Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Deep Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Deep Learning by HSE University

4.5
stars
1,806 ratings
421 reviews

About the Course

The goal of this course is to give learners basic understanding of modern neural networks and their applications in computer vision and natural language understanding. The course starts with a recap of linear models and discussion of stochastic optimization methods that are crucial for training deep neural networks. Learners will study all popular building blocks of neural networks including fully connected layers, convolutional and recurrent layers. Learners will use these building blocks to define complex modern architectures in TensorFlow and Keras frameworks. In the course project learner will implement deep neural network for the task of image captioning which solves the problem of giving a text description for an input image. The prerequisites for this course are: 1) Basic knowledge of Python. 2) Basic linear algebra and probability. Please note that this is an advanced course and we assume basic knowledge of machine learning. You should understand: 1) Linear regression: mean squared error, analytical solution. 2) Logistic regression: model, cross-entropy loss, class probability estimation. 3) Gradient descent for linear models. Derivatives of MSE and cross-entropy loss functions. 4) The problem of overfitting. 5) Regularization for linear models. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

DK
Sep 19, 2019

one of the excellent courses in deep learning. As stated its advanced and enjoyed a lot in solving the assignments. looking forward for more such courses especially in Natural language processing

TP
Aug 8, 2020

A very good course and it is truly insightful. This course deals with more on the concepts therefore I have a better understanding of what is really happening when I build deep learning models.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 420 Reviews for Introduction to Deep Learning

By Hussein N

Nov 3, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and how practical it is. It was super exciting to make the a practical application with transfer learning only after 4 weeks

By ashesh g m

May 8, 2019

Its much more informative than the title suggests. A good course to take for someone who already knows basics/theoretical knowledge of machine learning.

By Pun C S

Oct 18, 2019

Quite In depth introduction on Deep learning. But you need to have a solid background on python and machine learning in order to catch up the materials

By Cristhian J P S

Jul 28, 2019

It's really helpfull and I've learn differents architectures of deep learnning. I'm going to continue with other course to practices these courses.

By Гридасов И И

Feb 7, 2019

The best course that I've ever seen. It gives wide and deep understanding of whatever in deep learning. I strongly recommended this course to you.

By LOKESH J

May 21, 2020

Excellent teachers but at time the pronounciation wasn't clear. Could be augmented by documentation. May be it is already there but didn't see it

By Ryan O

Sep 9, 2020

This is likely the best deep learning material I've interacted with.

THE OFFLINE MODE SHOULD BE MANDATORY. DON'T TRY TO DO THIS ON THE PLATFORM

By Harish K B

Jun 22, 2020

Great Course blended with real time problem solving. Loved the time with Coursera Notebook even-though its a bit hard. Thanks to all trainers.

By Debabrata A K S

Feb 19, 2020

It was tough and challenging but achievable. Great contents and learning materials. Instructor are good, videos are well paced too. Thanks

By Eugene I

Aug 29, 2018

Thank you guys for replacing some lectures. As for me, at present, the course is one of the best courses in this specialization.

By Amit K

May 25, 2020

This course teaches you introduction to deep learning which other courses consider as advanced deep learning. Very Very Useful.

By Ahmed N

Apr 23, 2018

It is great and rich contents i studied machine learning a lot and this one is very useful and beneficial to me thanks a lot.

By Mateusz D

Oct 2, 2020

Very good Course. Might be hard at some point, but with a little bit of research and dedication, you can get it done easily.

By Eric

Feb 5, 2019

An advanced class for overview for deep learning. A very wide range of the usages will let you think what you have learnt.

By SAHIR S

Mar 8, 2018

An really good introduction to Deep Learning. I think that this course is for students already familar with eep Learning

By stephane d

May 18, 2021

Great course but I highly recommend taking basic Machine Learning courses before starting this advanced specialization!

By Mulang' O

Jan 15, 2019

The course compels you to work on the solutions and hence expose you to hand-on that are very vital for understanding

By Raman

Jun 25, 2018

Great course, very deep understanding of deep learning, things I had no idea of and things I always needed are there.

By Adithya J

Sep 7, 2021

Really great course to get to learn and gat a good grasp on the basics of Deep learning!! Well taught and explained.

By Ishwar N

Jun 29, 2020

Excellent course with lot of Maths required for deep learning and also covering advanced topics. Highly recommended.

By Abdurrezzak E

Dec 7, 2020

An amazing introduction to the theory and practice at the same time. Thanks to great lecturers of HSE and Coursera!

By Francesco R

Aug 31, 2020

Stellar course with super-interesting lectures and great exercises! I have especially enjoyed the Honor material :)

By Amoghavarsha B

Feb 2, 2020

It's a very hands on course. Lots of programming assignments which really helps improve our programming skills.

By Joshua S

Jul 28, 2019

Great course and great teachers, all information very updated and the materials of the course are really useful

By Murat O

May 21, 2019

It is a well prepared course which includes lots of tips and trick and theoretical background to be successful.