Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Classical Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Classical Music by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,718 ratings

About the Course

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Top reviews

SL

Mar 6, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

RR

Mar 23, 2021

A truly wonderful introduction to Classical music. Great course content but perhaps most importantly, Professor Wright is perhaps one of the best teachers I've ever had the pleasure of learning from.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,118 Reviews for Introduction to Classical Music

By Joan M L

Jul 18, 2020

it's by far the best way to introduce yourself into classical music even if you ever listened to or think of it as a boring subject.

professor Wright spreads his love for music with well explained examples and a fine sense of humor.

I wish all music teachers i had when i was a student were like professor Wright-

By Jd J

Oct 12, 2021

Excellent course. The teacher shows passion for the subject and the classes are entertaining. At the beginning I was a bit hesitant to enter because of the length of the course, but when I finished each lesson, I always wanted to continue with the other, my only advice for future courses is: continue like this

By Chelsea N H

May 17, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. This course really broadened my knowledge of classical music and it definitely lived up to my expectations. I was never really experienced in classical music but this course has sparked my interest in it. If you take this course, I am positive you will be happy with its results.

By Stephan N

Jul 4, 2020

This course gives a broad overview of Western classical music from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. The first three weeks give an overview of some basic music theory, so if you have a background in music, you may want to breeze through those quizzes and get right to week 4, where the action really starts.

By David G

Mar 22, 2022

Professor Wright does an outstanding job of generously sharing his amazing knowledge and versatile skills to teach the joy of classical music. He is truly an international treasure. I highly recommend this course. Thank you so much, Professor Wright! I really appreciate your enthusiasm and humility.

By hung d

Apr 9, 2020

Excellent!!!, a huge thank to the team for putting this together, especially Mr. Craig Wright, I have gained a lot insight and appreciated classical music even more, I love the way the class was taught, it's very visual, interesting and in a moderate length. Definitely love love love the office hour too <3

By Janet B

Jan 31, 2021

Thank you so much for this mind-expanding course. I am 74 years old, and being home- bound during the Covid pandemic kept me isolated. The course filled so many holes in my musical education and gave me hours of pleasure. Thanks for your generosity at this difficult time! I highly recommend this course!

By Fernanda G

Jun 2, 2020

Un curso muy bueno. El profesor tiene un carisma que resulta muy grato al momento de aprender temas tan densos como la historia de la música clásica. Lo único que me costó como estudiante de Chile fue que entender las traducciones y diferencias de nombres entre la escala ABCDEFG vs Do Re Mi Fa Sol La Si.

By Olya M

Nov 19, 2017

Очень довольна курсом! Интересный взгляд на западную европейскую музыку (и искусство в целом), взгляд американца. Новые параллели, новые примеры. Хорошие, не скучные лекции (с субтитрами или без), жаль, что курс окончился.

Хочется продолжать и узнавать новое или повторить "старое" вместе с Йелем.

Спасибо !

By Eric A

Apr 27, 2021

Fantastic course! Thank you so much to Prof Wright & Co. I learned a lot, admittedly I knew almost nothing about classical music at the start. I appreciate the suggested courses at the end so I can keep going forward in my music education. I will happily sign up for any other courses Prof Wright offers.

By Ritsu N

May 29, 2016

This was a fantastic course!! I truly enjoyed Prof. Wright's lectures and listening to tons of beautiful and interesting music pieces with his informative commentaries. What a wonderful experience! I would recommend this course to anyone who loves classical music or is interested learning more about it.

By Susan C

Aug 5, 2020

An outstanding course with amazing multi-modal coverage of Classical musical history, cultural and technological influences, and lots and lots of music to listen to and great support to understand it! I really loved this course and learned much more than I thought possible. Craig is an amazing teacher!

By shuhua

Sep 14, 2020

Professor Craig Wright is so knowledgeable. He teaches a difficult subject with interesting art examples and music pieces. Especially, he has a strong musical networking, he brought some distinguished colleagues and friends to demon the music. I learn so much from this course. Highly recommended.

By Álvaro R

Jul 4, 2020

Es un curso muy completo, muy fácil de llevar incluso para quien no cuenta con una educación musical formal previa, puesto que cuenta con una buena cantidad de material tanto auditivo como visual. Las explicaciones del profesor son claras y las evaluaciones requieren de la concentración necesaria.

By Tim M

Dec 14, 2017

This class is part music-theory, part music appreciation, part exposition, and part history.

I enjoyed the guest presentations, breakdown of compositions, and visualizations that were created for some of the compositions.

It's one of the best classes I've ever taken, I can't recommend it enough.

By Leonard L

Oct 12, 2022

The content of the course was both informative and broad. I can see that the instructors have made an extraordinary effort in developing the course. I particularly enjoyed the performances and live demonstrations. I would highly recommend the course to anyone interested in music appreciation.

By zofia s

Aug 20, 2022

Amazing. Stories about composers, animations, cultural background, pictures, comparisons, quizzes, and most impirtantly professor's charisma - all make this course very engaging and accesible. I've learned so many facts. but most importantly, I learned how to appreciate music. Highly recommend!

By gloria l

Jul 12, 2018

Having a total blast and it’s only week one. The explanations, visuals and modern comparisons are a delight ! ( who ever came up with comparing and contrasting Swedish House Mafia with a classical example is a genius!) The tutor is ace the curriculum looks clear and simple. Thank you Thank you

By Ruben R

Oct 23, 2020

This has been a unique experience. This course gave me the deep knowledge to go further and motivation to learn more. I took it on the pandemic days along with my 75 year old father. We are in different countries and this brought delightful coversations. It is truly a treasure. Thanks Maestro!

By jose i m

Sep 7, 2020

Excelente curso para todos los amantes de la música. Desde su historia, teoría, biografía y anécdotas de los principales compositores. Este curso sirve para entender y estudiar conceptos que ayudarán a quienes tocan algún instrumento, y a quienes incluso no sean fanáticos de la música clásica.

By Tarcisio B m

Dec 6, 2021

It was a great experience to participate in this course. in addition to being introduced to several composers, I also managed to understand the context behind great musical works and artistic movements, and mostly important, i lerned how to listen to a song and a composition in a right way.

By Aldo B

Feb 2, 2018

I'm really satisfied, everything was awsome. I just wish that it could be a little longer and deeper in some sections, but, in general, it was really good. Now that i complete the course i feel pleased and grateful for everyone involved and for the existence of internet. Thanks from Brazil!

By Elias B

May 29, 2020

Such a fun and educational course for the classical music lover. It'll make my visits to the opera and symphony even that much more engaging. Thank you for opening up this course during the Pandemic -- it provided solace during these unprecedented times. That's what music does, right? :)

By Noelia A

Jul 3, 2021

Introducción a la música clásica es un curso muy enriquecedor para quien desea aprender más sobre el tema. Los contenidos son abordados con gran claridad lo que hace que sea de muy fácil comprensión, al igual que la calidez del profesor Craig Wright. Es un curso altamente recomendable.

By Shravya K

Oct 2, 2020

Professor Craig Wright is exceptional. I love how passionate and technical he is, but also how goofy he is and makes the course seem fun. The course is very technical and teaches about terms in italian opera, and breaks down the technical differences between each classical time period.