Chevron Left
Back to Material Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Behavior by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
494 ratings
101 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

JL

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 98 Reviews for Material Behavior

By Вэнго Б В

Oct 22, 2017

I'm from Russia, and this course was difficult because of language. But i got it, that was amazing experience. I want to note the definition of the teacher's speech. Also i learned a lot of new things. I will advise this course to my friends. Thanks for that!!! GL!

By gerardo d o

Jan 27, 2019

One of the bests Materials course!

By Yasir M A

Jan 22, 2019

I really enjoyed and interested in this course, lots of information about the Materials behavior, and their properties.

By Eduardo J M S

Jan 05, 2019

Very illustrative course, good for civil engineer that want to know about material behavior, the strength and proccessing

By Roberta N L

Feb 10, 2019

Great!

By sankalp j

Feb 24, 2019

this course helped a lot in clearing my basics and in developing a stable foundation for me to to build on

By MAHESH K

Feb 25, 2019

nice job sir

By 付郁磊

Feb 14, 2019

it's a pretty good class which contains a wide range of professional knowledge of MSE,I really appreciate this course and teacher.

By Amit k m

Mar 11, 2019

GOOD

By Pawan K m

Mar 11, 2019

intesting

By Bhuvanesh A

Mar 11, 2019

i learn many things from u sir.thank you so much sir

By Bhanu K

Mar 27, 2019

good

By KRITIK K

Mar 14, 2019

amazing experience with coursera. learn with fun

By Rajneesh K G

Mar 26, 2019

gr8

By varun t

Apr 02, 2019

It was very helpful in increasing my knowledge on material technology by providing a platform to learn

By Aarsh n

Apr 01, 2019

exceptionally well taught.

language very simple and concepts greatly explained without making the learner loose interest

By HarshaVardhan P

Apr 06, 2019

Very much useful .!

By Nathan G P

Jan 13, 2019

Great course!

By Umang S M

Jul 25, 2018

excellent course content

By Prashik M

Jan 30, 2017

Thank you Sir Thomas H. Sanders, Jr., for this vital and informative sessions, all thing is compel so nicely.

By Rishi M

Jun 03, 2017

Very good course, in depth concepts and fundamental concepts are taught in simple and lucid way

By 李一凡

Aug 22, 2017

useful

By Ravindra K

Jun 04, 2017

Very useful primer of a course. It refreshes a lot of the fundamental concepts in the Materials Science. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

By Benjie L

Jul 01, 2016

I love to learn this course. Thank you very much Coursera and Georgia Institute of Technology.

By 任驰

Jun 12, 2017

Very good!