Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
7,225 ratings
1,976 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG
Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH
Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,984 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Ruvan R

May 18, 2020

The course is well designed and focused. I enjoyed the material presented in the form of videos as well as tests. Many thanks for the opportunity to journey with you to explore aspects of dealing with people in a professional way with who I interact on daily basis.

By Ingrid C

Jul 8, 2019

Great Content. I learned a lot. Instructor was knowledgeable and used humor which was awesome. Kept me engaged. Feel I gained a nice foundation to move forward with rest of Specialization and feel confident this education will support me in my career transition.

By Nevena A

Dec 17, 2019

Professor Budd's course is very relevant, adjusted for complete beginners in this field, however, showing some good practices and giving valuable information for professionals as well. It has definitely been a great incentive to continue with this specialization.

By Jessica E

Feb 14, 2021

This has been such an amazing learning experience. I recommend it to everyone who's looking into working in HR. Lots of different topics were discussed and I loved the peer review assignment where you could see how different people from different culture think.

By Thilakarathna, N

Aug 22, 2020

I would like to thank you very much for giving me this valuable opportunity during the pandemic situation. This course is very well prepared. Thank you to everyone who organized and conducted this valuable course. I like invite everyone to follow this course.

By George D C

Jul 14, 2020

This course was amazing and I loved every bit of it. Special thank to professor Budd for impacting so much knowledge. With all the lessons I’ve learnt I’m proud to say I have a solid foundation about how to be a great manager. Thank you for making it possible.

By Malika Y

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really helpful to understand that I didn't have enough knowladge of managing hr. But the course help me to gain better understanding of the process and encouraged me to study more to become the best hr manager in the future. Thank you so much!

By Vijaya L A

Jun 2, 2020

This course has been well designed to understand the concepts of HR and the reading exercises are good sync with the current scenarios. Peer rated assignments give you the opportunity to get different perspectives across different industries across the globe.

By Daniel C

Jun 19, 2020

Professor Budd was fantastic, I hope the other professors in this specialization are as great as he was at explaining subjects while keeping a great pace for the course which is very important in online courses. I'm looking forward to continuing this course.

By Muhammad G

Aug 12, 2021

This course has provided me with the basics of people management and leadership, the motives for workers to work, what makes laborers stay or leave the workspace, how to motivate and retain the workers, the key challenges that might confront the managers.

By A. M R

May 9, 2020

This online course has taught me many things about hr management. It was very beneficial and interesting. This course has taught me about hr management, the real motive behind every person and goal of the person and how to become a perfect hr manager.

By Gwen A

Mar 30, 2021

This is one of the most insightful courses I have taken. The lecturer has a great sense of humour, he made it easier for me to understand the contents of the course. I also had a good read of the articles he linked some of the sessions to. Great Job!

By Charles A S

Nov 25, 2020

Thank you Professor Budd. I enrolled in this course for a light self improvement thing, but you have really inspired me to take the complete specialization. Thank you so much for a very clear and well developped motivating and super enriching course.

By Shams S

May 7, 2020

It was a great opportunity for me to take this course! The Professor encouraged me to learn more about the HRM field. I wish there would more courses with this Professor related to human resources sphere. Thank you so much for excellent learning way!

By Fehintola A

Oct 20, 2019

The course it very impactful and expository.

It was interactive and relatable. And the opportunity to apply for financial aid was helpful and greatly encouraging for a student like that had no financial income to afford to pay for such huge knowledge.

By Tina M

Mar 20, 2016

Very good overview on HR.

Only one comment - would it be possible to add to the law part another perspective than the US perspective? For participants from other countries it would be great to have some general insights to i.e. European regulations.

By Frederico M

Jan 24, 2021

Excellent HR perspective given by John Budd. John goes over the HR foundations and the many complex things an HR or peoples manager needs to take into consideration in order to become a successful professional and achieve their business objectives.

By Assem T

Nov 18, 2020

Big thanks for this course. It was really interesting and exciting. I watched all videos several times and so happy to see people loving their project. Even online we felt all positive emotions. Easily understandable themes and confident lecturers.

By Ashley B

Feb 29, 2020

This was a well put together and immensely interactive course. My only critique is to allow students to bypass the critique of peers if there are no other assignments to view but one. This prolongs the student being able to receive the certificate.

By Rodello M

Jul 7, 2020

Completing a course in Coursera is a huge achievement for me. I've really learn alot from this course which could practically be applied to my current job.

Thank you very much for the great opportunity.

Kudos to Coursera and the People behind it.

By BHAVYASHREE S

May 21, 2020

It was a great experience.The course is structured in a way which will give you a deep knowledge about the course.Mr.John W. Budd is a wonderful teacher with wealth of knowledge.I really liked the way he keeps the course interesting and engaging.

By Jewel O C

Mar 31, 2021

I loved this course and I definitely loved my teacher. Hes a bit corny on the jokes but he is very very well spoken and explains things in the simplest way possible. Thanks you for sharing your knowledge. I one day hope to get one of your books.

By Uche O C

Apr 27, 2018

I enjoyed the course! I like the fact that the Professor thoroughly taught the HR Strategies, Employment and Labor Law, as well as several other aspects of Human Resources! It was very interesting! A very good way to start the course! Thank you!

By RIYA M P

May 11, 2020

it was a wonderful experience to do the course.it really helped me to understand what is the relevance of HR. in every organisation.HR is not a rigid concept it is actually a wide concept. the professor have clearly explained all the concepts .

By Wendy R N

Jul 6, 2020

Very informative and challenging! I was able to gain more insight into the field. Professor was easy to understand and course was at my own pace. I was able to complete a 4 week course in 1 week! Looking forward to starting the next course.