Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,575 ratings
502 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top reviews

RD

Aug 01, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK

Jun 03, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 490 Reviews for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

By MAR�A G

Aug 18, 2020

Muchas gracias, por ese genial curso.

Gracias por la dedicación del profesor.

By Priscila L

Nov 15, 2017

such a complex topic, explained calmly and dynamically. Congrats, professor!

By Krishna K

May 18, 2019

Very useful course. I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures. Thank you Professor.

By Sowmya K B

Oct 18, 2016

I really liked the way in which movies are used for explaining the concept.

By Irene U L

May 13, 2020

Very interesting course for the ones who like both psychology and movies.

By Jan A H K

Apr 25, 2020

Thanks for the time together John, it was really good and enlightening :)

By Li-Fu C

May 09, 2017

這是我第一堂上與電影相關但與電影製作無關的課,研究電影是我很大的興趣,這堂課也是我第一次特別抓出一個類別來做賞析。

很開心能有這個機會閱覽這個課程。

By Margaret S C

Oct 01, 2016

Loved this course. Very well presented, organized and illustrated. A gem.

By Marieta C

Sep 26, 2020

Great content, a very charismatic and knowledgeable lecturer. Thank you!

By Stefanny M

Aug 03, 2020

it was good and easy to understand, all good movies and very practical!

By Renna Z

Jun 16, 2020

Very interesting and informative. I loved the course and the insructor.

By Mansi Y

May 20, 2020

amazing course, must for psychology lovers...learnt a lot of new things

By Sachin K

Sep 10, 2018

Perfect Course and detailed knowledge for each and every part of memory

By Ajaan R K

Jul 15, 2016

Easily Understandable... VERY Interesting... Thoroughly Entertaining...

By Moza S

Dec 21, 2019

Thank you all for this wonderful course. It was extremely informative.

By Silvia F

Mar 11, 2019

Nice course to explain and understand memory with movies as examples.

By Md. I H

Aug 29, 2020

this course gave me a clear concept about memory that I hadn't before

By PARESH P

Jul 25, 2020

An In depth Understanding of how memory Works, Beautifully explained

By Andreia D

May 30, 2017

It was very interesting and helpful. Thank you for the great classes!

By jinxiu

Nov 07, 2016

特别喜欢这个课程,让我了解很多原来不知道的知识,也让我知道一些大脑的运作规则,我向很多身边的朋友,同事推荐了这个课程,值得认真的学一学。

By HELLEN D S S

Aug 06, 2020

IIt is an instructive and inspiring course. It is very worth doing!

By Adilah S

Jun 14, 2020

One of the best courses that I have taken. I highly recommend it!

By Frank S

Apr 01, 2018

A very satisfying course. I like the way the instructor teaches.

By Klaske K

Jun 29, 2017

Interesting and fun. Want to see some of the movies mentioned.

By Jesús A

Mar 03, 2017

If you love movies and psychology this course mixed both great