Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
9,321 ratings
2,627 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

PP

Apr 25, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

SS

Sep 17, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 2,662 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Dynlene B

Dec 23, 2015

I enjoyed the course, the videos and quizzes were easy to understand. This was a great start to learning Mandarin Chinese. Will you offer a continuation course, besides the Chinese calligraphy? ;-)

By Navin A

Apr 22, 2020

This program is great and benefits for everyone who would like to improve the Chinese language. There are a lot of things for learning and improving Chinese skills.

I really like it.

Navin ARUNRAT

By Jonathan D

Sep 16, 2018

Agradecimientos totales. Es un curso muy didáctico y completo que sobrepasa las expectativas de muchos. Me siento muy conforme con los medios y forma de impartir las clases y temas de cada semana.

By Abeer H A

Apr 26, 2019

I really enjoyed this course . It was very useful and help me to understand and speak a little Chinese. I am really grateful . see you soon in another Chinese course and more. Thank you very much

By Everardo J d l M I

May 16, 2020

Excelente opción para aquellos que desean iniciar el aprendizaje de un idioma que está cruzando muchas fronteras y que se considera como necesario, para gran parte de los profesionistas hoy día.

By Gwladys A N

May 31, 2020

Wo xihuan kan shu .

I learned more and it allowed me have a clearer understanting of the dialect when watching the dramas. And hopefully i future I can speak it more fluently.

Xie xie Teacher Liu

By Ilaria D

Jan 29, 2020

I liked very much this course. Teacher Xiaoyu Liu is clear and her examples on the screen help you a lot in fixing new concepts in mind, especially for autodidacts like me. Thank you very much!

By Muhammad W A

Dec 14, 2018

Very easy to learn the basic Chinese language. The most important and interesting about the course is that everything is illustrated with the help of pictures which makes it very easy to learn.

By MUHAMMAD H R

Dec 20, 2018

its very informative course designed by Peking university for all basic mandarin ( Chinese language) learners. hope the other students will also get benefit from your endeavors. Wish you luck

By Cheong S L

May 31, 2020

It is pretty suitable for beginners to know mandarin as a kickstart of the learning journey. I will definitely introduce this to my friends who are on the beginner level of mandarin language.

By Sofia C

Apr 30, 2020

Había tomado clases de chino hace unos años... la verdad que el curso me fue muy útil para refrescar la memoria en lo que respecta al vocabulario y frases como para entablar una conversación.

By Rattanaporn K

Apr 19, 2020

It might be hard to me for pronounce correctly. And no one guide me. However, it’s not difficult too much because teacher is understanding of a mature student trying to learn Chinese language

By Lorena M R S

Jan 28, 2019

Un curso bastante completo , la maestra es muy buena y te motiva a seguir hasta alcanzar el objetivo.

Muy recomendable ! Sin duda tomaría otro curso impartido por está maestra felicitaciones !

By Pedro A B V

Dec 06, 2018

Una muy buena manera de aprender Chino, sobrepasado el curso con más de un 90% de aprobaciones.

Muchas gracias Coursera por ampliar mis conocimientos! Estoy feliz y enriquecido con este curso

By George H W

May 29, 2020

This course is amazing and excellent! It really is very good to know basic and simple phrases that help us in a simple conversation. The first step of a long road to study a great language.

By Abrar A

May 05, 2020

It was an outstanding experience. I learned a lot of basic Chinese and I am hopeful it will be helpful for me in the future. I suggest everyone who is new in china, please take this course.

By Vincenzo P

Apr 29, 2020

This is a basic but essential course of Chinese. It was super hear all these basic things about chinese language. I hope to find other courses made by this University. Thanks for your gift.

By NESTOR A C G

Jan 15, 2019

After finishing this course I feel very motivated to take the next one!

Everyone who has never had any contact with Chinese should take this course. Thank you very much from Lima, Peru 🇵🇪

By Herwig K

Sep 23, 2015

Very good course and well structured. The difference to other fragmented online videos "teaching" Chinese is the thought through build-up and the professional didactic value. Recommended!

By Amina M

Apr 08, 2019

very easy to learn specially if we plan to travel to china but pronunciation is too difficult for me specially the Xiu , Qi and Zh. Thank you Xiaoyu Liu , you are a great teacher. Xiexie

By Marigold S

May 26, 2020

I find the course really interesting. As I go through it, I look forward to the new lessons that will be taught. The course was really helpful to learn and communicate in basic Chinese.

By Nguyễn K L

Apr 14, 2020

The course is great for practicing the listening skill. Even though I do not know the Chinese characters but can understand the pinyin. Thank you for the helpful Chinese for Beginners!

By Le T H L

Jan 09, 2020

The curriculum is well-designed. It develops the vocabulary first and then instructs learners how to put the words to make a sentence. The instructor is great with clear pronunciation.

By Jijo M

Aug 19, 2015

Stands up to its name. A very good course to start learning Mandarin. Now, the horror of the language "Mandarin" is no more and I can communicate for the necessary matters in Mandarin.

By Leanne P

Dec 22, 2016

Thank you, what a great course. Even after living in China for over a year I still learnt a lot from this course. Keep up the great work and I look forward to starting the next level.