Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
4,896 ratings
1,017 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 1,003 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Mona A

Jun 10, 2020

well it was a good course the only problem was this Bluej it didn't work on my linux i hope in the future you'll replace it for a better experience

By Shafiq I

Apr 24, 2020

A very well curated course with challenging assignments (I had a hard time completing them though), but learnt the basic well. Enjoyed throughout.

By Ayyakutti A

Dec 10, 2017

Good flow, but the supporting document reference are very poor. Very hard to follow. Keep simple English difficult to understand in many Quiz.

By Tyler B

Aug 23, 2017

Week 2 is rough, quite frankly it's just a poorly implemented mess of frustration, but if you stick with it the second half is really solid.

By KABWE L A

Dec 22, 2017

Maybe, you should let us manipulate more the file, because the dukes library is doing much. But, in general this cours was interesting !!!

By Vivek K

Sep 07, 2019

It is good for beginner.It's provide me lot of basic knowledge of String.I have enjoyed too much.

Last week of work was so interesting .

By Musa M N

Dec 24, 2016

Incredibly comprehensive learning package which makes learning and skills acquisition easier. Kudos to the creators and instructors

By Beat N

Jul 13, 2020

I liked the content and the presentation. One input, though: I really would like to learn about unit tests early in the program.

By Stanislav S

Dec 09, 2017

Nice course, even though the 1st week assignments are not that good, but the rest of the course I enjoyed every single minute.

By Gabriel T

Feb 06, 2016

Great course and delivery!

If only there would be more help in the forums by assistants or tutors it would have gotten a 5 star

By Abhishek R

Mar 13, 2019

Great course! Sometimes the guidance was a bit confusing but after enough looking over my notes I was able to do it properly.

By Soumyajit P

Feb 18, 2016

Good course and quite unique approach... could have been more interesting and fun! Video presentation is too geeky at times.

By Mary S

Mar 30, 2018

Material too repetitive for my tastes, but some may find that reinforces learning. The baby names project was kind of fun.

By Apurva H

Jul 30, 2017

PLEASE teach us how to use a better IDE. BlueJ sucks, compared to, for example, something like Spyder for Python. PLEASE.

By Roberto R

Nov 23, 2016

I liked the fact that the final tests need your code.... so if you do not understand what you have done you will fail :-)

By KALE M G P

Jul 17, 2020

This course will help u problem solving skill as well as how to debug and find Compilation Failure and to Rectify it

By Anne-Marie C A

Aug 11, 2016

This Course's content was so clear and so enlightening! I really appreciate these instructors strategy! so different!

By Alfred R

May 24, 2018

Good course, but you've to be aware that the assignments, which is set to 10 minuttes, often takes from 2 - 4 hours.

By Reena

May 21, 2020

The hands-on experience does have a great impact in helping learn how to use java to solve basic yet tedious tasks

By Ayushi M

Apr 21, 2020

This course is extremely useful for beginners. Very nicely taught lectures and assignments are worth time giving.

By shukla v a

Sep 21, 2019

this course is very helpful for computer science students. It helps us to improve our programming skills in java.

By Kerry W

Jun 10, 2017

Good content but I wish the topics moved a little quicker. Seems like there is more hand holding than necessary.

By Yun L

Apr 30, 2017

Good course for new programmer. Enough exercise for basic programming though isn't what I am looking for.

By Joe S

Nov 06, 2018

The first week was a bit rough, learning curve was way too steep. It gets better on the second week.

By Шмелев К А

Nov 14, 2018

Все прекрасно, но на второй неделе нечетко сформулировано задание, оттого потеря кучи времени)