Chevron Left
Back to Machine Design Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Design Part I by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
1,689 ratings
465 reviews

About the Course

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

Top reviews

ZZ
Feb 16, 2017

The course was a concise and effective review of major concepts. The concepts were well explained and the lessons practical. I have a better understanding of fatigue failure as a result of this class.

SG
Jun 11, 2017

Thank you so much. I liked your teaching style.You gave me a clear understanding about each and every topic covered in this course.I enjoyed the learning.Hope we will be in touch for further courses.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 455 Reviews for Machine Design Part I

By VARUN . S

Sep 30, 2020

good

By shahillram .

Aug 9, 2020

nice

By SHIVAKUMAR P

May 19, 2020

Good

By Nenavath N K

May 19, 2020

Good

By Abhinavnayakini

May 19, 2020

Good

By Sai k

May 18, 2020

Good

By Upendra P

May 4, 2020

good

By Renukuntla S

May 3, 2020

good

By Purighella N B

May 1, 2020

good

By KATRU V

Apr 25, 2020

Good

By Utkarsh K S

Apr 9, 2019

good

By Fhareza A

Sep 12, 2020

wow

By Pratik Y P

Sep 27, 2020

00

By Mohamed S M

Feb 10, 2018

<3

By Jan G

Nov 20, 2019

V

By Isaac S

Aug 9, 2019

I enjoyed the course, it was good to recap on areas that I'd forgotten, and also learn some new skills. The lecture videos were very clear and concise and all the material was well explained.

Negatives - There did seem to be some errors (in my opinion) in some of the combined stress questions (or at the very least some bad explanation / errors in the solutions documents which seemed to be contrary to what was taught in Georgia Tech's Mechanics of Materials IV course on coursera). Also, the lecture slide pdfs were sometimes missing bits that were in the videos. There were also seperate pdfs for each short video, so there are around 40 pdfs that cover all the course material which was a bit of a pain, I think It would've been much easier to have a pdf of all the slides for each week.

By Gary U

Dec 23, 2016

A good introductory course to gain an appreciation of some of the theory and techniques that goes into designing mechanical systems in our modern world. Real world cases are discussed, and I have become aware of some of the failure mechanisms in airplanes and in the body skeleton, so I am a bit more leary of taking airplane flights , and not jumping off high places while twirling. You need to be familiar with basic theory of stress and strain before taking this course, there is a series of courses available on Coursea as pre-requisite. The way the quizzes are scheduled makes it advantageous to watch the videos early in the week and take the quiz as soon as possible, since you get only one attempt every 24 hours. Enjoyed the course.

By Orynbekov A

May 28, 2020

Pretty well-made course with a lot of different practical examples. Teaching is very professional and straight forward. All exercises are great, however there could be more of them. Course has some small mistakes, which off course were not intentional. Main inconvinience is that you are adviced to go throught three other courses to fully understand the content of this course, but I think it is normal. In total, this is a good course that gives you a better understanding of the processes happening in machine design field.

By Carlos A C C

Jun 6, 2019

El curso fue muy bueno para recordar y mejorar algunas de las habilidades en el ambito de la ingenieria estructural. A pesar de ser un curso introductorio fue muy bueno, puesto que lo aprendido es la base para continuar con conceptos mucho mas complejos. Me agrado mucho la metodologia, y la forma de ensenanza de parte de la profesora la cual intenta por todos los medios que se entienda la materia. Ahora estoy en espera de que en algun momento se abra un curso de Machine Design II.

By Sunny M

Feb 7, 2020

I'm giving 4 stars based on this course specifically, matter will different if considered never coming part 2. this course did not include any machine elements but was very good with failure classes both static and fatigue. I really need the part 2 or a different course as DESIGN OF MACHINE ELEMENTS, which would include gears, gear trains, clutches, brakes, etc.

(I left one star because i felt content wasn't enough)

By Ojas P B (

Apr 16, 2020

This course has added considerably to my knowledge of machine design. The course is designed very well and covers most of the topics in machine design. All the topics are discussed in adequate depth. This course is like a refresher with some added topics which you might not have studied. I would recommend this anytime to a mechanical engineer. Thank you, Dr. Kathryn Wingate and GaTech.

By MANOJKUMAR A

Jan 27, 2019

Course is very useful for intermediate level. People have to know certain basic calculations like bending moment, shear stress, etc. Presenter has good knowledge about materials. Because of that she is clear in communication and making it easy to understand. Course provides a good refreshment about static and fatigue failures. Hope it will be an additional star in everyone's resume.

By Syed A A S

Mar 6, 2019

This course of machine design from Georgia Tech is a nice combination of revising the concepts of material properties, design and temperature considerations, design theories for static and dynamic loading situations for a safe design. The instructor knows her domain and my time went well. Thanks to Georgia Tech. and Coursera platform for the effort.

By KHODABUCCUS M M

Nov 8, 2017

Overall course quality, approach and content were satisfying. i enjoyed doing this course. it helped me understand some critical factors i need to consider in the mechanical engineering field as far as design of a component is concern.

Looking forward to do more courses in Coursera to increase my knowledge.

By Daniel L

Mar 13, 2019

I enjoyed the practical and summarized approach (both static and fatigue failure). I would have liked developing skills about the aluminum and composite parts, materials commonly used in aeronautics.

Thank you very much for your involvement in these e-learning courses