Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Classical Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Classical Music by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,092 ratings
939 reviews

About the Course

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Top reviews

SL
Mar 6, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

EV
Oct 15, 2020

Wonderful course where Craig Wright delves into all eras of classical music and takes you along for the wonderful ride! Craig Wright is one of the best instructors I have come across! Enjoy the ride!

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 922 Reviews for Introduction to Classical Music

By Simon Y

Nov 14, 2016

I have taken this course before. If I remember rightly it was a longer course (11 weeks?) and the pacing felt good. It seems it has been compressed into a 9-week course, with some weeks having quite a heavy workload demand and the whole course feeling slightly crammed and rushed.

I realise that perhaps the longer the course, the higher the dropout rate, but I think people who made it to 7-8 weeks of the old course would continue it to completion, while for this course I found myself scrambling for time almost weekly -- I wonder if in fact the dropout rate wouldn't be higher at this kind of pace.

Content-wise the course was excellent -- stimulating, clear, engagingly presented.

By Kenneth O

Nov 7, 2019

Overall I loved the course and found Dr. Wright to be very engaging. I learned a lot and truly enjoyed the experience. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that I found the course too technical at times. As a "non-music" participant I found the deeper dives into the technical aspects of the music to be confusing and a bit beyond my understanding. I do not read music, nor do I play an instrument so it was easy to get lost in the jargon. I actively listen to and enjoy a wide variety of music across the classical spectrum, including opera. This course will definitely enhance my listening experiences because it gave me context that I did not previously bring to them.

By Lorenzo D S M

May 21, 2020

Muy buen curso en general. Me encantó el Análisis previo de lo que es la música y luego comenzar con la historia de la música. El estudio hasta el romanticismo estuvo genial, podrían haber añadido a Scarlatti, pero no todo se puede. Si creo que podrían haber dividido el Romanticismo en 2 etapas, Alto y bajo Romanticismo porque lo que obtuvimos de Chopin, Liszt, Dvorak, Brahms y Rachmaninoff fue decepcionante. Ni hablar de la falta de Ravel y de Shostakovich. Teniendo en cuenta todo, fue un buen curso y aprendí muchas cosas sobre música clásica. También cabe mencionar que Craig fue un anfitrión cálido y entretenida e hizo el curso más ameno de ver.

By Mariella P G

Dec 12, 2020

I'm leaving one star for the small improvement suggestion I wrote on the ending survey, but it's not really that of a big deal, so I highly recommend this course! It's great, as someone who loves classical music a lot but has very limited knowledge about it, this is very helpful! Many more we can find to explore the music we enjoy.

By Georgios K

May 23, 2017

I think it is a nice course, which helps you appreciate classical music more. Somehow, I feel the explanation of classical music up to Beethoven is stronger or at least less boring than the explanation after Beethoven period. nevertheless a fantastic work and I really enjoyed it. Thank you Professor Wright.

By Federico G A

Jun 6, 2020

Es muy completo y en general las clases son amenas

Me permitió aprender mucho y reforzar conceptos

solamente no fueron muy claros los conceptos técnicos, octavas, semitonos, etc. para quien no sabe estos aspectos de la música es dificil comprenderlos.

muchas gracias por permitirme esta aproximación

By Kyle M

Aug 17, 2020

The course material was great. The transcriptions were awful ... I quick review by the instructor would've caught easy and copious errors. Someone seriously needs to spell / content check them for error. That took a quality Yale course down a few notches for me. I expected better.

By Hannah C

May 29, 2020

I really appreciated the clear division of all periods. It made sense and was enjoyable to take. My only complaint is that it isn't more in depth. It is very good for an introductory course and has increased my desire to keep researching this subject. Thank you Professor Wright.

By Javier K

Jun 8, 2020

Me gustó mucho el curso. Me pareció que hace una buena introducción a teoría de la música y luego a su historia. Es mucha información y por momentos se hace difícil recordar todos los conceptos que se han ido explicando, pero sirve para tener un primer acercamiento a la temática.

By Bruce F

Mar 7, 2018

A well designed, informative, course with an excellent teacher. One comment: when playing musical examples, it would have been helpful if the instructor's comments had been put in text on the screen rather than having the instructor talk over the music.

By Daniel d M

Jun 30, 2020

O curso é esplêndido, o professor fala detalhadamente sobre todo o processo da evolução da música, e os exemplos são muito bem postos. Infelizmente só não dou 5 estrelas pois o link para a leitura acompanhada não está atualizado, e eu não pude acessá-lo

By Alessia X

May 26, 2020

Really great introductory course! I wish it could have been a bit longer on the modern and postmodern periods - they felt relatively short compared to the other ones...maybe introduce more artists and let us listen to more pieces?

By Jean R

Aug 24, 2016

Excellent panorama of classical music.

I specially like the lesson about Mozart and the "Dark side of Mozart", and what was said about the social evolution of the musicians.

By Justyna

May 3, 2020

A great course. Perfect for beginner. I really enjoyed the journey of Western classical music from the Middle Ages to the present day.

Thank you very much. I learned a lot.

By Carlos C R H

Jun 16, 2020

Muy buen curso, aunque, en mi opinión, sería bueno incluir más preguntas con audio en los quizes para evaluar más la parte auditiva y no tanto el recordar datos.

By Dana C

Dec 23, 2019

Very informative and helpful in learning how to listen to classical music as well as what to listen for when you are attending a musical concert.

By David R

Nov 29, 2020

A great course. The Wikimedia Commons material was a little low tech and not always connected to the lecture (e.g., the diagram on the ear).

By Aquilino v l

Jun 16, 2020

no puedo ver el curso en idioma castellano. Ni siquiera en subtitulos. como se puede arreglar porque no veo ninguna opcion

By Titus J M

Aug 17, 2017

now I have a new view and better dimension of classical music. thanks to Yale University, thanks to coursera.

By Leen R

Apr 6, 2016

Great course! I learned a lot, discovered new music and the way mr. Wright presents the content is very good.

By Kimberley J

Jan 3, 2020

A nice guide to classical music. I find the quizes too easy and too easy to do again until you get 100%.

By Yaakov H

May 11, 2017

simply wonderful, but hated his gregorian chant bit. as well assumes you know a bit about music theory.

By Ruan P

May 27, 2020

Wonderful course which would have been better if I could access the text outside of the US.

By kundan p

Dec 21, 2015

Nice! I am enjoying it!!

explained in simple language, so it is easy to understand.