Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.7
4,451 ratings
1,322 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SS

Sep 17, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

EE

Mar 02, 2016

This course is excellent. It gives thorough introduction into language without going into too much unnecessary details. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to start learning Chinese from scratch.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,299 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Irma M

Mar 21, 2016

nicely explained; good for begginers

By Edgaras V

Aug 17, 2015

Great course to start learning the language with

By Pavel K

Sep 02, 2015

good course for beginners

By Ulzii-Orshikh

Sep 16, 2015

Really comfortable with the beginners like me

By Alcides T

Oct 04, 2015

This course is very practical, I would recommend everybody interested on learn mandarin

By Denis G

Feb 17, 2017

Great introduction to chionese learning! Thank you!

By ANA K A D S

Oct 25, 2017

Adorei o curso!

By Wojciech A

Oct 15, 2016

I really appreciated the course and have found it very helpful . Hen Hao !

By Mario V

May 29, 2016

great class so far

By Alfonso P C

Jul 05, 2018

perfecto

By Kristine A M

Oct 18, 2015

Peking University's Chinese for Beginners course has been very interesting and comprehensive in covering the basics that would be truly useful and stimulating for beginners. The course has had simple yet adequate approach in teaching and assessing students' learning. For better practicing of conversations and lessons, it might be helpful if actual dialogues between the lecturer and a co-teacher were presented for the students to hear and learn from.

By Hee J C

Oct 20, 2015

It would be a good choice for beginners.

By Simon F

Jun 26, 2017

Excellent introduction to Mandarin. The instructor speaks slowly and clearly enunciates the tones, making it easier for students to learn. Highly recommended!

By Naylea E A M

Mar 23, 2016

I absolutely loved the course, it was tough at the beginning but the teacher gives you examples and makes observations on the pronounciations and repeatedly reminds you how to pronounce the words. So that really helps your ear to open to the different sounds and vowels, and you get better with every assignment. Also the extra exercises helps you to get a better understanding of the Chinese culture, weather, food, etc.

By Laura P

Sep 23, 2015

Very good course, gives a glance about all the basic expressions / sentences you could need in a daily use in China.

By Callum O

Oct 23, 2015

Definitely worth while, a perfect introductory series into basic Mandarin.

By Muhammad

Feb 08, 2016

Just Perfect!

By 滕龙

Dec 28, 2015

excellent

By Joan O R

May 07, 2018

the course is practical and interactive. it effectively gives the learn an easy way of integrating the new language in a day to day life

By MUMTAZ H

Nov 07, 2015

This Course is good for new learners. I enjoyed this course.

By Corina T

Sep 25, 2015

The teacher is very good. It is also good that it has the words written in Mandarin at the end of the material. I just finished the course but now I am learning the Chinese characters for the vocabulary presented in these lessons. I loved this course! I will come back to revise it often.

By Pramath M

Sep 12, 2017

Great execution of a diverse range of materials, simple to understand and moving at a good pace. The only (small) consideration is the nature of how the content is given, namely; listing grammar each week to learn. However, given the nature of the platform, this is not something that can easily be solved - so five stars!

By Sandro A

Feb 09, 2016

Thanks to this course I know enough to get around in my city, Chengdu (Sichuan Province, China). Xiexie!

By Beinpuo E S W

Apr 02, 2017

Great course I managed to pick up a few vocabulary

By Piyapat P

Aug 29, 2015

This is very useful course! The professor describe all courses with clam and very kindly. I also love that it is an open course with no time limit so that I could enjoy and repeat every time I need. Please continue the next chapters or next Chinese language course for all of us. Thank you.