Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,811 ratings
1,419 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,414 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Md. Z M

May 15, 2016

Might seem a bit overwhelming to beginners, but at the same time, a useful course to practice writing code on real-life data sets, for experienced learners.

The library used here is useful, but not reusable in general.

Overall, a nice experience. :)

By Ben V D

Sep 2, 2020

Although it is more difficult than the first course of this specialization, I actually got used to the method being used here. It's a bit more trying to figure everything out yourself, which is a good way to learn to code in my opinion. Thanks!

By John K

Nov 8, 2015

Good course, it seemed too easy at times since they provided alot of guides to solving the programming problems but I might be biased since I have some programming background. Overall I would recommend for beginners interested in learning java.

By Gágik A

Jul 16, 2016

I liked the Course, it developed my skills of thinking as a coder, but I did not like the BlueJ programming environment, as I think it required to many clicks to accomplish simple debugging tasks and didn't have user friendly interface.

By Mario B

Apr 2, 2020

You should declare earlier, why a File is marked as a Failure. Caused by the missing import.

Other without this knowledge will get frustrated and quit...

Also sometimes the code disappears behind the prof. But the rest is super!

By UTKARSH K C

May 18, 2020

Its a great course for intermediate coders! good for practice in java and assignments are really good and requires effort. you can not just sleep on this! for Java or oops the complete specialisation is the best choice.

By Mauricio Z

Jun 27, 2020

I think it is an excellent course but I also think it is a bad thing to force the student to work under a single Duke library. In real life you can always work with several libraries, so that's why I give them 4 stars

By Krishna K

Jun 14, 2019

Pretty basic course if you have done any programming. It is pretty well designed. I don't recommend programming in bluej if you done some programming before. The environment is pain to use. Text editors all the way!!

By Vineel B

Aug 31, 2020

Good course for those who are looking to learn Java programming, especially beginners. I like the programming exercises and quizzes, which test you rigorously and help you get a good grasp of the things learnt.

By Ahmed Y

Feb 25, 2017

The course is well prepared and paced. It's a problem based learning course. It will teach you how to target various range of problems appropriately. Some lessons and exercises however needed longer time frame.

By Tim A

Dec 6, 2015

A good intro into Java. As this is Part 2 of the Specialization, I would have liked to have seen a greater introduction into more of Java's collections than just String manipulation and CSV using an apache lib.

By catalina

Jul 19, 2020

https://www.coursera.org/learn/java-programming/discussions/weeks/4/threads/FM7vypuREem-WQqatfIoeA

I've bump into the same problem as described in the link above. I think this could have been better described.

By Yi-Chia C

Feb 11, 2016

Great opportunity to learn java and put it into use to solve the real world problems. But it's a little hard for people who haven't learned java at all, but only learned C#.(object-oriented programming).

By Harshad B B

Apr 25, 2021

The course was well structured but I feel the content could have incorporated more concepts. I feel like there's so much basic JAVA that's not covered. But otherwise the teachers did a great job.

By MAYUKH S

Jun 9, 2020

I found it easy because I had some previous experience in java. But in some parts the things were not explained properly. That may cause problem to people who are new. Over all Good experience.

By João T

Feb 26, 2019

A basic practice approach for solving problems with a 7step formula for any kind of problem set, for any kind of programming language you use. A very basic approach to JAVA syntax and semantics.

By Jeongryul K

Sep 2, 2018

The Assignment explanations are little bit tricky. However, I love the professor's explanation, and I learned a lot about Java Programming. I really appreciate to learn from very nice professor.

By Weiqi Y

Aug 23, 2017

definitely not for beginners with 0 background. But it was just good on me. (make sure you know something about any kind of programming language first, or this course could be challenging )

By Michael V

May 13, 2020

Instructors are very clear & examples are helpful. The example data for assignments sometimes did not match the assignment examples. This is a good introductory course for Java programmers.

By Emil E

Jul 28, 2021

The start is confusing and I don't feel that the structure of java programs is well explained. However, the course is overall very good and once you get past the basics, is very rewarding.

By Federico C

Dec 12, 2018

The course and the instructors are very good, especially for people who have a minimum experience in programing. Consulting other resources (e.g. the Oracle Java Tutorial) might be useful.

By Aistis R

Oct 22, 2015

Thank you for the course, the only improvement i could think of is to improve contents for non English speaking people. E.g. You say decimal places, we say numbers after comma.

Thank you!

By Kailash B

May 6, 2020

Java programming course was great , I really Liked it but one thing I don't understand is why BlueJ software ? why not any other IDE such as esclipse ? beside it was really Helpful : )

By Venkat R M

Jul 31, 2021

this course will be little bit tough for begginers!. try to go for other course for begginer stage of javaa. and come to this course and you will gain more knowledge from this course

By Jean O

Mar 20, 2019

Great course. coming back to review this as it has made great impact on my everyday coding. Been a while since i completed it but it is arguably some of the best content on JAVA.