Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Classical Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Classical Music by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,314 ratings
1,004 reviews

About the Course

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Top reviews

SL
Mar 6, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

RR
Mar 23, 2021

A truly wonderful introduction to Classical music. Great course content but perhaps most importantly, Professor Wright is perhaps one of the best teachers I've ever had the pleasure of learning from.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 991 Reviews for Introduction to Classical Music

By Shravya K

Oct 2, 2020

Professor Craig Wright is exceptional. I love how passionate and technical he is, but also how goofy he is and makes the course seem fun. The course is very technical and teaches about terms in italian opera, and breaks down the technical differences between each classical time period.

By Cherishma J R

Aug 13, 2020

Excellent course! Would take it multiple times. 'Eloquent' in his approach, Prof Craig shed new light on the way music will be perceived by me going forward. Would recommend it to anyone looking to take their understanding of music to a new level! Thanks Prof Craig and Yale. Well done!

By Hrish

Nov 16, 2019

This is one of the most delightful and fulfilling Coursera courses I have completed. Professor Wright has done a fantastic job in presenting a complex subject, focusing on the important details without getting lost in the enormity of the subject. His screen presence is one of the best.

By Romy B

Apr 25, 2020

Excellent course, and special thanks to Craig - who did the course very entertaining and simple to understand. I highly recommend the course - even with no knowledge of classical music at all. The videos are high quality and there are many relations also with art and historic context.

By Elena Z

Jun 24, 2020

I enjoyed going through this course a lot! Easy to engage, interesting to listen. Filled in my blank spots in music history and systematized my fragmentary knowledge back from music school. Thank you, Professor Craig and Yale University team! Great honour to be a part of this course

By ASLIHAN S

Sep 20, 2020

That was an amazing content. I learned many things but first of all met my expectations which was to listen a classical piece by understanding how it was composed. Thank you so much first of all to Craig David and all the people behind the scene. Hope to meet you one day at Yale

By Joanne M

Jan 31, 2018

The course is extremely informative. I was able to pick out all the information I wanted (as a non-musician but music lover who wanted to learn more about Classical Music). Overall, I was very impressed by the course in terms of quality of information and its clear presentation.

By Alen Ž

Mar 14, 2021

Strong recommendation for everyone interested in classical music or music in general. Professor Wright has easy to understand approach to the topics which everyone can understand, no matter your current level of musical knowledge. This course is worth every minute of your time.

By André C

Feb 23, 2018

A very well crafted course! The videos are just great, and the quality of the classes were beyond my first expectations. Professor Wright is also a wonderful educator and a very charismatic man. My many thanks to all the Coursera and Yale team for providing this amazing course!

By Jane D

Nov 5, 2020

A lively, informative introduction to classical music. Prof. Wright is a fantastic teacher and the combination of slides, videos and audio clips combined with the historical context made each lesson a treat. It whetted my appetite for more study and listening. Thanks!

By SADI M

Jun 21, 2020

J'ai vraiment apprécié ce cours. Grâce à cela, j'ai pu développer mes connaissances en musique classique et ainsi mieux l'apprécier. Les cours étaient très passionnants, et m'ont permis d'avoir une meilleure analyse de chaque morceau et de chaque style. Merci encore

By Yiping L

Apr 15, 2016

I really enjoy this course. As a classical music lover for more than 20 years, I can still learn quite a lot for this course. Highly recommended for people who like classical music or who want to know about classical music. In either case, you won't be disappointed.

By amanda m

Sep 5, 2016

I have adored this course, the content and Mr. Wright's approach. His enthusiasm and knowledge of Classical Music shine throughout the course. He has made classical music far more approachable for those less in tune.

Thank you for the wonderful course Mr. Wright!

By Monica M

Aug 8, 2020

Enjoyed it all. Professor seems to delight in all epochs and cultures of music equally, irresistably draws the student with him into the historic and visual arts context of the musical styles, immeasurably increases knowledge and enjoyment. Highest recommendation.

By Catherine

Jul 28, 2021

A wonderful course from an inspirational professor, highly recommended. A great balance of listening, theory, and a focus on composers/movements in their historical (and artistic) context. Will suit everyone from those new to classical music to amateur musicians

By Joyce E W

Jan 15, 2021

One of the best music classes I have ever taken. Professor Wright is so knowledgeable, and his teaching style is the best. He breaks things down so everyone can understand them. If you have never taken a class on music history, you do not want to miss this.

By Guadalupe T R

Mar 21, 2021

For someone like me with no previous knowledge of classical music, I found the course captivating from week one. Although some parts were a bit challenging, I always found it motivating and wanting to learn more week after week. Will miss it now that is done!

By Tan K

Aug 4, 2020

Professor Craig Wright is a very engaging lecturer. The course was never boring at any point and very informative. The assessments are manageable and more focus is placed on the learning process. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend this course.

By Αθανάσιος Μ

Jan 8, 2017

I did not imagine, that I would have so much to learn in a short course in a such enjoyable fashion. The affection for the οbject, as well as the experience and well metabolized knowledge of Professor Wright, is worthy of consideration by every music lover...

By Jessica S

Jul 23, 2016

I thought this course was well structured and provided a great introduction to classical music. As someone who listens to classical music I am better able to appreciate the various textures and influences of many composers. Thank you so much for this course!

By Sihara J

Mar 30, 2021

The course had a brilliant flow and began from the very beginning to the present. The content was very descriptive and colourful and greatly helps the learner remember what was taught. The instructor was very lively and excellent. Thank you. it was amazing.

By Suzanne S

Aug 15, 2020

This was a well structured and prepared course. Dr. Wright's knowledge and enthusiasm of music is infectious. Anyone who took this class came out more well rounded not only in music but in all the arts.It was enjoyable! Thank you Dr. Wright and his team.

By Albert A F

Jun 12, 2019

Excelente curso, completo, muy bien estructurado y las evaluaciones muy pertinentes a los contenidos.

Ademas es un curso muy integrador con otras áreas del conocimiento, la técnica, el arte y la historia se unen en un mensaje exquisito y muy bien presentado.

By C M

Oct 23, 2018

Professor Craig White is such a fascinating instructor. Finishing my course now, I am already missing his enjoyable visits to my home and his talent at making concepts that were complex to me understandable. A pleasure to have followed this course with him!