Chevron Left
Back to Magic in the Middle Ages

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Magic in the Middle Ages by Universitat de Barcelona

4.6
stars
1,339 ratings
427 reviews

About the Course

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

Top reviews

BW
Mar 23, 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
Jul 14, 2020

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

Filter by:

401 - 424 of 424 Reviews for Magic in the Middle Ages

By Todd G P

Jun 22, 2019

Excellent as an introduction to the subject.

By Amina S

Oct 12, 2016

Good course but more room for improvement

By krishi a

Jun 11, 2020

Would like more ways of Interpretation.

By Hans V E

Feb 5, 2018

interesting but a bit superficial

By Gerardo M P

Mar 27, 2017

I am grateful for take it thanks

By Alejandro

Jul 25, 2020

muy bueno,gracias

By Michelle I

Nov 17, 2017

Interesting!

By cereza c

May 22, 2020

Very Good

By laura b b

Mar 4, 2018

r

By Carlos J

Jan 23, 2017

I

By Phil R

Jun 27, 2020

I greatly enjoyed this course. Yes, it's pretty basic and lacking in depth at times but hey it's a beginner's course, designed to introduce the topic and highlight the main areas which you can then go off and look into in more detail off-line. It's very wide-ranging, covers off the key issues/themes and does it with passion and intelligence. There is some housekeeping to do around the final assignment where a key link was broken and hadn't been repaired but otherwise, highly enjoyable. It filled the Covid 19 lockdown admirably; thank you!

By Sofi D

Feb 11, 2021

When I first read the title I thought it would be very different to what it really is. It's interesting from an historical point of view.

The inquisition and religions are the main topic, and how they treated magic back then, but it doesn't explain much of what was done.

I couldn't complete the last assignments because the links are broken, I suppose because the course is a little bit old.

By Jesús A P N

Nov 25, 2019

All information is useful and interesting. Teachers are kind and you can tell they love their field. Unfortunately the videos are too simple; no extra images, important sentences (very few) it´s just the person talking. I had to just read the transcripts in order no to fall asleep.

By Pablo S S

Sep 25, 2016

It is a very interesting course, but in the beginning it may seem a bit disorganised and slow. The best part, for me, was the week 4, about magic in Islam. The topic was fascinating and the teachers presented a perfect lecture, a great balance between deep but easy to follow.

By Catriona S

Sep 28, 2020

Mostly a very well thought out and interesting course - the week dedicated to magic and Islam was mostly a list of names and so quite dull. Some issues with the peer assignments - links not working etc.

By Eric T M P G

Jan 25, 2017

Overall a good course, with a section on Islam and Magic that felt very well elaborated. All peer graded exercises however were poorly designed and had awful correction criteria.

By Jorelle B

Mar 7, 2020

First class, very interesting. Lot of facts and somethings I already knew from history class. Good introduction to coursera and view of magic

By Christina L

May 3, 2020

Very difficult to understand! Both the audio and the written text.

I had to do additional research to understand the flow of information.

By Deleted A

Jul 25, 2017

The video quality needs improvement and some terms students are not familiar with might be better understood with more explanation.

By Brianna C G

Jan 18, 2021

The way things were worded made little to no since, and were very confusing if not completely not understandable.

By Ismael D S

Jan 24, 2021

It good, but unfortunately I could not finish the course due to last exam because have broken links

By Deleted A

May 5, 2020

The actual course videos don't give you much concise information, but a lot of ideas and is aimed at a very historic way of studying, which probably won't fit the needs and expectations of someone who is learning about this topic for fun and entertainment, because this approach makes the course incredibly boring. The tests are hard because they target very precise and disposable details pulled out of the myriad of information that was put forward in the videos. The essay assignment was quite pointless and it was very hard to write about the details, pull out the necessary information and to reach the goals the teachers have set. I recommended this course to a friend at before I took it, I hope he didn't start this course because he would just be wasting his time.