Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
5,459 ratings
1,514 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH

Sep 01, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,502 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Saddam H

Apr 11, 2020

Thank you so much, i am glade to be the student of such prestigious institute and such great tutors. you gays improve my knowledge, love you all.

By Tuesday P

Jul 21, 2019

This has been the best learning experience I've had. all the information was job related, and easy to follow. i would recommend to my colleagues.

By salah e

Aug 24, 2020

Thanks a lot for great and wonderful education platform " coursera " and all thank for every word we learned from great professor " John Budd ".

By Tosin

May 21, 2020

I must admit taking this course enlightened me about the role of HR managers and how important they are to ensure the productivity of employees.

By Yasumoto K

May 10, 2020

We can get basic knowledge of HR.I think it's the good way to learn for beginner and HR person who wants to organize their career in this course

By Musa A B

May 03, 2020

This HRM course has taught me a lot about how to manage people to get the best out of them and also to fulfill an organizations goal. Thank you.

By Kateryna P

Apr 24, 2020

All perfectly explained !!! Great examples and cool funny moments. I have learned a lot more and it is a pleasure to be a part of HR Management)

By Premo' F O

Jan 22, 2020

Amazing content... great for a new people manager and also as a refresher for experienced HR people like myself... Great job Prof. John W. Budd.

By Naireeta C

Aug 02, 2018

Lot of bugs in the course, peer graded assignment is rated yet no advancement, quizzes give out different correct answer suggestions every time.

By Yauhen_Kamenka

Mar 09, 2018

Great overview and theoretical background that gives first notion of what to expect and what to focus on when dealing with complex HR relations.

By RUDRA J

Sep 08, 2020

I am very glad to be the student of this course and i have successfully completed it and very thankful to John Budd and university of minnesota

By Shane P

Jul 31, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I learned a lot that is currently going on in my own work force, and it changed my perception of managing others.

By kitso E S

Jun 11, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course than i anticipated, the way it was taught could easily reflect that it is offered at post graduate level.

By slimani a

Apr 04, 2017

No comment especialy the teachers here and the way how they present to us lessons.

i really did would like to be a student of them there in usa

By Prompiriya P

Jul 17, 2020

Very detailed and informative course about Human Resources. I like the vast range of knowledge I gained from this course. Thank you professor!

By Irena K

Dec 27, 2019

I liked the way the information was provided, it was easy to understand and not boring. I learned many interesting things about HR management.

By Emily S

Sep 22, 2019

Great overview of all the facets of managerial styles and how to incorporate different societal factors and cultural norms into the workplace!

By Freddy P

Jan 05, 2017

Very good teaching model, all videos are easy to understand and all pictures describe easy to memorize

I'm really happy to continue my learning

By Maria C C B

Jul 07, 2016

Great resource! The content was excellent and gave me a great idea of how and where to look for more information and carry on with my studies.

By Jay B

Jul 26, 2020

Excellent course to get a brief and little in depth overview of human resource management, how it work, ways to deal according to situations.

By Adenike A

Jun 15, 2020

It gave me insight about how organisation works and how knowing more about the business is the first thing in becoming a successful hr person

By Grecia K P

Apr 02, 2019

Great course! Learn about the basics and history of HR. Fun professor and amazing way to show the information! Can’t wait to do more courses!

By Boyd

May 09, 2020

EXCELLENT! I really enjoyed the HRM course. I'm an HR professional and it's so helpful to stay up on all HR tools and techniques. Thank you!

By Pardeep k

Apr 26, 2020

I am getting a good knowledge of the Human resource for Management for the company. It is the best E-online service and Resources provide.

By Hashmat

Jul 23, 2020

thanks a world from coursera and the managers of this organization.i really appreciate your good efforts towards giving knowledge to human