Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Deep Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Deep Learning by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.6
stars
1,641 ratings
379 reviews

About the Course

The goal of this course is to give learners basic understanding of modern neural networks and their applications in computer vision and natural language understanding. The course starts with a recap of linear models and discussion of stochastic optimization methods that are crucial for training deep neural networks. Learners will study all popular building blocks of neural networks including fully connected layers, convolutional and recurrent layers. Learners will use these building blocks to define complex modern architectures in TensorFlow and Keras frameworks. In the course project learner will implement deep neural network for the task of image captioning which solves the problem of giving a text description for an input image. The prerequisites for this course are: 1) Basic knowledge of Python. 2) Basic linear algebra and probability. Please note that this is an advanced course and we assume basic knowledge of machine learning. You should understand: 1) Linear regression: mean squared error, analytical solution. 2) Logistic regression: model, cross-entropy loss, class probability estimation. 3) Gradient descent for linear models. Derivatives of MSE and cross-entropy loss functions. 4) The problem of overfitting. 5) Regularization for linear models. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

DK

Sep 20, 2019

one of the excellent courses in deep learning. As stated its advanced and enjoyed a lot in solving the assignments. looking forward for more such courses especially in Natural language processing

AM

May 29, 2020

The hardest, yet most satisfying course I've ever taken in deep learning, by the end of the course I was doing stuff that was borderline sci-fi and that was just "introduction" to deep learning

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 379 Reviews for Introduction to Deep Learning

By SAHIR S

Mar 08, 2018

An really good introduction to Deep Learning. I think that this course is for students already familar with eep Learning

By Isaiah O M

Jan 15, 2019

The course compels you to work on the solutions and hence expose you to hand-on that are very vital for understanding

By Raman K

Jun 25, 2018

Great course, very deep understanding of deep learning, things I had no idea of and things I always needed are there.

By Ishwar N

Jun 30, 2020

Excellent course with lot of Maths required for deep learning and also covering advanced topics. Highly recommended.

By Francesco R

Aug 31, 2020

Stellar course with super-interesting lectures and great exercises! I have especially enjoyed the Honor material :)

By Amoghavarsha B

Feb 02, 2020

It's a very hands on course. Lots of programming assignments which really helps improve our programming skills.

By Joshua S Á

Jul 28, 2019

Great course and great teachers, all information very updated and the materials of the course are really useful

By Murat Ö

May 21, 2019

It is a well prepared course which includes lots of tips and trick and theoretical background to be successful.

By Yijie Z

Jan 17, 2020

Taking Andrew's machine learning class helps you enter the world, this series would take you to another level

By Cristian C

Apr 28, 2020

Very good course overall! I particularly liked the curriculum and the explanations of non trivial concepts.

By Lukas K

Aug 03, 2019

Nice introduction to the deep learning. Quick and overall summary of all basic fields of Deep Learning.

By Chan H Y

Apr 16, 2018

This course is an advance course which requires some background in machine learning or deep learning.

By LEANDRO A H T

Sep 18, 2020

This is a great and complete course in Machine Learning. Thanks a lot to the instructors, great job!

By 棒棒生

Oct 13, 2018

Clearly explained how backprop can be efficiently done in matrix form. Course materials are great!

By Amit K J

Feb 29, 2020

A must-needed certification for deep learning practitioners. I highly recommend this to everyone.

By Hulot

Mar 19, 2019

Fine introduction to DL (keras and tensorflow) with a good mathematic explanation of what we do.

By Briag D

Dec 28, 2017

This course has very interesting projects that can be expanded and it is a challenging course.

By Jason M C

May 25, 2018

Fantastically challenging and even as a Data Science professional, I learned a few new things!

By Reena O

Jun 01, 2020

This course provides good study material, assignment and quizzes. Really enjoyed this course.

By Juan M C A

Dec 04, 2018

Great amazing high level introduction, with additional resources to reinforce if u are stuck.

By Emilio P

Mar 14, 2019

Very good quality learning and challenging assignments, as expected from an advanced course.

By 基伦

Jan 17, 2018

Great course. Really helpful hands-on practice problems and coding assignments. Recommended!

By Igor P

Nov 19, 2018

Strongly recommended for those interested in current state of machine learning algorithms

By Andrey M

Jan 01, 2020

Very nice course to meet deep learning. Based on "Learn by doing". Very good teachers.

By Yu Q

Apr 07, 2019

Brief but clear lessons for intermediate level students with not-easy assignments. :)