Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
14,635 ratings
2,448 reviews

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

DS
Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

DG
Dec 4, 2020

An absolutely engaging and challenging feat that I am so proud to have completed. I hope this opens new door and better job opportunities so that I can better enhance my future. Thank you Google :)

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 2,469 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Mister Z

Mar 31, 2021

Замечательный курс, мне как специалисту по ИБ, очень важно расширять свои знания во всем что связано с индустрией. Особенно понравился урок про работу Kerberos.

By Emem E

Feb 12, 2021

This was very fun and well explained. The speaker was very clear and easy to understand, and a lot of useful information was given in this course in particular.

By Glenford R

Sep 6, 2021

This security course have changed my life. I am very happy that I had the opportunity to take this security course. Cyber security is what I really want to do.

By Contreras M D M

Jun 2, 2020

excelente curso muy didactivo y sencillo es importante tener una base de conocimiento pero pues esta diseñado en general para poder avanzar sin ningún problema

By Ian I

Jul 1, 2018

This course will provide with security practices to harden organizations as System Admin and of course educates you on how to protect your on personal devices.

By Joseph G W

Mar 12, 2020

Brilliant course, I enjoyed every second of it. Wasn't sure on how in depth it would be but this course really does give you job related skills needed for IT.

By salman, k

May 21, 2020

Awesome Course. Loved every bit of it. Loved the aspect of designing a comprehensive document for a fictitious organization from many aspects of IT Security.

By Alfred A

Dec 7, 2019

Awesome course learned a lot that I can use on my home network and Linux virtual machine, plus I have an Active Directory instance to get more familiar with.

By Manoj S

Jan 1, 2022

Hello Team,

As a beginner in IT securities is great to learn new things and taking certificate, Thank you for giving this platform for learning .

From

Manoj S

By Curtis W

Nov 19, 2020

Tons of great information on security. I'm definitely going back through all the programs to review and refresh on key points. Thank you, Google & Coursera!

By Konstantinos M

Sep 30, 2020

Regardless of job role and responsibilities, this is a mandatory knowledge to have for anyone who is around the modern world of technology and connectivity.

By Iuliia A

Aug 12, 2019

Thank you so much for this course! Step by step I learned a lot of valuable information about IT security. My future goal continue education in this field.

By Jaxon M

Aug 1, 2018

In my opinion, the most enjoyable of the courses. Getting into security was extremely interesting, and the instruction for most the lessons is fairly good.

By Roberto T V A

Jul 3, 2020

It´s an excelent course, I´m not have a carier in enginer but it can provide me a lot of tools to create an eviroument of segurity in my future companies.

By Levi A G

Jun 21, 2018

I enjoyed the course and the lessons provided by Instructor Gian Spicuzza. Thank you for all the effort you have put in to making these courses available!

By Nse A

Dec 28, 2021

This was a very important part of the I. T course as this has to do with everyday activities especially when it has to do with our communication gadgets.

By Swarup K R

Sep 11, 2020

This is a great course to begin your knowledge in the field of IT Security.

The explanations are clear and great. It's been a wonderful journey till now.

By kuldeep k

Jul 29, 2020

We learnt a lot for computer security. A lot of security method explained very well in this course. Thank you so much Coursera and Google support team.

By Rohith.S

Jul 16, 2020

A very good course with a clear explanation and recommended is to all. The instructor is awesome as usual like all the other courses offered by Google.

By TANGWING P M

Sep 10, 2019

It was a wonderful learning experience. everything seemed real to e as we encounter them with our devices and hear about such security issues everyday.

By Carolina O M

May 20, 2021

The course is very good, it teaches you everything you need to know related to security to be better positioned in the IT sector, excellent teachings.

By Imants G

Sep 27, 2020

There is a very good lecturer for this course. Everything is OK. If You would like to do something, You can add a glossary of terms and abbreviations.

By ISHAN R J

Jul 26, 2019

It is an amazing course in itself. It provides the fundamental base on IT Security and how should we start talking in and for security. Thanks Google.

By Panama P

May 6, 2018

Great all around course for IT Security.

The instructor did an amazing job and I would highly recommend this course to anyone that works on a computer.

By Ray

Dec 21, 2018

A very insightful class. I learned the basic ins and outs of the dark digital world. I would recommend to a novice whose trying to get started in IT.