

Jan 13, 2019

I love the material!!

By Robert K

May 21, 2018

I've dived into this course only AFTER completing Andrew Ng's specialization "deep learning". In that sense this was a nice "revision" with additional set of exercises. Some of the topics introduced were nice exercise in ultimately "testing" your knowledge from other sources. Having said this, you really need previous exposure to machine learning, and I'd also say - deep learning.

But it doesn't give much beyond this point. Lecturers vary in terms of knowledge, or rather the ability to clearly present it. Coursera serves might not be enough for most exercises, and it pushes you to set-up your own machine (if you have a proper one) or configure one on the cloud. With many services it is rather easy now.

Overall, I recommend it as a review, an introduction AFTER some exposure. Some additional material might be new to you, but no necessarily if you followed other courses. I am more eager to look into further courses in the specialization.

By Ramin A

Jan 21, 2019

Overall I enjoyed the course, but it lacks structure. Some materials are assumed to be well known by the learner and surprisingly some easier ones are not. I like to see the math, but it needs more materials to support it. Most instructor's have very heavy accent and tend to speak too quickly, I find myself rewinding multiple times just to figure out what was being said. Homework's are not too difficult, and are enjoyable. Except for the last one where you need to wait for a peer review. I think this can be a flagship course with more efforts.

By Hermon A

Aug 12, 2019

The explanation of TensorFlow is not enough and the programming homeworks have already a lot of already written (because, i would be very difficult to programming the all of the homework by ourselves in this stage of learning). I think it is better programming homeworks with examples more easy, but with more programming by ourselves.

At least, I think it is already well enough for the final evaluation, the automatic correction and then, the correction by peer only delay the evaluation.

By RJ C

Jun 26, 2018

I could not understand what the lecturer in the second week was saying. Overall good content but awful presentation. Exercises are ridiculous, my code is working fine, but since I do not use the same function as teachers and I do not get the same result to 0.00001, I cannot pass the class. Definitely will not be renewing this class. Think twice before signing up..I am sure the guys that made the class are really smart, and the content is high quality, but overall I am disappointed.