Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Deep Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Deep Learning by HSE University

4.5
stars
1,815 ratings
425 reviews

About the Course

The goal of this course is to give learners basic understanding of modern neural networks and their applications in computer vision and natural language understanding. The course starts with a recap of linear models and discussion of stochastic optimization methods that are crucial for training deep neural networks. Learners will study all popular building blocks of neural networks including fully connected layers, convolutional and recurrent layers. Learners will use these building blocks to define complex modern architectures in TensorFlow and Keras frameworks. In the course project learner will implement deep neural network for the task of image captioning which solves the problem of giving a text description for an input image. The prerequisites for this course are: 1) Basic knowledge of Python. 2) Basic linear algebra and probability. Please note that this is an advanced course and we assume basic knowledge of machine learning. You should understand: 1) Linear regression: mean squared error, analytical solution. 2) Logistic regression: model, cross-entropy loss, class probability estimation. 3) Gradient descent for linear models. Derivatives of MSE and cross-entropy loss functions. 4) The problem of overfitting. 5) Regularization for linear models. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

DK
Sep 19, 2019

one of the excellent courses in deep learning. As stated its advanced and enjoyed a lot in solving the assignments. looking forward for more such courses especially in Natural language processing

AM
May 28, 2020

The hardest, yet most satisfying course I've ever taken in deep learning, by the end of the course I was doing stuff that was borderline sci-fi and that was just "introduction" to deep learning

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 423 Reviews for Introduction to Deep Learning

By Meetkumar R

May 2, 2020

It was a good experience as it introduced some basic concepts of Deep-Learning. But knowledge delivery was not good as it was hard to understand what the instructor was saying due to some language issues.

By Sergio A M V

Sep 2, 2020

This must be updated to tensorflow 2 :) there is a professor that is really hard to understand what he is saying sometimes, also In the subtitles show inaudible. Maybe fix the subtitles is good enough

By Evangelos-Iason M

Jun 23, 2020

The overall course quality is very decent with real industry applications. I think if you added some additional lecture videos, the course would be better; sometimes it feels like we are in a rush.

By Daniel R G

Sep 19, 2021

Excellent course, with great and interesting material, the only detail was one of the instructors whom I could not understand much because of the pronunciation he had and that he spoke very fast

By Murad O

Dec 17, 2017

I found the content to be interesting and on a good level of advancement, but I also found the exercises to be buggy sometimes or not well thought, which cost a lot of extra time spent on it.

By Пронина Д А

Jan 22, 2020

The course was quite useful, but I didn’t really like how the practical tasks were compiled. For some tasks, a lot of time was spent only because of an incorrect description of the task.

By Evgeny K

Jun 23, 2018

I didn't like some lectors. However, the course itself was a great start to learn Deep Learning for me. It covered fundamental topics very clearly, so I appreciated this very much.

By Georgiy I

May 7, 2018

Great course for recap of crucial things in DL. But, materials seems useless for people, who don't already have an appropriate knowledge about this field of machine learning.

By LIVESH K

Aug 26, 2021

good syllabus and content but instructors just read from the slides and put little effort into actually explaining what is written. Not recommended for complete beginners.

By Udaya B S

Apr 23, 2020

I found the course a bit difficult, but probably apt for advanced learners. Occasionally the lack of clear instructions at places (esp in the final week) hurt my progress.

By Vishal A

Jul 7, 2020

I suggest this course to all who want learn about deep learning and computer vision .

this course is helpful to gain knowledge that how to apply cnn and rnn in our model.

By Orazaev A

Feb 1, 2018

Good introductoral material. Most of assignments are done well, but some of them still a bit raw and to solve them students often change code written by course creators.

By kareem j

Feb 5, 2020

The content is great, but sometimes some concepts need more illustration. Also, sometimes the language is not spoken perfectly which makes it a bit hard to understand.

By Jesper H L

Jul 24, 2019

A good course. But do not think that you can do this course og you are new to AI. IT tales you to the latest, but you midt know the finest and python before you start.

By Malay P

Mar 26, 2020

Assignments and Project provided insight into the topic but, sometimes I had to look for some topics from elsewhere as I didn't understand the course videos properly.

By Prateek K

Jun 12, 2018

The content and assignments pertaining to MLP, CNN, auto-encoders are great, but I feel it a bit lacking when it came to RNNs and LSTM with the videos/explanation.

By Wadim W

Nov 28, 2019

Intensive course with tough exercises. Very educational. Nevertheless, in my opinion, the mandatory nature of peer reviewing is no suitable for online courses.

By Andrea C

Mar 30, 2019

Very good content and top notch exercises. But sometimes the lectures are not fully comprehensible without a lot of additional reading from other sources.

By Zewei W

Feb 1, 2018

it is a good course with challengeable PAs and nice teachers, i like it.

Anyway... if there is more ASSERT statements in PAs, students may be much happy.

By Jun K

May 1, 2019

Some programming assignments were not instructed enough, so it's very hard to solve them without discussion forums. But this is good course as a whole.

By Смирнов К С

Jan 13, 2021

The course is very good but one of the speaker - Alexander Panin - has very bad english pronunciation. It was too difficult to understand what he told

By Rmn A

Sep 8, 2020

the pronunciation need to be improved.

the course is not self contained, it must orient the participant to external more complete resources.

By Anmol G

Jun 28, 2018

The assignments are great. I wish the explanations could have been as great. Having said that, the explanation of BPTT was awesome.

By Amuj K

May 11, 2020

course content is right .one thing that i like most is programming Assignment . Real world projects seems to be fruitful for me .

By Clément S

Dec 19, 2020

Notebooks are lacking explanations and lecturers do not have a good Ensglish accent. Otherwise, great and challenging content