Chevron Left
Back to Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
544 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

This course examines macroeconomic performance in the short run and the long run based on the economy’s institutional and policy environment. The first module develops a model of macroeconomy in the short run when the price level has its own momentum and does not respond much to supply and demand forces. The model enables one to see how GDP, interest rate, and exchange rate are determined in the short run and how they respond to macroeconomic shocks and policies. The second module starts the analysis of long-run equilibrium by examining the foreign exchange market. It then connects the long-run outcome with expectations about the future trends in the exchange rate at each moment, which constitute a key driver of the spot exchange rate in the short run. The methodology developed for this purpose can be applied to expectations concerning other macroeconomic variables as well. Finally, the long-run foreign exchange model is employed to derive a number of important lessons for the long run trends in currency values and competitiveness of producers in various countries. The third module examines the drivers of aggregate output in the long run and the mechanisms of adjustment from the short run to the long run. The model provides insights about why some countries are much richer than others and why some economies grow faster than others over decades. The analysis also sheds light on why inflation varies across countries or over time in the same country. The model is employed to analyze the sources of macroeconomic instability and the roles of fiscal and monetary policies in stabilization or destabilization of the macroeconomy. The final module discusses the characteristics of desirable macroeconomic policies and the reasons why actual policies deviate from them. It connects these deviations to country characteristics that one needs to take into account when assessing a country’s long-term macroeconomic environment. The module ends with a discussion of the institutional conditions that help bring about better fiscal and monetary policies. At the end of this course, you will be able to: • Understand how the market for aggregate goods and services interacts with the money market to shape the macroeconomic equilibrium that determines income, interest rate, and exchange rate in the short run. • Understand the links between the short-run and long-run processes. • Assess the dynamic effects of macroeconomic policies and understand the roles of globalization, government policies, institutions, and expectations in macroeconomic outcomes. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

MU

Apr 27, 2020

Nice course. Of course it will take time for all the new knowledge to settle and become more comprehensible, but anyway really nice. Thank you to the lecturer and course developers

AC

Aug 27, 2020

Fantastic course. Highly recommended if you want to dive into Macroeconomic, policies and how institutions behave under certain shocks. Not a trivial course, but very interesting.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 87 Reviews for Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance

By Jonathon D

Jul 03, 2019

The material is too choppy and the technical difficulties are too distracting. I was distracted by the overuse of morph cuts and sound effects embedded in the PowerPoint lectures. Also, the lecture materials needs to be chunked even more, since there are a lot of lectures that last longer than 12 to 15 minutes. One piece of advise, I would like to see the professor read a script of his lectures instead of adlib and/or improvising the material. Writing scripts to his lecture material will definitely tighten up the time issue in his lectures, and will have better flow and seamless pedagogy when delivering information to students. One cannot use the same rules for teaching in a traditional lecture hall for online education. They are apples and oranges.

By Kausar K

Jul 10, 2019

The content is extremely dry, difficult to follow, and creates no excitement on the topic. The concepts are not well explained. There is no interactive material.

By Joshua K

Jul 08, 2019

Very informative and educational. After taking this class I understand more about the news and economy than ever before.

By Silvye M C S

Jul 09, 2018

Great foundation to macroeconomics that is relevant right away!

By Laleen D

Jul 09, 2018

I took this course in the late spring and summer of 2018. What a time to take Macroeconomics! The US elected a more "populist" federal government and abrogated nearly 20 years of previous US administrations tendency towards globalism. The US raised interest rates while most of the industrialized world's interest rates are hovering between 0 - 1%. I have to admit, this class is not easy and I had to stay extra attentive in order to follow along. Luckily Professor Esfahani also uses current examples to help flesh out these concepts. Ultimately, I have found that this class has dramatically changed my view of international trade negotiations and the future of the world!

By mujtaba s

Aug 18, 2019

I enjoyed this course but sometime I struggle with course material - I read the PDF material, watch youtube materials but I coupon figure out why some of my calculation questions were wrong.

By Steve W

Jul 09, 2018

An interesting, relevant subject that is made dull by dron

By Prabesh L

Jul 14, 2020

This course should be re-done, its really bad.

By Khalid A S

May 18, 2020

This is the first time that I have completed an online course under coursera program. in this course I have developed basic knowledge about country level economics variables. During this crisis moment,I think it is the best way to keep busy one under a resourceful components. I want to participate another course under coursera program. Overall this journey was good. I want to thank course Instructor, his every lecture video has helped me to understand topics apparently. So, thank you coursera program.

By Dhinesh A D

Jul 10, 2020

The course gives sound knowledge on the macroeconomic performance of a country, understanding the factors that contribute to economic growth and provides insights on the importance of different monetary policies government practices.

By Mikhail U

Apr 27, 2020

Nice course. Of course it will take time for all the new knowledge to settle and become more comprehensible, but anyway really nice. Thank you to the lecturer and course developers

By Alberto A U C

Aug 27, 2020

Fantastic course. Highly recommended if you want to dive into Macroeconomic, policies and how institutions behave under certain shocks. Not a trivial course, but very interesting.

By Tanushri P

Aug 05, 2020

After doing this course,I have learnt about many things like policies,institutions etc.All of this help me in real life & studies.Thank You sir for giving me that oppurtunity.

By JEFFREY H

Jun 17, 2020

Great delivery of the information, I have a much clearer understanding of Fiscal and Monetary Policies and the advantages and disadvantages that each of them present.

By Vineet S

Jul 10, 2018

Great course! Gives you a great start to understanding the rationale underlying economic events in the country and the world! Excellent complement to MicroEconomics

By Rakshitha . R .

Jun 30, 2020

i was not knowing more about the countries ECONOMY AND THE POLICIES BUT FROM THIS COURSE I HAVE LEARNT A LOT THANK U FOR THIS BECAUSE IT WAS SO USEFUL

By Rahil K

Mar 13, 2020

Very thorough course. The approach is really geared towards learning and understanding the material with the short but thought-provoking assignment.

By Malki B

Jul 12, 2020

This was one of my favorite class of the 3 PAT courses. Great job to Professor Hadi, Prof. Vlad and the entire team. 5 star program!!!

By Kushal G

Apr 13, 2020

i am a beginner for macroeconomics , so these two sections of the course helped me a lot to get the base of the subject.

By Terrence X

Mar 19, 2020

This is a tough course. But the professor explains concepts very clearly. Course material is prepared very nicely.

By Keith M K

Dec 22, 2016

Instructor is very dry. Needs better on camera presence and ability to communicate the ideas. There should be more homework for practicing the material covered.

By Aneliya M

Oct 23, 2017

Both courses of Country level economics i found confusing and boring. Lectures are based only on ppt and felt like professor just read his text unlike firm level economics courses and statistics.

By Dennison L

Jul 09, 2020

You're left to figure things out on your own, while being tested as a higher level than the content teaches. In the last week, "countercyclical" isn't even defined, you have to figure it out through context clues.

By Zach S

Jul 09, 2020

Terribly boring. It was just easier to read the transcript than to listen to this professor who was the completely unanimated and stiff.

By Jenn H

Jul 12, 2019

professor is so incredibly boring. the sound effects are childish.