Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
5,729 ratings
1,199 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM
Oct 15, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 1,179 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By HEMANTH Y

Feb 19, 2020

I'm unable to understand the tutor language... I feel like they are going fast and I'm unable to catch them.

sorry and I don't want to continue this course anymore.

By Soumyamoy D

Jul 1, 2020

It would be better if Java was taught from the scratch with syntax and semantics, instead of using BlueJ and external packages at the first instant only.

By Antonio B

Sep 13, 2020

Way too repetitive. It gets extremely boring doing basically the same tasks with Strings over and over and over and over again. And then some more.

By Jerrold

Oct 7, 2020

Fantastic course. Great assignments and lectures. Low score because the workload is excessively high and overwhelming for novice programmers

By Shachi P

Aug 22, 2016

This course is really hard, and I am having ALOT trouble understanding it. Overall, it is not one of the best courses I have taken.

By charles

Mar 29, 2020

Not a very good course for Java. The introduction in week 1 is taught roughly.

By YiWei C

Mar 10, 2019

I do not think it is helpful enough.

It just tells lots of basic things.

By Ng W L

Jul 24, 2020

hard to get help, its not very beginner friendly..

By Farhan H P

Aug 15, 2020

This Course does not cover the Java Basics at all

By Sireesha C

Oct 4, 2020

Videos are not okay. Could be more explanatory.

By Ankur A

Nov 23, 2020

The problem instructions have errors or they are incomplete. I saw that students from 2-4 years ago asked the same questions which they were asking most recently about 1-2 months ago. I think the course staff has missed an opportunity here to improve the documentation and learning experience. Moreover the problem statements for the assignments are vague and ambiguous and you are left scratching your head and browsing through forum posts to figure out where you went wrong. Sorry to say, overall a frustrating experience. The challenge is not in problem solving & coding where is should be, but in trying to untangle confusing and incomplete assignment descriptions.

By Esau O L

May 15, 2020

This is not a beginner's course and some questions are not easy as the staff rated, I think is a good course for intermediate people. To answer all the quizzes section you might investigate a lot. We got a life too! Many of us are not in school anymore we have a job and a family. My recommendation, please explain a little more the programming structures like CSVParses is a list or something? I never got it.

PD: The way you use tricky questions is not good to improve programming skills, please put hint at least i.e. " What is the number of boys' names in the file yob1905.csv?"

Regards.

By Shahid Z

Jan 1, 2018

I Just can't understand why the instructors make simple concepts difficult to understand. Take the example of functions video, why you need nesting of function, calling function inside a function when you explaining function for the first time. for God sake this course required no programming knowledge. I learned programming (10 years ago) and yet i am feeling difficulty to understand your complex definition and explanation of a simple language concepts. i am doing this course for the sake of DUKE Certificate otherwise i give this course 1 Star.

By Viktoriia A

Nov 1, 2015

The course is just terrible.

It leaves an impression of being unfinished. There's a lot of knowledge missed out from lectures while being expected from the student in the quizzes.

Lecturers themselves have a very vague understanding of how java works and how to code in real life. What they say in some lectures is very misleading and gives either false or just insufficient understanding of certain mechanisms.

The examples are overcomplicated. They demand a full concentration on domain knowledge rather than on programming itself.

By Borsós A B

Jun 30, 2019

Bad organized, too many typos, errors, uncleared and illogic things in the Assignments. I am almost at the end, but now I really quitting this stuff. I liked the Programming C from the Duke, but this one is a total mess. There are no Instructors and Teaching Staff to talk to in the Forums, just some Mentors, but that is not a big help, this Course is total left alone from the Authors. Andy Hilton is a good guy, should read the discussions and correct the errors!

By Konrad D

Jan 22, 2016

Does very little to actually help you learn JAVA. Explains nothing about why the language works as it does.. Also it insists on you using their libraries and programming environments. You spend perhaps 20% of your time actually practicing coding, and the rest is wasted in libraries you will never use again. Such a waste

By Bill Z

Apr 15, 2016

If you are a real beginner like me (having zero or little programming knowledge) and your time is limited, I think this course (or the specialisation) is not suitable for you. The assignments and quizzes are very time consuming. One week I spent literally 30+ hours writing and debugging codes for just one quiz.

By Cameron F

Aug 5, 2020

Some algorithms the instructors implement are very inefficient (searching through a whole string three times when what we want could be right at the start).

Also making their own simpler data types rather than just teaching the java built in data types seems like an odd choice. Learners want to learn java!

By Crystal H

Sep 25, 2017

Assignments are too advanced compared to the videos given. 7 minutes was spend showing how to code. However the entire final quiz on week 1 expects you to code new things that which were never shown in videos without any help. This was not the case in the 1st class in this series.

By Martina A S

Oct 9, 2020

There are to much requirements expeted to solve this course. It isn't for beginner, because there are no explanations about the basics.

You can learn the Seven-Step-Approach, but not how to translate the human language into Java. The first example is to complex for a beginner.

By Deep P

Jun 25, 2020

I think, it does have enough information and does not good explanation video quality also poor. Using BlueJ which I don't like because in the real world no one using BlueJ. I am looking for a deep learning concept which I could not find in this course!

By Алексей

Sep 16, 2018

Using custom libraries is very bad for students. We must study java core not some custom libraries.

BlueJ also a bad choise, even the notepad or the vim are better for understanding the compilation process. Also there is no peer reviewed assignments.

By Ankit G

Oct 20, 2015

Poor, very poor course, worse course structure. Instructor hasn't put any thoughts in how they should strucutre this course.Cover no basics, assumes lots of thing and term this course as beginner for Java where actually there is no Java taught.

By Amir M O

May 24, 2016

Poorly designed and explained. You do not really gain much knowledge from this course.

I would not recommend my friends and basically others to take this course. There are far better courses out there for much cheaper prices.

By MD. S H S

May 8, 2020

This course is not a beginner course and can't understand what was the course motive to teach a student. For me, it was a total waste of time. Full of disappointment!!!