Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,766 ratings
553 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top reviews

RD
Jul 31, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
Jun 2, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 539 Reviews for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

By Gracie M

Nov 30, 2020

First time taking a psychology course. Highly recommend this--especially for film majors looking for a fascinating course outside their preferred discipline.

By Prabodh K

Aug 13, 2016

excellent and very interesting course. Loved the concept of understanding memory by watching movies. and the movie selections are fantastic. Great course.

By Angel J

Jul 2, 2018

Very informative and easy to understand. I have enjoyed learning with Professor Seamon very much. I feel grateful to have studied the course. Thanks a lot!!

By Joann T

Dec 21, 2017

Excellent course! Professor is soft spoken and his delivery is fantastic. Fascinating class that answers questions about memory in a clear concise manner.

By Kieron N

Jul 9, 2020

Very informative course on memories, teaching the psychology and biology of memory, using a familiar media of movies to explain these more complex topics.

By Katherine Z

Apr 5, 2020

Excelente curso!! Mucho aprendizaje!! Gracias por la oportunidad de brindarme este conocimiento! Me encantó el tema y todas las lecciones! Agradecida!

By Vivek S

Jun 30, 2020

Lovely Course! I would recommend it to all, especially to those who are into Psychology, Neuroscience and Behavioural Studies with a touch of Philosophy!

By Chris N

Jun 23, 2020

This course was so good! Now I have finished it I want to learn more about the subject, and I will also be buying the book accompanying the course. Would

By Shehariyar B P

Jul 9, 2018

The most difficult part was remembering our Professor's surname, not a very intuitive one for a Memory Psychologist! Beautiful Course, thank's a ton Sir.

By Ganesh K

Aug 10, 2020

Excellent presentation of concepts on Memory through appropriate movies. The usage of movies made the concepts very clear. Many thanks to the Professor.

By Bhawana B

Jun 17, 2016

I am loving this course...It provides such a different perspective to memory. And explaining it with the movies makes it easy to relate and understand.

By Prompiriya P

Aug 29, 2020

Highly recommended. Professor is very warm and overall provide positive lecture atmosphere. Every case studies are interesting and thoroughly analyzed.

By Teri F

Jul 28, 2020

I learned a great deal about the psychology of memories through movies! The information provided and movie examples were very insightful. Thank you.

By Anuby B P

Aug 19, 2020

It's really exciting and interesting to learn through coursera, l really liked learning about human memory through coursera, came to know many things

By Chryseis N

May 4, 2020

One word: Memorable! Very professional, all informations nicely explained and good care of details was taken. Even the subtitles were well organized!

By Claudia F P

Jun 2, 2020

Me gustó muchísimo el curso, aprendí cosas que no sabía, me dan muchas ganas de continuar aprendiendo sobre este tema. Muchas gracias y felicidades

By Eunice R

Mar 31, 2020

I loved this course and the instructor. The presentation was as entertaining as it was informative. I would highly recommend this course to others.

By Rishi P

Jul 4, 2018

Great and entertaining course! Helped me to understand memory and different phases of it through life. Broadened my vision and made me more humble.

By Lindsay C

Jul 11, 2017

The way this course is presented makes the material meaningful and thus, easier to remember! Thank you for the wonderful course, Professor Seamon.

By Meet P

Apr 9, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on psychological system.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you Wesleyan University and Coursera.

By Pedro M

Sep 3, 2016

Really enjoyed this course. Funny way to learn a lot about memory through common known movies. Highly recommended. Good teacher, thanks for this :)

By Aleksandra N

Jul 16, 2016

Awesome and interesting, gives you an insight into the area of memory and thanks to film clips, course content is entertaining and easy to remember

By Elshá A

Aug 13, 2020

This course was very engaging, precise and most of all it answered most of my questions. I have enjoyed it well, I highly recommend it, thankyou!

By SOTIRIOS T

Jan 5, 2021

Very exciting lesson and very useful to those who want to expand their knowledge status with this amazing combination of cinema and psychology!

By Hilary A

Jul 25, 2017

A very, very useful course and I enjoyed the content and the way it was delivered. Thank you so much for offering this valuable life knowledge.