Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Deep Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Deep Learning by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.6
1,200 ratings
265 reviews

About the Course

The goal of this course is to give learners basic understanding of modern neural networks and their applications in computer vision and natural language understanding. The course starts with a recap of linear models and discussion of stochastic optimization methods that are crucial for training deep neural networks. Learners will study all popular building blocks of neural networks including fully connected layers, convolutional and recurrent layers. Learners will use these building blocks to define complex modern architectures in TensorFlow and Keras frameworks. In the course project learner will implement deep neural network for the task of image captioning which solves the problem of giving a text description for an input image. The prerequisites for this course are: 1) Basic knowledge of Python. 2) Basic linear algebra and probability. Please note that this is an advanced course and we assume basic knowledge of machine learning. You should understand: 1) Linear regression: mean squared error, analytical solution. 2) Logistic regression: model, cross-entropy loss, class probability estimation. 3) Gradient descent for linear models. Derivatives of MSE and cross-entropy loss functions. 4) The problem of overfitting. 5) Regularization for linear models. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

DK

Sep 20, 2019

one of the excellent courses in deep learning. As stated its advanced and enjoyed a lot in solving the assignments. looking forward for more such courses especially in Natural language processing

AK

Jun 02, 2019

one of the best courses I have attended. clear explanation, clear examples, amazing quizzes & Programming Assignment this course is advanced level, don't enroll it if you are a new starter.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 265 Reviews for Introduction to Deep Learning

By Anupkumar M

Oct 11, 2018

Too much mathematical

Some of the instructors were tough to follow

By HAZEM D

Jul 04, 2019

good course with great lectures , but the assignments are very painful to complete , they are not hard but the training of the model takes to much time and the coursera notebook always crushes , it took me 1 week to finish an assignment after several trials of training the modal , i ended up by using google Colab with accelerated GPU in order to finish the assignments, also the instructions in the assignments are often not very clear. i suggest to reformulate the assignments and delete or modify the part where you have to train the model and wait several hours to submit the notebook .

By Isaiah O M

Jan 15, 2019

The course compels you to work on the solutions and hence expose you to hand-on that are very vital for understanding

By Andreas B

Jan 10, 2019

great course - I learned a lot!

By Milos M

Feb 23, 2019

This course goes deep in some areas of Deep Learning that other courses seem to skip, I like the extensive math explanation. Some of the quiz questions as well as project assignments were not formulated very well but overall I like this course, and I would recommend it to intermediate level student.

By M A B

Feb 25, 2019

Excellent

By Ankit A

Mar 11, 2019

Very Effective Learning. Thankyou Guys.

By Ashirwad

Mar 16, 2019

Best Course available on Deep Learning.

By Bruno F

Mar 17, 2019

Tough course. You are happy and proud when you get it to the end.

By Hemanth K

Mar 19, 2019

Good Course. Very informative and the assignments teach a lot.

By Yuanxin W

Mar 17, 2019

As a junior deep learning research intern, I feel this course is a good refresher for some dl knowledge and applications. One suggestion I would have is the instructors should have more explanations on the math part (Jacobian matrix etc..). Overall quality is great!

By Simon G

Mar 20, 2019

I really liked, that you are able to clone the repositories directly do work locally on the notebooks and therefore providing a much more stable environment!

By RLee

Mar 26, 2019

A very comprehensive "introduction" course!

By Tolga K

Mar 22, 2019

It's one of the best courses I take about Deep Learning. Of course there are some issues as there are in all courses, but they are minimal. I got very important insights from this course and instructors know subjects well. Throughout the course I never suspected about it and money I spended.

By Emilio P

Mar 14, 2019

Very good quality learning and challenging assignments, as expected from an advanced course.

By Juan M C A

Dec 04, 2018

Great amazing high level introduction, with additional resources to reinforce if u are stuck.

By Ravindran M

Dec 04, 2018

Good course. More detailed lectures may have been helpful.

By 胡哲维

Dec 23, 2018

excellent

By Yu Q

Apr 07, 2019

Brief but clear lessons for intermediate level students with not-easy assignments. :)

By Eric

Feb 05, 2019

An advanced class for overview for deep learning. A very wide range of the usages will let you think what you have learnt.

By Гридасов И И

Feb 07, 2019

The best course that I've ever seen. It gives wide and deep understanding of whatever in deep learning. I strongly recommended this course to you.

By Swapnil K B

Apr 11, 2019

One of the best courses on deep learning . Kudos to the creators.

By Bob F

Mar 09, 2018

This course provided a great introduction to deep learning with TensorFlow and Keras. The lecturers did an excellent job explaining concepts and techniques and the programming assignments were perfect for getting started with implementing deep learning models. Thanks for an amazing class!

By Yechiel A

Jan 09, 2018

vary professional and advance

By Jason M C

May 25, 2018

Fantastically challenging and even as a Data Science professional, I learned a few new things!