Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
15,913 ratings
2,656 reviews

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DS

Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 2,685 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Farai

Jul 12, 2019

Awesome course. I thoroughly enjoyed both the content and the presentation. Good work Google keep it up!!!

By Ana P

Sep 21, 2018

A course to learn a lot, very interesting. Thank you so much to the instructor for instructing Ana Pelayo.

By Teodora A

Jun 30, 2022

T​he external labs have a few bugs and some things can always be improved, but it is very well explained.

By Asantewah M

Mar 18, 2021

This course has exposed me the security aspect of the IT infrastructure and looking forward to learn more

By ELIJAH A

Feb 18, 2021

Quite an insightful course. I need to work on it more and gather more knowledge about the subject matter.

By Andrew L

Dec 10, 2020

After this course you'll be equipped to protect yourself and others from Bad Actors in the digital world.

By David L

Jul 4, 2020

This course was truly 200% amazing. i couldn't stop. i finished 3 weeks in 2 days. it was so interesting.

By Charito T N

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you for this course! I am now comfortable securing my devices to networks and to people. Triple AAA

By Himanshu B

Aug 15, 2019

It gives me immense pleasure to have gone through this course. Amazing content. Thanks google and courser

By Ebony A

Apr 12, 2019

This really prepared me ti understand cybersecurity and get the foundation behind the field. Keep it up!

By Shivani K

Aug 31, 2018

The tutor was super knowlegeable I had a really great experience. I know a lot which i didnt know earlier

By Bijaya B

Sep 30, 2020

this course was very helpful and introduce a lot of new concepts in cryptography that I wasn't aware of.

By I P S W

Mar 7, 2021

Great course for everyone because it is important to make security habits in digital world right now :)

By Calvin W

Oct 19, 2020

I love the courses but I think they can make it better by providing lecture notes may be in PDF format.

By Dario T

Aug 24, 2020

Gracias, antes de este curso no tenia un objetivo al cual dirigirme, ahora lo se. Muchas muchas gracias

By Devon T

Oct 18, 2018

What a course, it definitely covered cyber-security in a nutshell. I found this course very insightful!

By Jean E M

May 30, 2022

I am glad I was able to finish this course. And I thank Coursera for accepting my financial aide offer

By ياسر ا

Jan 7, 2022

I benefited and learned a lot during this course. Thanks Kyocera and Google. Thanks to all my teachers

By Jakie R

Sep 23, 2021

​Very knowledgeable course, I recommend this course to any that has a desire to expand their learning.

By GLEN B

Mar 9, 2021

Learned a lot in this particular course! Kudos to the presenter. The delivery of the content is great.

By mari m

Feb 15, 2021

This was so interesting and I hope to learn more in the future. Now I am going to get my resume ready.

By Evan B

Aug 21, 2020

Amazing Course. However I do wish we went a little more depth into the algorithms used for encryption.

By Saif J

Jun 26, 2020

Great Course with So much information and practical knowledge that can enhance your Professional field

By Chris F

May 10, 2020

I'm better prepared to secure my home network and start learning more about how to protect businesses.

By Andre B

May 13, 2022

I LOVE THIS COURSE. I NOW KNOW HOW TO HANDLE SPYWARE, MALWARE, AND RANSOMWARE.

THANKS FOR THIS STUDY.