Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
48,114 ratings
13,412 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

JR

Mar 07, 2019

This course was eye-opening. I learned so many great techniques that I can immediately incorporate into my daily life. Thank you so much to the creators of this course for such invaluable information.

VM

Jun 29, 2017

I don't write reviews very much so i will be brief.Taking out time for this course will be the best investment in your life. Wonderful ,helpful , Useful , Insightful , it's full of everything desired.

Filter by:

12951 - 12975 of 13,146 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Timothy R

Jul 17, 2019

Great course, although the sound quality and use of greenscreens can sometimes be a bit distracting, especially in some of the early videos. Thank you very much for making this course and putting all of that personality into it!

By Ayman I E

Jul 18, 2019

Helpful course

By Лосева Е С

Jul 17, 2019

Сведено в одном месте большое количество информации об обучении из разных источников. Практически вся информация знакомая, но курс стимулирует применять знания на практике.

By Шалагинов А В

Jul 18, 2019

Материал хороший, во многом полезный, но его слишком мало, хотелось бы значительно больше. Спасибо за курс.

By Nurul I J

Jul 21, 2019

this course very interest and i want to applied it on next my study season

By YUDHA S P

Jul 24, 2019

I have a lot of new insights here

By Oleg O

Jul 22, 2019

Good course in general but I expected to get more useful and deep advices

By Jason D

Jul 25, 2019

An easy to follow along educational course about different techniques to help open your mind to learning. Each week is full of great information broken down into fun and short chunks that make the course flow and increases the desire to learn more.

By Nguyen H H

Jul 27, 2019

what a mind-open course. Thanks alot!

By Tyler S

Jul 26, 2019

There were some useful tips in this course on how to learn or how to tackle a list of tasks. I felt the material was a bit dry and wished there were some more practical examples. Overall I thought it was pretty good.

By Nabil M

Aug 01, 2019

good job

By Tirso d R G

Aug 02, 2019

Useful techniques learned althought most of them we're kind of intuitive and logic.

By Shivam t

Aug 04, 2019

Nice but please add hindi subtitles..👍

By Rishabh K

Aug 07, 2019

Lot of theory on working on brain is not required. Could have been supported by other techniques to help learning like pomodoro, metaphorical association etc. Delivery too slow and a little monotonous making student to zone out during lecture.

By Michael G

Aug 08, 2019

Very well done and very useful info. I can imagine new and better media creation tools in the very near future

By Peter H

Aug 12, 2019

Really good course! My first with Coursera, and I'm glad I started here.

It does seem to be more aimed at high school or college age people though, which was not clear to me at the start. For that reason, I gave it 4 stars rather than 5. If you are a student in that age bracket, I strongly recommend this course.

By Philippe W

Aug 13, 2019

It's an amazing course, with lot of information

By Henry M

Aug 09, 2019

Some material is trite and repetitive, but overall, "Learning How to Learn" provides a useful framework for understanding the mind and offers some useful test-taking tips.

By Kasumi K

Aug 14, 2019

Often, the instructors voice is difficult to catch. Other than that, this course was perfect and helped me a lot to understand the best practice of learning ! Thank you.

By Sachin S

Aug 15, 2019

I learnt a lot of methods to learn a new subject and become more proficient in it. There were good techniques to retain things in your long term memory. There were very good tips for test taking also. Overall, a great course.

By REPETIY K

Aug 11, 2019

Would love to see more advanced techniques and probably a course on how the brain works.

By Jason B

May 21, 2019

Great Stuff, should be mandatory for every student.

By Abdurhman A M

Mar 25, 2019

It's my first course here and it was a very good one to start learning, the learning techniques educated here is very useful and also very easy

So Recommended to enroll

By uzair

May 22, 2019

pretty good, although basic. video and audio could be better.