Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,908 ratings
604 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top reviews

RD
Jul 31, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
Feb 6, 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 593 Reviews for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

By K. J R

May 16, 2020

Excellent engaging presentation. Memory explained scientifically and interestingly. Thanks to Prof.Seamon.

By Malathi J

Aug 30, 2017

An engaging, gentle course on a fascinating subject. Loved the treatment and the approach of Prof. Seamon.

By Angela K

Oct 22, 2020

It was a really great way to incorporate my learning in AP Psychology with this course! I learned a lot!

By chalchitrart

Aug 1, 2020

I loves this course. And I would recommend people to buy this book as well. It will definitely help you.

By Isabella F L

Aug 24, 2020

Curso incrível! Muito conteúdo interessante dado de forma leve. Prendeu minha atenção do início ao fim.

By Susan W

Dec 4, 2020

I loved this course! Such an experiential way to teach about memory. This professor is outstanding.

By Lydia V P

Apr 21, 2020

A very engaging course . You will watch movies with a more educated eye, after finishing this course.

By savithri i

Jul 23, 2018

Excellent content and great learning experience. The delivery by Professor Seamon was the best so far

By Likhitha B

Jul 30, 2017

Prof. John Seamon makes this course an absolute joy! Do not forgo the pleasure of taking this course!

By Vijay R

Jan 30, 2018

Extremely engaging and entertaining course that adds to my vocabulary and curiosity of human memory.

By Rachelle W

Aug 21, 2021

Terrific course! Well-structured, interesting, and informative. Enthusiastic applause for the prof!

By Anuradha R

Jun 26, 2021

very informative at one level and interestingly put together, i personally benefitted a lot. thanks

By Donna M J

Apr 12, 2018

I enjoyed learning about Memory through movies. It was a fun and intesting way to learn. Thank you!

By Kravchenko O

Oct 2, 2020

Absolutely amazing course! Thank you, Professor for an amazing journey into the realm of Memory :)

By Καλλιόπη Κ

Jan 5, 2021

I loved the way professor presented the course. I made me to be curious to explore more about it.

By Дина

Dec 2, 2017

Very useful course in which you can learn a lot about your memory watching your favourite movies!

By Игорь К

Apr 30, 2021

Excellent course. The teacher explain material in good interesting form. Provide many examples.

By Fran E

Jan 8, 2021

Great course! Like watching a movie review and and learning about memory. What could be better.

By A. E H

Apr 19, 2018

Really entertaining way to learn about memory, I really enjoyed this course. Thank you so much.

By Tran T H L

Sep 11, 2017

Very informative, entertaining and useful course for your own interest and personal development

By Lilly G

May 7, 2020

I'm a high schooler taking this course, and it is absolutely amazing and easy to understand.

By Eddah K

Jun 18, 2016

It was an eye opener. I learnt a lot about memory. I also discovered a number of new movies.

By Radhika

Jul 30, 2017

One of the best courses on Coursera! One is bound to have great fun completing this course.

By ARUN K N

Jul 3, 2020

Such a wonderful course, .Very useful for media and psychology related students. Thankyou.

By Akshaya.v

Jul 1, 2020

I totally enjoyed this memory of psychology course and add more interesting contents also.