Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,908 ratings
604 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top reviews

RD
Jul 31, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
Feb 6, 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 593 Reviews for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

By LUIZ A S S

Jul 30, 2020

Excelente curso, foi muito bom aprender sobre memória de maneira criativa e aproveitosa.

By Marco A d l M H

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent course, very well explained and pragmatic with the movies. Thank you very much

By luisa g p

Feb 20, 2017

ES UN CURSO EXCELENTE, EL PROFESOR ES SIMPLEMENTE MARAVILLOSO, ES MUY DIDÁCTICO! GRACIAS

By Положенцева М В

Jul 21, 2021

It was so interesting and touching at the same time, thank you so mush for this course!

By Ксения К

Sep 25, 2019

Very very very interesting movie - gave me much more knowledge, than I expected to get!

By DR.SANTOSH K P

Jul 11, 2017

its unique course .i m fan of professor. thank you sir for so nicely explaining memory.

By Anna G

Jun 15, 2017

Fun course to take for general knowledge. Alse found out about great movies to watch :)

By kai k

May 21, 2016

well put together

made me cry and laugh

just a great time taking this course--thank you!

By Shakeel A

Feb 2, 2021

Good attempt of explaining the aspects of memory through beautiful examples of movies

By Zeinab D

Jun 5, 2018

I find it very very helpful and interesting to learn.

Thank you Professor and all crew

By Beckie T H F

Sep 20, 2017

i love how each concept is tied to movie stories. it's definitely easier to remember!

By Shenlu W

Jun 12, 2017

Great in providing helpful general understanding of those concepts regarding memory.

By Jing Y

Apr 7, 2016

Very interestingly designed with theories about memory and films with related topics.

By Marina A

Jul 11, 2020

that's the best online course i had so long during the lock-down, highly recommended

By Aliucha R

Jun 25, 2017

Great content transmitted in a fun way that makes it easy to pay attention and learn

By Peter F

Mar 29, 2017

Interesting on the study of how we remember and when our memories play tricks on us.

By María T A C

Dec 22, 2016

Increíble y entretenido curso para aprender lo que implica recordad y tener memoria.

By Bhavya K

Aug 2, 2021

thoroughly enjoyed all of the lectures.They were really engaging and well explained

By Shaina K R

Oct 11, 2020

I really loved this course! I enjoyed learning and the movies were all exceptional!

By Linda C

Aug 29, 2020

Fantastic overview of memory nicely illustrated through films. I really enjoyed it!

By Pritika G

Mar 3, 2017

excellent course, the topics are taught in a creative and memorable way. Thank you!

By Ave K

Jun 21, 2020

The concepts of memory were easy to learn thanks to the examples of great movies.

By 許家安

Feb 25, 2018

Excellent course with interesting materials to cover some ground about memories.

By ΣΑΚΚΕΤΟΣ Δ

Jan 6, 2021

A great lesson from a very good teacher. I am very pleased to have watched it!!

By Maria - I M

Oct 16, 2017

Even though i knew about memory, it made me comprehend it better!! Thank you!!!